Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

the daily driver / blog

New Colorado Driving Laws

Keeping Children Safe in Colorado
New legislation was recently enacted in Colorado and is aimed at keeping children safe while being transported in a motor vehicle. As of August 1, 2010, all babies under one year of age who weigh less than 20 pounds are required to be securely belted into a rear-facing car seat. They must be placed in the back seat of the vehicle. In addition, the following laws must be adhered to:

  • Children age 1 to 3 years between 20 to 40 pounds must be in a forward facing child safety seat.
     
  • Children age 4 to 7 years who are less than 55 inches tall must be properly restrained in a child booster seat.
     
  • Children 8 to 15 years are allowed to use adult safety belts if they are at least 55 inches tall.
  • Children 8 to 15 years are allowed to use adult safety belts if they are at least 55 inches tall.
  • Children 8 to 15 years are allowed to use adult safety belts if they are at least 55 inches tall.

This is a primary enforcement law, which means that officers don't need to have any other reason to pull the driver over. The booster seat portion is a secondary law; meaning officers must witness the driver committing another offense. The minimum fine for each violation is $82.
 
Mandatory Jail Time For DUI Offense
Anyone with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). The penalties for a DUI conviction recently changed and offenders are required to spend a minimum amount of time in jail. Colorado's new laws went into effect as of July 1, 2010 and the penalties for a DUI conviction are as follows:
 
First DUI Offense
 
Jail time ranging from 5 days to 1 year
Fine of up to $1,000
License suspension of 9 months
48 to 96 hours of community service
 
Second DUI Offense
 
Jail time ranging from 10 days to 1 year
Fine of up to $1,500
License suspension of 12 months
48 to 120 hours of community service
In addition to the above, the judge may require an ignition interlock device be installed in the person's vehicle.
 
Legal Help From a Colorado Attorney
 
The State of Colorado takes DUI convictions very seriously. People with a prior conviction who commit a second offense within five years may be facing up to a year in county jail. If anyone was injured during the incident, defendants could be charged with a felony offense. Don't take any chances with your future. Contact an experienced attorney who will help defend your rights.

MORE TO EXPLORE
Comments