Once you have studied thoroughly for your LA Written Test, you should gather the necessary documents and visit your local OMV office to take your exam.
Click here to ask your driving related question.
Louisiana Driver's License
In LA, the minimum age requirement is 15 years old.
You will need to take your LA Written Test at a local OMV office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this http://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/omvfielddirections.nsf/$parish?openview
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying, the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website [link]. Get a good night's rest as well.
The best way to study for the LA Written Test is to read the entire Louisiana Driver's Manual. Additionally, you can find quiz questions on our website [link] that can act as a supplement to the LA Driver's Manual.
Yes. You will need to attend and complete a Driver's Education course that is approved by the state of Louisiana. If you are under 17, this course must last 38 hours. If you are an adult, you have the option of taking a 38-hour course or a six-hour pre-licensing course.
You can find a copy of the LA Driver's Manual by visiting this website and downloading a PDF version: http://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/DPSForms.nsf/8bad5589175b8981862575f2004...
To have the best chance of passing your LA Written Test, you should read the entire Manual. The Written Test will test your knowledge of traffic safety laws, traffic signs, signaling devices and many more topics that are covered in the LA Driver's Manual.
The LA Written Test consists of 40 questions. You will need to answer 32 of those 40 questions correctly in order to pass.
When you apply for your learner's permit, you should bring your birth certificate, two forms of identification, your Social Security Number and a certificate for a Driver's Education course.