Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Texting While Driving Laws

Massachusetts Driving Laws for the New Year

Cell Phone & Text Messaging Bans The State of Massachusetts passed new laws prohibiting drivers from texting while driving. The ban went into effect on October 1, 2010 and also prohibits the use of cell phones for any driver under the age of 18. The current laws prohibit the following:

Cell Phone & Text Messaging Bans

The State of Massachusetts passed new laws prohibiting drivers from texting while driving. The ban went into effect on October 1, 2010 and also prohibits the use of cell phones for any driver under the age of 18. The current laws prohibit the following:
 
Text messaging or any Internet related activity is prohibited for all drivers. A first offense will result in a fine of $100, second offense $250 and a third or subsequent offense will be $500.
 
All drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone or any other type of mobile device while operating a motor vehicle. The penalties are $100 fine along with a 60-day license suspension for the first offense, $250 fine along with a 6-month license suspension for the second offense and $500 fine along with a 12-month license suspension for the third or subsequent offense.
 
All school bus and public transit drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone while operating their vehicle and violators will be fined $500.
 
Massachusetts Trying to Ban Cells Phones in School Zones

Senator Mark Montigny and Representative Denise Provost introduced legislation into their respective houses seeking to prohibit drivers from using a cell phone in any school zone. A non-profit organization called Safe Roads Alliance helped draft the bills in an effort to promote safer driving. According to recent data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death for young people age 16 to 24. If the legislature approves the bills, anyone using a cell phone in an emergency would be exempt from the penalties.
 
Consult a Massachusetts Attorney For Advice

Any driver who has been issued a citation or has had their driver's license revoked should contact a lawyer immediately. Traffic attorneys are often successful in getting fines reduced and they can help get your driving privileges reinstated. Consult a legal professional if you have been cited for an auto accident or issued a speeding ticket. They will go to court and fight to get the charges dismissed.

New Driving Laws in Illinois

Speeding in Illinois Can Be Costly As of January 1, 2010, the State of Illinois enacted new legislation targeting people who are guilty excessive speeding. Law enforcement officers will no longer just be issuing a citation to drivers. Anyone who operates a motor vehicle over a certain limit will be facing the following criminal charges:

Speeding in Illinois Can Be Costly

As of January 1, 2010, the State of Illinois enacted new legislation targeting people who are guilty excessive speeding. Law enforcement officers will no longer just be issuing a citation to drivers. Anyone who operates a motor vehicle over a certain limit will be facing the following criminal charges: Class B Misdemeanor Offense Any driver found speeding in excess of 30 miles per hour over the speed limit faces a penalty of up to six months in county jail and a fine of $1,500. Class A Misdemeanor Offense Any driver found speeding in excess of 40 miles per hour over the speed limit faces a penalty of up to one year in county jail and a fine of $2,500. These are serious criminal charges and will require the expertise of an attorney who practices law specializing in motor vehicle offenses.

Highland Park Bans Handheld Cell Phones

The City of Highland Park has passed a new law that goes into effect on June 1, 2011. The City Council voted to prohibit all drivers from using a handheld cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. Offenders will be issued a citation and required to pay a fine of up to $75. This is a primary offense, which means that police officers don't need an additional reason to pull you over. If they see you using a handheld phone, they will be stopping you for an infraction.

Cell Phones & Text Messaging

Effective January 1, 2011, all drivers are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle on any roadway while using an electronic communication device unless the device is used in a hands-free or voice-activated mode. This new legislation defines an electronic communication as any type of personal digital assistant, mobile computer or wireless phone, not just handheld cell phones.

When to Get Legal Help From an Illinois Attorney

The current laws in Illinois make it illegal for all drivers under the age of 19 to operate a motor vehicle while using any type of wireless phone, with or without hands-free accessories. Text messaging, emailing and using the Internet while driving is unlawful for drivers of any age. If you have been issued a citation or are facing criminal traffic charges, contact an experienced Illinois attorney for legal advice immediately.

Arizona Driving Cell Phone Driving Laws

Arizona Driving Laws for 2011, including New Legislation Pending in Arizona, such as Senate Bill 1538 , House Bill 2446, and Senate Bill 1111. These new driving laws will affect all drivers.

Arizona Driving Laws for 2011 and beyond

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol used to be the number one cause for fatal auto accidents. Every state in the nation now makes it a crime to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or higher. Laws were passed to make the DUI penalties much harsher. People are hit with mandatory jail time and huge fines. Their license is often suspended and in some states they are required to install an ignition interlock device in their cars. Recent studies by many researchers have found that distracted driving is even more dangerous than driving while intoxicated. Yet there are few laws that make it a crime to send text messages while driving. A recent road test conducted by Car and Driver Magazine showed that texting drivers were four times slower to hit the brakes than people impaired by alcohol. The current laws in Arizona prohibit all school bus drivers from using a cell phone while driving. In the City of Phoenix, it is illegal for any driver to engage in text messaging. Violators will be fined $100 or $250 if their actions caused an accident. Legislators are now introducing new bills in the Arizona House and Senate to deal with some of these issues.

New Legislation Pending in Arizona

In July 2009, Robert Okerblom's son was killed by a woman who was texting while driving. He is using his story to help two Arizona State Capitol senators pass legislation that would outlaw texting while driving.

Senate Bill 1538

Senator Al Melvin is sponsoring Senate Bill 1538, also known as the No Texting While Driving Act. If this bill gets passed, it would make it illegal to compose, read or send text messages from any electronic device while operating a motor vehicle. Violators could be hit with fines ranging from $50 to $200. This was approved by the Senate on March 15, 2011 and has now been sent to the House Committee for approval.

House Bill 2426

Representative Steve Farley has introduced House Bill 2426, which seeks to ban all drivers under the age of 18 from using a cell phone while driving. He says that the dangers are multiplied when an inexperienced driver is distracted. This proposed legislation may be easier to enforce because any police officer that sees a teen using a cell phone while driving can issue a citation.

Senate Bill 1111

This bill seeks to outlaw the use of any handheld wireless device while driving. Offenders would be hit with the following fines: First Offense $100 fine Second Offense $250 fine and community service Third Offense $500 fine and community service

Get Legal Help From an Arizona Attorney

Whether you have been issued a citation for a driving infraction or charged with a misdemeanor offense, it is best to seek legal help. An experienced attorney may be able to get the charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Contact an Arizona traffic lawyer for advice regarding your specific case.

New Driving Laws in Georgia

New Cell Phone Laws in Georgia, the State of Georgia has recently enacted new legislation regarding the use of cell phones while driving. House Bill 23 for drivers under the age of 18, and Senate Bill 360 which is for drivers of any age.

New Cell Phone Laws in Georgia The State of Georgia has recently enacted new legislation regarding the use of cell phones while driving. House Bill 23 prohibits any person 18 years of age or younger from using any wireless communication device to send or receive text messages while operating a motor vehicle. Anyone caught violating this new law will be fined $150 and receive four points against their driver's license. The second law that was signed by Georgia Governor Perdue is Senate Bill 360. This forbids all drivers of any age from texting while operating a motor vehicle. Also known as the Caleb Sorohan Act, it was named after the 18-year old who was killed December 15, 2009. He crashed head-on into another vehicle while texting on his cell phone. Violators will receive one point on their driver's license and fined $150. Both of these new laws went into effect as of July 1, 2010.

Additional & Proposed Legislation

As of January 2010, Georgia now prohibits all school bus drivers from using any mobile or wireless communication device if one or more children are on the bus. House Bill 938 This proposed legislation would ban drivers from sending or reading text messages while operating a motor vehicle. The penalties would include a fine ranging from $50 to $100, plus two points on their driver's license. Currently the bill is still under review because lawmakers are struggling with how the laws would be enforced by police officers. House Bill 940 Seeks to limit students use of electronic devices while they are riding on a school bus. House Bill 944 This would prohibit all drivers from emailing and texting with a fine of $300. House Bill 945 The use of cell phones and any other device with texting capabilities would be illegal for anyone operating a motor vehicle on state highways and roads. A fine of up to $300 would be imposed. House Bill 67 This would outlaw the use of handheld mobile devices by all drivers.

Consult a Georgia Attorney For Advice

The laws are constantly changing in Georgia and it may be difficult to keep up with all of the new rules. Any driver 18 or younger can be pulled over by the police for using a cell phone. Law enforcement officials do not need a secondary reason, such as speeding or expired registration tags to pull you over. If they see you using any type of mobile device while driving, you can be issued a citation.

Distracted Driving Becoming An Epidemic

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol has been a huge problem in American society. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), more than 11,000 people are killed each year in an alcohol related accidents. Many of those drivers had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or above. While these statistics are alarming, fatal crashes involving alcohol have actually decreased over the past two decades. Distracted driving has become the number one problem in the nation and cell phones are involved in 1.6 millions accidents each year

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol has been a huge problem in American society. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), more than 11,000 people are killed each year in an alcohol related accidents. Many of those drivers had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15 or above. While these statistics are alarming, fatal crashes involving alcohol have actually decreased over the past two decades. Distracted driving has become the number one problem in the nation and cell phones are involved in 1.6 millions accidents each year according to the Department of Transportation (DOT). A recent study conducted by the Virginia Tech Driving Institute reported that motorists who text while driving are 23 times more likely to be involved in an accident.

Florida's Proposed Legislation

Many states throughout the nation have passed laws banning texting while driving. Three state representatives in Florida have filed proposed legislation to deal with the risks of distracted driving, and these include: Senate Bill 80 This would prohibit all drivers from texting or using any other form of text-based messaging while operating a motor vehicle. Anyone charged with this offense would be subject to a fine of $100. Senator Evelyn Lynn of Florida is sponsoring the bill. Senate Bill 158 Prohibits operating a motor vehicle while using a wireless communication device for certain purposes. Provides for a secondary enforcement, which means that a driver may be pulled over and issued a ticket only if they are observed violating another law, such as speeding. A total of six points will be issued against the individual's driver's license if the crash was a result of unlawfully using a wireless communication device. This bill is being sponsored by Florida State Senator Nancy Detert. House Bill 79 Sponsored by Representative Ari Porth, this proposed legislation is identical to Senate Bill 158 and would create the Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law. This bill has strong support from Florida's law enforcement community. The Broward Sheriff's Office is launching a campaign focused on keeping the roads safe from texting drivers and will be airing public safety announcements on all local cable television channels.

When to Get Help From a Florida Attorney

The State of Florida currently has no laws prohibiting using cell phones while operating a motor vehicle. However, an experienced attorney will tell you that if you cause an accident and are found negligent due to distracted driving, this could result in a huge lawsuit. Victims of auto accidents have the right to file suit against the person responsible for causing the crash. They can sue you for damage to their vehicle along with the cost of their medical treatment. If you have been involved in an accident or been issued a citation for violating traffic laws, contact an attorney for immediate assistance.

New Driving Laws for 2011 in Texas

Texas is helping to lead the nation, in passing bans to using texting devices, cell phones, and other hand-held devices. In addition to the laws mentioned below, many more are in the works in the Texas legislature. Ten more bills have been submitted, which address texting and driving, and have been filed for consideration for the 2011 legislative session. According to lawmakers who are proposing these bills, they are trying to strike a fair compromise between civil liberties and safety.

Texas is helping to lead the nation, in passing bans to using texting devices, cell phones, and other hand-held devices. In addition to the laws mentioned below, many more are in the works in the Texas legislature. Ten more bills have been submitted, which address texting and driving, and have been filed for consideration for the 2011 legislative session. According to lawmakers who are proposing these bills, they are trying to strike a fair compromise between civil liberties and safety.
 
The Texas State Transportation Institute reports that of all teenagers surveyed, over 2/3 have used a cell phone while driving, and 1/2 of those surveyed had texted while driving. According to statistics nationwide, use of cell phones and texting devices is the lead cause of car accidents for teenagers.
 
Many cities in Texas are in the process of putting laws into place which, if violated, carry hefty fines, between $200-$500, depending on the violation. Here are some cities which have put new laws into place.
 
SAN ANTONIO: A ban was put into effect for texting and driving, and ticketing began on January 14, 2011.
 
McALLEN: Has banned text messaging and related internet activity while driving, and violations carry up to $200 fines. This was put into effect on January 24, 2011.
 
ALVIN: A law is coming into effect in March 2011, which will ban texting and cell phone use in school zones.
 
MISSOURI CITY: In June 2010, a ban on texting while driving was put into effect, with extra city signage added, as a reminder of these laws.
 
SAN ANTONIO: A ban on texting and driving law went into effect 10/15/10.
 
More Distracted Driving laws are coming quickly, all across Texas, to help address the increased accident and injury rates due to inattentive driving. These are specifically related to hand-held communication and online devices.

Syndicate content