Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Frequently Asked Questions - New Hampshire Teen Driver

You and your parents should draft an agreement in which you promise to do the following:

• Obey all the rules of the road.
• Stay focused on driving at all times.
• Respect the laws about not driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
• To be a responsible driver by contributing to the cost of gas and vehicle maintenance.

Your parents should also make a commitment to supervise your driving on a regular basis. The contract should also outline what the consequences are if the rules are broken.

New drivers with a Youth Operator’s License will have the nighttime driving restrictions lifted after 13 months or when they turn 18. All drivers are prohibited from text messaging while driving as of January 1, 2010.

The New Hampshire Department of Safety requires all applicants to submit one primary document, one secondary document and one residency document or two primary documents and one residency document when applying for a driver’s license. These include the following:

Primary Documents
• Original or certified copy of birth certificate (Including United States citizens born abroad or a birth certificate issued by the U.S. Department of State)
• Valid passport
• Valid military identification or other photo identification issued by United States government
• Military dependent identification
• Valid driver’s license issued by another state with photo or digital image

Secondary Documents
• Driver’s license issued by another state with photo or digital image that has not been expired for more than one year
• Non-driver identification issued by the State of New Hampshire that has not been expired for more than one year
• Current employee identification issued by the State of New Hampshire
• Marriage Certificate or Civil Union Certificate
• Divorce decree (Only the section that allows a person to go back to his/her former name)
• Social Security card issued by the Social Security Administration (SSA) or a Letter of Verification from the SSA
• Current student photo/digital image identification card
• Military discharge papers/separation papers (DD-214)

Proof of New Hampshire Residency
• Valid New Hampshire Certificate of Title
• Title application prepared by a town or city clerk or tax collector that is not marked “non-resident”
• Valid New Hampshire Registration Certificate
• Lease or rental agreement (Must be properly signed by both parties)
• Notarized letter from landlord at the address provided (Must be less than 60 days old)
• Mortgage statement at the address provided
• Any current utility bill with service at the address provided from a gas, electric, oil, water/sewer, cable/dish service or telephone company providing landline service (Must be less than 60 days old)
• Property tax (real estate bill) at address provided
• Government check or government document issued by an official in the municipality of residence (Must be less than 60 days old)
• Payroll check, payroll document or employment contract (Must be less than 60 days old)
• Direct verification by a parent or legal guardian

Name Change Documents (If current name is different than the name on birth certificate)
• Marriage Certificate
• Civil Union Certificate
• Divorce decree (Only the section that allows a person to go back to his/her former name)
• Adoption decree
• Court decree
• Name change petition issued from the court of Probate

All first-time applicants holding visas, permanent resident cards, refugees, asylees and employment authorizations cards (EAD) must apply at the DMV office, located at 23 Hazen Drive in Concord, New Hampshire.

The State of New Hampshire has the following restrictions:

Youth Operator’s License (Under 18)
• You are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 1 and 4 am.
• During the first six months, you are prohibited from operating a motor vehicle with more than one passenger under age 25 unless they are a member of your immediate family or you are accompanied by a licensed adult driver who is 25 years or older.
• Seat belts must be provided for every person in the vehicle.

If you violate any of the above restrictions, you will be fined $100 and your license will be suspended for 30 days. Any subsequent violations will result in a fine of $200 and a license suspension of 90 days.

The State of New Hampshire requires you to complete a state-approved driver’s education course that includes the following:

• 30 hours of classroom instruction
• 10 hours of behind-the-wheel driving lessons given by a licensed instructor
• 10 hour of observation time in a motor vehicle while another student is behind the wheel

You must also complete 40 hours of practice driving with 10 hours at night under the supervision of a parent or a license adult who is 25 years or older.

When applying for a driver’s license, you must do the following:

• Fill out an Application For Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form DSMV 450).
• Submit a Driver Education Certificate from a state-approved program if you are under 18.
• Submit a completed Driver’s Out-of-Class Log Sheet if you are under 18.
• Submit a Parent or Guardian Authorization certificate (Form DSMV 38) if you are under 18.
• Pay the licensing fee of $50 in cash, check or credit card.

If you have a valid out-of-state license, the DMV will require you to surrender before a New Hampshire driver’s license will be issued.

The State of New Hampshire does not require a learner’s permit. However, you can practice driving without a permit with the following requirements:

• You must be at least 15 years and six months old.
• You must drive with a licensed adult who is 25 years or older.
• The adult supervisor must sit in the passenger seat next to you at all times.

To obtain a New Hampshire driver’s license, you must meet the following requirements:

• You must be at least 16 years old.
• You must complete an approved driver’s education course if you are between the ages of 16 and 18.
• You must have the approval of your parent or legal guardian.
• You must be able to pass the knowledge, vision and road tests.

First-time applicants will receive a temporary license that is valid for 60 days. The permanent license will be mailed to you at the address provided.

The State of New Hampshire requires drivers to pass the following tests:

Computer-Based Knowledge Test
• The written knowledge test consists of 40 multiple-choice questions and you will have 40 minutes to complete the test. Each question is displayed on a touch-screen computer monitor. You must choose an answer by touching the letter that corresponds to your choice. If you miss more than eight questions, the test will automatically terminate. You can request an appointment to retake the test no sooner than ten days from the current date. Automated oral testing with headphones is available for people who do not read English.

Vision Test
• You must be able to pass the vision test with an acuity of 20/40 in both eyes or 20/30 in one eye if the other eye is blind. If you fail the test, you must have your eyes examined by an eye-care specialist to determine if your vision can be corrected. Drivers with an acuity of 20/70 in the better eye will be issued a license to drive during daylight hours only.

Road Test
• The Licensing Examiner will test you on the following:

1. Your skill in handing the vehicle in traffic
2. Driving habits
3. Working knowledge and understanding of traffic signs and rules of the road
4. How well you physically, mentally and emotionally handle the actual stress of driving in traffic
5. Attitude toward driving and personal and public safety

If you fail the road test, a retest will be scheduled at the convenience of the DMV.

Before applying for a driver’s license, you should study the State of New Hampshire Driver’s Manual, which covers the following topics:

• Part One—General Information
• Part Two—Driver Licensing Information
• Part Three—Motor Vehicle Title and Registration
• Part Four—Vehicle Equipment
• Part Five—Rules of the Road
• Part Six—Turning and Signaling
• Part Seven—Following, Passing and Lane Usage
• Part Eight—Stopping
• Part Nine—Speed
• Part Ten—Parking
• Part Eleven—Hazardous Driving Conditions
• Part Twelve—Driving Emergencies
• Part Thirteen—Expressway Driving
• Part Fourteen—Alcohol, Drugs and Driving
• Part Fifteen—Young and Old Drivers
• Part Sixteen—Accidents and Financial Responsibility
• Part Seventeen—Safety and Energy Conservation
• Part Eighteen—Sharing the Road
• Part Nineteen—Commercial Driver’s License

The manual can be found on the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website or at any local DMV station.

To obtain a Youth Operator’s License, you must meet the following requirements:

• You are between 16 and 21 years of age.
• You must be able to pass the knowledge, vision and road tests.
• You must successfully complete a state-approved driver’s education course.
• You must have the consent of your parent or legal guardian.
• You must complete 40 hours of practice driving, with 10 hours at night.

The Youth Operator’s license will expire on your 21st birthday.