Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Frequently Asked Questions - Wyoming Teen Driver

The State of Wyoming requires driver’s to complete driver’s education course approved by the Wyoming Department of Education that includes the following:

• 30 hours of classroom instruction
• 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving

Minors who are eligible to take driver’s education must enroll in a program through their local school district.

The State of Wyoming requires drivers to pass the following tests:

The Written Test
• The written test consists of multiple-choice questions about identifying traffic signs by shape, color or symbol, identifying signals and pavement markings, traffic laws, safety rules, crash prevention and vehicle equipment. You must correctly answer 19 out of 25 questions to pass the test. If you fail the test, you can retake it the same day unless you missed an excessive amount of questions, at which point you must wait another day before retaking the test. All tests are given in English only. If you cannot speak or write in English, you may use an interpreter.

Vision Screening
• You must have a visual acuity of 20/40 in both eyes, with or without using corrective lenses and a combined horizontal field vision of at least 120 degrees. If you fail the vision screening, you must obtain a vision statement from an eye specialist. If your visual acuity is worse than 20/40 but at least 20/100, you will be required to take a driving skills test.

The Skills Test
• First-time applicants who have never been licensed in Wyoming or any other state must pass a skills test consisting of safe driving maneuvers. The skills test may be waived if you have proof of completing an approved driver education class. The proof must be in the form of a certification card and contain the student’s name, date of birth, driver license number and the original signatures of the instructor and school administrator.

You must furnish your own vehicle for the test and the vehicle must be:

• Legally registered and insured
• Equipped with seat belts for both the driver and front-seat passenger
• In good working order and the examiner will check the brakes, brake lights, headlights, taillights, horn, doors, windshield and windshield wipers.

You should be prepared to demonstrate your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely in all types of driving conditions. If you fail the test, you must wait three days to be retested.

The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) Driver Services Program has the following requirements for obtaining a Learner’s Permit:

Restricted Learner’s Permit
• You must be at least 14 or 15 years of age.
• You must be eligible for a hardship permit under one of the following conditions:

1. Your residence is more than five miles away from the school you attend.
2. You have a regular job of at least ten hours per week and it is located more than five miles from your residence.
3. You are required to have a license in order to work in your parents’ business.
4. Any other circumstances that the Highway Patrol deems to be an extreme inconvenience, such as transporting a relative for long-term medical treatment.

• You must complete the Affidavit for a Restricted License (Forms FSDL-708A and FSDL-708B).
• You must have a School Attendance Verification form completed if the license is required for transportation to or from school or in conjunction with extracurricular school activities.
• You must have a Work Verification form completed if the license is required for transportation to and from work.
• You must have a Verification of Parental Ownership of Business form completed if the license is required for working in your parents’ business.
• You must complete an Insurance Verification form.
• The Wyoming Highway Patrol must complete the Restrictions form.
• You must pass the written test and vision screening.
• You must pay the restricted permit fee of $10.

This type of special permit is issued only for a period of 60 days. The minor must hold the permit for at least 10 days before applying for a full restricted (RC) license.

Regular Learner’s Permit
• You must be 15 or 16 years of age.
• Your parent or legal guardian must sign the application form or their signature must be notarized on the form.
• You must pass the written test and vision screening.
• You must pay a permit fee of $20.

The Learner’s Permit is valid for one year from the date issued.

Intermediate Permit
• You must be at least 16 years old.
• You must have held a learner’s permit for at least ten days.
• Your parent or legal guardian must sign the application form or their signature must be notarized on the form.
• You must have a signed minor’s release from your parent or legal guardian.
• You must have completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, including 10 hours of night driving.
• You must pass the written test and vision screening.
• You must pass a driving skills test unless you have completed an approved driver education course.
• You must pay a permit fee of $15.

The Intermediate Permit will expire 30 days after you turn 17 years of age.

As of July 1, 2010, all drivers in Wyoming are prohibited from sending, receiving or reading text messages while operating a motor vehicle. This ban also includes instant messages and email messages. Violating this law is a misdemeanor offense and is punishable by a fine of up to $75. Exceptions to the law include the following:

• Drivers who are legally parked
• Drivers who need to contact an emergency response vehicle (ambulance, fire or police services)
• When drivers use a hands-free or voice-operated device

The law does not apply to text messaging communications made by emergency responders when performing their official duties.

The Wyoming Department of Transportation recommends that parents and teens enter into a driving agreement covering the following issues:

• Nighttime driving
• Driving with teen passengers
• Driving in inclement weather and on various road types
• Driving rules and consequences
• To obey all traffic laws and signs
• Checking in with a parent each time the teen drives
• Never to take unnecessary risks while driving
• Not to use drugs or alcohol when driving

The parents should have a list of consequences for breaking the rules, such as the loss of driving privileges for a certain period of time.

When applying for an instruction permit or driver’s license, you will need to do the following:

• Fill out the Wyoming Driver License/Identification Card Application.

• Your parent or legal guardian must sign the application form or their signature must be notarized on the form.

• You must submit a Certification of Behind the Wheel Driving (Form FSGDL-01) and it must be signed by your parent or legal guardian if you are under 18.

• You must complete the Affidavit for a Restricted License (Forms FSDL-708A and FSDL-708B) if you are applying for a Restricted Learner’s Permit or Restricted (RC) License. One of the following form must be submitted with the affidavit:

1. School Attendance Verification form
2. Work Verification form
3. Verification of Parental Ownership of Business form
4. Insurance Verification form

The entire package must be signed, notarized and mailed to the Wyoming Highway Patrol, Restricted License Investigations, 5300 Bishop Blvd., Cheyenne, Wyoming 82009-3340.

• You must submit a Certificate of Completion in an approved driver’s education course to qualify for a full license.

Before applying for a permit or license, you should study the State of Wyoming Driver License Manual, which covers the following topics:

• Driver Licensing
• Getting Your License
• License Services
• Additional Driver/Motoring Services
• Losing the Privilege to Drive
• Safety Laws/Issues
• Rules of the Road
• Speed
• Traffic Signs, Signals and Road Markings
• Traffic Crashes
• Sharing the Road Safely

The manual can be found online at the Wyoming Department of Transportation website or at any local driver exam office.

The State of Wyoming has the following requirements to obtain a full unrestricted license:

Full Unrestricted License
• You must be at least 16 years and 6 months old and have:

1. Held an Intermediate Permit for at least six months
2. Successfully completed an approved driver education course
3. Completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, including 10 hours of nighttime driving as certified by your parent or legal guardian
4. Your driving privileges are not suspended.

• You may be issued a Wyoming’s driver’s license at age 17 with full driving privileges without having been issued an intermediate license or any other type of license or permit, unless your driving privileges have been suspended.

• You must have a minor’s release signed by your parent or legal guardian.

• You must pass a written test, vision screening and driving skills test. The driving skills test may be waived if you have completed an approved driver education course.

• You must pay the license fee of $20.

The Wyoming Department of Transportation requires applicants to provide proof identity, proof of Wyoming residency and proof of Social Security number by submitting the following documents:

Proof of Identity
• Valid unexpired U.S. passport
• Original or certified copy of a birth certificate
• State-issued driver’s license or photo identification card that complies with the new federal security requirements Wyoming began enforcing on June 1, 2011 (State-issued licenses that have the “gold star” on them).
• Valid U.S. passport or immigration documents with photo and signature are acceptable in lieu of a birth certificate.

Non-U.S. Citizens or Citizens Born Outside the U.S.
If you were not born in the United State, you must submit one of the following documents:
• Consular Report of Birth Abroad (FS-240, DS-1350 or FS-545)
• Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561)
• Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570)
• Permanent Resident Card (I-551)
• Employment Authorization Document (I-766 or I-688B)
• Valid foreign passport with United States VISA and accompanied by an approved document documenting the applicant’s most recent admittance to the United States (I-94)
• Any other documents that verify legal entry into the United States issued by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).

Proof of Name Change
• Marriage certificate
• Divorce decree
• Court order

Proof of Social Security Number
• Social Security card
• W-2 form with applicant’s Social Security number on it
• IRS tax form with applicant’s Social Security number on it
• Bank statement with applicant’s Social Security number on it
• Any other official or government document displaying applicant’s complete Social Security number

Proof of Wyoming Residency (Must provide two documents)
• Current utility bill containing applicant’s name and residential address (P.O. boxes are not acceptable).
• Current rental or lease agreement containing applicant’s name and residential address (P.O. boxes are not acceptable).
• Certified voter registration certificating containing applicant’s name and residential address displaying the stamp of the current county clerk (P.O. boxes are not acceptable).
• Vehicle registration in applicant’s name with a Wyoming residential address (P.O. boxes are not acceptable).
• Paystub showing applicant’s name and residential address (P.O. boxes are not acceptable).

If you do not have a physical address because you live in your vehicle or are moving around the country living in your recreational vehicle, you must present proof of what state you are registered to vote in and your Wyoming vehicle registration, in your name with at least a Wyoming P.O. Box or mail drop within Wyoming to which the license can be mailed.

Acceptable forms of payment include cash, check or money order. Credit card or debit card payments are available in the driver examination offices located in Casper, Cheyenne and Jackson.

The State of Wyoming has the following restrictions:

• Restricted Learner’s Permit Restrictions (Held 10 Days or Less)
• During the first 10 days, your parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult driver who is 18 years or older must accompany you at all times.

Full RC License Restrictions
• You may only drive between the hours of 5 am and 8 pm and only within a 50-mile radius of your home.
• You must abide by any restrictions deemed appropriate by the Wyoming Highway Patrol.

Regular Learner’s Permit Restrictions
• You may only drive when accompanied by your parent, legal guardian or a licensed adult diver who is 18 years or older and occupies the front passenger seat.

Intermediate Permit Restrictions
• You may only drive between the hours of 5 am and 11 pm unless one of the following exceptions applies:

1. You are accompanied by a licensed adult driver who is 18 years of older.
2. You are driving to or from work (Your employer must sign the exception form).
3. You are driving to or from school, to attend a school activity, an organized youth sports activity or a religious activity (Your parent or legal guardian must sign the exception form).
4. You are driving due to a medical necessity (A medical doctor must sign the exception form).
5. You are driving due to a medical emergency, i.e. to the hospital (An exception is not required).

• You may not drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18 unless they are a member of your immediate family.
• You and each of your passengers must wear a seat belt.