California Written Driving Practice Test
- Pass rate:80 %
- Attempts allowed:Unlimited
- Backwards navigation:
Relocating to a new state can be confusing, considering every state in the country has its’ own set of laws. This especially pertains to continuing your driving privilege.Being prepared for what you need to obtain a driver’s license in California will save you time and frustration after waiting in a long line at licensing office. Below is the information you should know before seeking your California DMV new to state driver's license.
The great state of California requires every driver of a motor vehicle on public roads to be licensed through the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). All new to state drivers must acquire a California DMV new to state drivers license within 10 days of establishing residency in California.
To obtain a California DMV new to state drivers license, you will need to present the proper documents, proving identification. Every applicant is required to show two forms of ID, one of which must be a photo id; such as a combination of a valid Social Security card, and a driver’s license from another state.
Any resident of California, applying for a driver’s license for the first time, will have to pass a written test of general driving safety and knowledge, and a vision test. The written driving test consists of 36 questions, of which a minimum of 29 (80%) must be answered correctly. The DMV personnel is authorized to help finding the correct answer to any question you need assistance with. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/40 combined vision with, or without, corrective lenses. California DMV allows you to make an appointment for services. Applicants who are new to state, and hold a valid driver’s license from another state, do not have to take the on road test unless the fail the written test 3 times. All new to state drives with a valid license do have to pass the California written driving test.
California DMV offers the written test for no charge. The cost of an California DMV new to state drivers license is $39.00.