Click here to ask your driving related question.
Frequently Asked Questions - Taking Your MN Permit Test
- Is the permit test open book?
- Do I have to take a drug test before I get my permit?
- What happens if I fail my MN permit test?
- How many questions do I need to answer correctly in order to pass the MN Permit Test?
- How much does the MN permit test cost?
- Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my MN permit test?
- What do I need to know in order to pass my MN permit test?
- How many questions are on the MN permit test?
- Where should I go to sign up for my MN permit test?
- What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my MN permit test?
No. You are not allowed to bring the Minnesota Driver's Manual or any other supplementary study materials into the exam with you.
In Minnesota you do not have to submit to a drug test before getting your permit.
If you fail your Permit Test, you won't be given a permit. You will be able to retake the MN Permit Test. Your second attempt is still free. The third retake and subsequent retakes after that, however, will cost you $10. If you fail the MN Permit Test, do not rush retaking the exam. Reread the manual and study thoroughly before you attempt to take the test again.
You need to answer 32 out of the 40 questions correctly in order to pass the MN Permit Test.
The MN Permit Test is free the first two times you take the test. If you need to take the MN Permit Test a third time, you will need to pay $10 per test. The Instructional Permit Packet, which you receive after you pass your Permit Test, cost $12.
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you as they will need to sign your application.
It's a good idea to be familiar with all sections of the MN Driver's Manual. You should be familiar with traffic markings, parking situations, lane changes, road signs, traffic signals, pedestrian laws, speed limits and much more.
There are forty questions on the MN Permit Test.
You can sign up for your MN permit test at your local DVS office. You can find the nearest location at this website: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/locations/Pages/default.aspx
When you apply for your MN license, you will need to provide your Social Security Number and documents that prove your identity (i.e. date of birth and your full legal name). If you are under 18, you will also need to bring a certificate of enrollment that proves you have completed a Driver's Education course and that you have signed up for behind-the-wheel training. For more information about the acceptable identification documents your contact your local DVS office or check the MN Driver's Manual.