Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Frequently Asked Questions - Taking Your SC Permit Test

There are thirty questions on the SC Permit Test.
No. You are not allowed to bring the South Carolina Driver's Manual or any other supplementary study materials into the exam with you.
In South Carolina you do not have to submit to a drug test before getting your permit.
If you fail your permit test, you won't be given a permit. You will be able to retake the SC Permit Test, but the waiting time varies depending on how many times you have failed. If you have failed the SC Permit Test once or twice, the waiting period in between tests is two weeks. If you have failed the test three or four more times, you will need to wait 60 days. If you have failed your SC Permit Test, do not rush retaking it. Reread the SC Driver's Manual and study thoroughly before retaking the SC Permit Test.
In South Carolina, the permit test costs $2 and the permit costs $2.50.
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you as they will need to sign your application.
It's a good idea to be familiar with all sections of the SC Driver's Manual. You should be familiar with traffic markings, lane changes, road signs, traffic signals, pedestrian laws, speed limits and much more.
You can sign up for your SC permit test at your local DMV office. You can find the nearest location at this website: http://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/offloclist.aspx
When you apply for your initial license, you will need to bring with you documents that verify your identity: your birth certificate, your Social Security Card, proof of your residency and your insurance information.