Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Driver's License

Moving to Hawaii: What drivers should know about each island's licensing laws

Hawaii is a U.S. state like no other. This island archipelago lies far away from the continental U.S. in the Pacific Ocean. Yet Hawaii is just like other U.S. states in that its driving laws are uniformly applied. The individual islands do not have individualized licensing. However, you must get your license on the island on which you reside. Hawaii County, Honolulu County, Kauai County, Kalawao County, and Maui County each offer their own state DMV licensing facilities.
Hawaii is a U.S. state like no other. This island archipelago lies far away from the continental U.S. in the Pacific Ocean. Yet Hawaii is just like other U.S. states in that its driving laws are uniformly applied. The individual islands do not have individualized licensing. However, you must get your license on the island on which you reside. Hawaii County, Honolulu County, Kauai County, Kalawao County, and Maui County each offer their own state DMV licensing facilities.

Hawaii is a U.S. state like no other. This island archipelago lies far away from the continental U.S. in the Pacific Ocean. Yet Hawaii is just like other U.S. states in that its driving laws are uniformly applied. The individual islands do not have individualized licensing. However, you must get your license on the island on which you reside. Hawaii County, Honolulu County, Kauai County, Kalawao County, and Maui County each offer their own state DMV licensing facilities.

Transferring Licenses

Even if you are an adult who is fully licensed in another state, you should plan on studying the driver's manual and taking some DMV practice tests. Hawaii does allow you to transfer your license, but they expect you to take a basic written test first.

New Drivers

To get an instruction permit, you should study the manual and take many DMV practice tests. You must be 15 and 6 months of age to take the test, which requires an 80 percent efficiency on both a rules of the road multiple-choice exam and a road sign test. At 16, you can get a provisional license after passing a driving test. You must prove you have driven the required number of hours in a period of 180 days or more. Plus, you must have completed a driving course. A full license is granted at 17 after holding a provisional license for six months or more. For the ID requirements, visit here.

Special Considerations

On a provisional license, there is a curfew. You may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless you are with your licensed parent. In addition, you may not have more than one under-18 passenger in the car. Remember to renew or update your instruction license or provisional license before it expires. Expired instruction or provisional licenses can cause problems for those wanting to upgrade to the next level. Research Links. Hawaii Graduated Licensing: http://hidot.hawaii.gov/highways/files/2013/01/Hawaii-Graduated-Licensin... Hawaii State Transfer: http://www1.honolulu.gov/csd/vehicle/faqs_dl.htm#oos_transfer. Motorcycle Licensing: http://freedmvpracticetests.com/node/3906.

When minimum driving age varies significantly: What teen drivers from South Dakota need to know when moving to New Jersey

Before getting behind the wheel in New Jersey, you need to know that laws in the Garden State are not as favorable to teens as South Dakota's laws. If you have a learner's or restricted license from South Dakota, it may not be legal in New Jersey.
Before getting behind the wheel in New Jersey, you need to know that laws in the Garden State are not as favorable to teens as South Dakota's laws. If you have a learner's or restricted license from South Dakota, it may not be legal in New Jersey.

Before getting behind the wheel in New Jersey, you need to know that laws in the Garden State are not as favorable to teens as South Dakota's laws. If you have a learner's or restricted license from South Dakota, it may not be legal in New Jersey.

SD Age Requirements

In South Dakota, you can get your learner's permit at 14. You can get a restricted minor's license at age 14 after the requisite driving requirements. You can get an unrestricted license at 17.

NJ Age Requirements

By contrast, New Jersey residents must be 16 to obtain a learner's permit. You can get a restricted license at 16 after the requisite driving requirements. You can get an unrestricted license at 18.

Moving from SD to NJ

Your South Dakota license may not be valid if you do not meet New Jersey's age requirements. You will need to study the New Jersey driver's manual and take some New Jersey DMV practice tests to get ready. You can read more about New Jersey requirements here.

Why so Different?

With a population of 844,000 residents, South Dakota ranks 47th in total state in population. New Jersey, on the other hand, is the 11th largest state with a population of 8.9 million. With so many more people and much more crowded roads, New Jersey has to keep tighter control over its new drivers.

Other Differences

Unlike South Dakota, New Jersey requires new drivers to show proof that they are enrolled in a driver's course before getting their learner's permit. They must do this in addition to taking the test. Due to the differences between South Dakota laws and New Jersey laws, it is a good idea to take several DMV practice tests before attempting the real thing. Another major difference is that New Jersey requires student and probationary drivers to display a special decal. This alerts other drivers and law enforcement of a teen driver.

What Is an Enhanced Drivers License and Why Do You Need One?

If you live in a state that borders Canada, you may already know that it is harder to cross the border than it was a few years ago. The good news is that an enhanced drivers license can make it easier to get to Canada for drivers in the United States.
If you live in a state that borders Canada, you may already know that it is harder to cross the border than it was a few years ago. The good news is that an enhanced drivers license can make it easier to get to Canada for drivers in the United States.

If you live in a state that borders Canada, you may already know that it is harder to cross the border than it was a few years ago. The good news is that an enhanced drivers license can make it easier to get to Canada for drivers in the United States.

What Is an Enhanced Drivers License?

An enhanced drivers license is a hybrid between a drivers license and a passport. By showing the license to border patrol agents, you can cross into the country with less scrutiny. The enhanced license adheres to Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI) guidelines and is also good when entering Canada by sea.

Which States Have the Enhanced License?

Currently, four states have this form of license. Those states are New York, Michigan, Vermont and Washington. There is an extra fee to get the enhanced license that varies depending on which state you get it in.

Why Would You Need This License?

An enhanced license can be very handy to various individuals. An enhanced license will list your name and picture as well as your citizenship. This reduces the amount of time that may have to spend answering questions about who you are and your reasons for entering Canada. If you cross the border often for business or pleasure, you can save yourself a lot of time on each trip. Due to security concerns, it is not as easy to cross the border into Canada as it once was. However, with an enhanced license, you make it much easier on yourself to enter the country whenever you travel by land or sea. If you are a resident of a state that offers this type of license, you can obtain one by renewing your license online or at any DMV location.

How to Get a Drivers License When Arriving From a Foreign Country

If you have just moved from a foreign country to the United States, how do you go about getting a driver's license? While the process to get your license is easy, you have to complete it correctly to ensure that you are driving in America legally.
If you have just moved from a foreign country to the United States, how do you go about getting a driver's license? While the process to get your license is easy, you have to complete it correctly to ensure that you are driving in America legally.

If you have just moved from a foreign country to the United States, how do you go about getting a driver's license? While the process to get your license is easy, you have to complete it correctly to ensure that you are driving in America legally.

Show Proof of Residency Status in Your Home State

Although the trend is changing in some states, it is unlikely that you will be able to get your driver's license if you are in the country as an illegal alien. You will need to prove that you are in the country either as a citizen or as a permanent resident. Otherwise, you won't be able to get your license. You may also have to take a written test as well as a road test to get your license. Consider taking a DMV practice test beforehand to make sure you can pass on the first try.

Surrender Your Foreign License Before Getting Your New One

Drivers in America are not allowed to possess a driver's license from two different jurisdictions. While your foreign license may be valid for a certain period of time, you generally must surrender it within 30-60 days to obtain your new license. In some states, you must surrender your foreign license even if you are going to be in the country only temporarily for work or school.

Consider Getting an International Driving Permit

If you are only going to be in the country for a short period of time, consider getting an International Driving Permit while in the country. This document will translate your information into English if you come from a country where English isn't the official language. Whether you are an American or have come to the U.S. from another country, you are responsible for knowing the traffic laws in any state where you drive. If you are stopped by the police, it is up to you to show a valid driver's license and be in compliance with all applicable laws.

What to do if you have a suspended license and are moving out of state

Taking Care of a Suspended License When Moving Out of State When you move to a new state, it is mandatory that you surrender your old license before applying for a license in that new state. However, what should you do if your license is suspended? What steps should you take to ensure that you can get a license in your new home state?
Taking Care of a Suspended License When Moving Out of State When you move to a new state, it is mandatory that you surrender your old license before applying for a license in that new state. However, what should you do if your license is suspended? What steps should you take to ensure that you can get a license in your new home state?

Taking Care of a Suspended License When Moving Out of State When you move to a new state, it is mandatory that you surrender your old license before applying for a license in that new state. However, what should you do if your license is suspended? What steps should you take to ensure that you can get a license in your new home state?

Talk to the DMV in the State Where the License is Suspended

The first thing that you need to do is talk to the DMV in the state where your license is suspended. Many states have laws that require you to stop driving and/or turn in your plates when your license is suspended. Even if you are allowed to drive to work or school, you still may not be able to drive to another state.

Follow State Guidelines for Reinstatement

Typically, you must follow the guidelines of the state where your license was suspended before you can apply for a license in a new state. Getting your license reinstated could be as simple as paying an outstanding parking ticket or showing proof of insurance following a traffic stop or an accident.

You Won't Be Allowed to Register Your Car

Drivers won't be allowed to register their car or get insurance in their new state if they have a suspended license in another state. It is important to understand that drivers must be insured by a provider located in their new state of residence. This means that drivers who drive on a suspended license could face charges of driving without insurance if they are caught driving illegally. There is a lot at stake if you drive with a suspended license. Even if you move to another state, you won't be able to get your license back until you resolve the issue in your former state. Therefore, make sure that you take care of your license as part of any pre-move planning on your part.

Tips For Transporting Your Vehicle Across The Country During A Move

If you are moving your vehicle across country, it can be a huge hassle to make the drive on your own unless you're looking to driving for days on end. Car carriers are expensive, but there are plenty of options for transporting your vehicle to a new location. Here are some things to keep in mind when transporting your vehicle across country:

If you are moving your vehicle across country, it can be a huge hassle to make the drive on your own unless you're looking to driving for days on end. Car carriers are expensive, but there are plenty of options for transporting your vehicle to a new location. Here are some things to keep in mind when transporting your vehicle across country:

1. UShip This is a website where verified shipping companies bid on individual jobs. If you need someone who will provide exceptional service, simply request a quote from the website. Once your quote has been received, shippers will bid on the job in a format that easily allows you to check their track record. This is significantly less expensive than using a car carrier service.

2. Drive your vehicle No, it will not be fun, but driving your vehicle across country is still possible. You'll put additional wear and tear on your car and spend a lot on gas, but your car will get there. You'll also see different parts of the country that you wouldn't if you were planning to fly to your final destination.

3. Clean and inspect your vehicle first Make sure to clean and inspect your vehicle before handing it over to a shipping company or driving it yourself. Once the vehicle is in it's best condition, the cross-country move will go much easier. If you use a transport company, make sure that you go through the inspection process with the trucker, so you'll know if any damage occurs during the move.

One of the most important things to keep in mind when moving to a new destination is the need to update your driver's license. DMVPracticeTests.com has plenty of driving practice tests -- including new-to-state tests for California and New York. If you are planning a move, get started by learning the new driving regulations today, and make your move less stressful.

Parent-Teen Driving Contracts

Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online, or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online, or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special rules, there are some items that should be in every parent-teen driving agreement.

Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract��from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online, or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special rules, there are some items that should be in every parent-teen driving agreement.

Rules for Teens

Make sure your teens are aware of the dangers of texting and driving, distracted driving, aggressive driving and driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Your new driver should know defensive driving tactics and agree to use them at all times before they get behind the wheel. You can also use the contract to help educate your teenager about vehicle maintenance and the common costs associated with driving including gas, insurance, maintenance costs, registration fees and more.

Rules for Parents

No contract should be one-sided. You can set a good example by agreeing to employ the same driving practices and maintenance habits that you expect from your teen. You should also agree to pick up your teen in the event of any mishap at any time or place. If you agree to not ask questions at the time and talk about the incident later, you are much more likely to be the first person they call for help. Another important rule for parents is to be available for any questions or concerns that young drivers may have. A parent-teen driving contract can help strengthen the bond between parents and their young drivers. Teens should know that by signing the agreement, they have earned their parent�۪s trust. Parents will gain some peace of mind in knowing that they have done everything possible to teach their kids to be good drivers.

Ways To Decrease Stress For Memory Optimization So You Won't Forget To Renew Your Driver's License

Stress is a part of life. A little short-term stress can improve performance, but too much stress has the opposite effect. Long-term stress can even cause serious memory issues. Have you ever wondered why some people forget to renew their driver�۪s licenses and then wind up paying heavy fines? The answer may be as simple as too much stress.
Stress is a part of life. A little short-term stress can improve performance, but too much stress has the opposite effect. Long-term stress can even cause serious memory issues. Have you ever wondered why some people forget to renew their driver�۪s licenses and then wind up paying heavy fines? The answer may be as simple as too much stress.

Stress is a part of life. A little short-term stress can improve performance, but too much stress has the opposite effect. Long-term stress can even cause serious memory issues. Have you ever wondered why some people forget to renew their driver�۪s licenses and then wind up paying heavy fines? The answer may be as simple as too much stress.

Test Anxiety

Everyone experiences test anxiety anytime a test has to be taken. When the test has to be passed in order for an individual to maintain the freedom afforded by having a valid driver�۪s license, that anxiety can grow into a debilitating fear. Other aspects of renewing a driver�۪s license can add to the stress and anxiety an individual experiences. What if you�۪ve moved since the last time you took a test and aren�۪t familiar with local laws? What if new laws have been legislated and you don�۪t know about them?

Decreasing Anxiety

Ignoring the anxiety associated with renewing your driver�۪s license won�۪t alleviate stress. In fact, left unchecked, that anxiety can devolve into paralyzing fear and extensive avoidance patterns. Rather than going down this destructive road, you can take positive action steps��to prepare yourself for driver�۪s license renewal and thereby reduce your overall stress.

  • Familiarize yourself with the renewal process.
  • Review your state�۪s driving handbook.
  • Take a DMV practice test.
  • Review weak areas.
  • Schedule plenty of time for taking the actual test.
  • If possible, sign up to receive a text for when you can renew your license.

By following these simple steps, you are first of all eliminating a fear of the unknown. Also, you are facing the stress and taking action to reduce it. You are also allowing yourself to have enough time to complete the task at hand, eliminating the stress of time constraints. Finally, you are making plans to eliminate the amount of time you have to spend sitting and waiting, a process that of itself can cause unnecessary stress.

Apps To Renew Your Driver's License

Apps are available for virtually everything, including renewing your driver's license. Many states are making it easy for you to renew by providing you with an app. When you don't have to go in to the DMV office for a new photo, you can simply enter in some basic information to confirm your identity. You can then pay for the renewal, and a new license will be sent to you in the mail.
Apps are available for virtually everything, including renewing your driver's license. Many states are making it easy for you to renew by providing you with an app. When you don't have to go in to the DMV office for a new photo, you can simply enter in some basic information to confirm your identity. You can then pay for the renewal, and a new license will be sent to you in the mail.

Apps are available for virtually everything, including renewing your driver's license. Many states are making it easy for you to renew by providing you with an app. When you don't have to go in to the DMV office for a new photo, you can simply enter in some basic information to confirm your identity. You can then pay for the renewal, and a new license will be sent to you in the mail.

How to Use the App

The app isn't available across the country, but more states are adding the technology with each passing year. You can look on your state's DMV page to see if they have an app or go to the app store on your mobile device to see if your state is available. When you have the app, you will be prompted for basic information such as your driver's license number or the last four digits of your Social Security number. If you are eligible for online renewal, you will be able to do everything from the app. If it has been a while since you have visited the DMV in person, the app will tell you to go into your local office for a longer process. At that time, you may also be required to take the written test again.

Prepare for the Written Test

A DMV practice test can be used to help you with the written test in the event that you have to go into the DMV for renewing your driver's license. You are only able to renew so many times online before they make you go in because of having to get a new photo taken. To increase your chances of passing the written test, a practice test with road signs is online and can be taken as many times as needed.

What To Do When Your License Expires And You Get Pulled Over

Driving with an expired license is a serious offense. Most states require that you renew your license every four years after you reach the age of 21. Your license expires on your birthday, regardless of when you renewed it in the past. For example, if your birthday falls on January 16 and you received your license in February, it still expires on your birthday. Many states will let you renew your license before the end of the month, but you still need to know what to do if a police officer catch
Driving with an expired license is a serious offense. Most states require that you renew your license every four years after you reach the age of 21. Your license expires on your birthday, regardless of when you renewed it in the past. For example, if your birthday falls on January 16 and you received your license in February, it still expires on your birthday. Many states will let you renew your license before the end of the month, but you still need to know what to do if a police officer catches you driving with an expired license.

Driving with an expired license is a serious offense. Most states require that you renew your license every four years after you reach the age of 21. Your license expires on your birthday, regardless of when you renewed it in the past. For example, if your birthday falls on January 16 and you received your license in February, it still expires on your birthday. Many states will let you renew your license before the end of the month, but you still need to know what to do if a police officer catches you driving with an expired license.

Stay Cool and Explain Yourself

Mistakes can happen to anyone, and most police officers understand that. If you stay calm and clearly explain that you know you need to renew your license, the officer will likely let you go with a warning. When a police officer pulls you over, the officer will first ask for your license, registration and proof of insurance. The officer will run your name through the system, looking for any warrants or other problems. If the state suspended your license for any reason, the officer has the right to arrest you on the scene, but if your license simply expired, the officer will likely give you a written warning and suggest that you take care of the problem.

Renewing Your License

Renewing your license is usually an easy task, but it depends on how long ago it expired. If you're only a few weeks late, you can typically stop by any DMV with your license in hand. Most states require that drivers take a vision test, pay a small fee and pose for a new photo. If your license expired months or even years ago, you need to retake the driving test. Depending on where you live, you'll either need to take the written test, the skills test or both tests. You can find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions about driving laws and tests in all 50 states at Free DMV Practice Tests. As long as you prepare yourself, you can pass the test on your first attempt.

Syndicate content