Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Florida Permit Practice Tests

Rated best Florida Permit Practice Test by thousands of Florida teens. Try this FREE DMV Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your FL Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Florida DMV Drivers handbook can be found below. This is the...
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Florida DMV Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the Florida DMV Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE Permit...
Take our FREE FL Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Get the FL Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter
Are you prepared for your DMV Permit Test? Take our FREE FL Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DMV Permit Test? Our FL Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your Florida Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your Florida License
  • Preparing For Your FL Permit Test
  • Taking Your FL Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your FL Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your FL Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed The FL Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your FL Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To FL Or Just Visiting
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your Florida License
At what age can I apply for my FL license?
In FL you have to be at least 15 years old before you can begin the licensing process.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my FL license?
When you apply for your FL license, you will need to bring with you proof of your identity (e.g. birth certificate or United States passport), proof of your social security number, proof of Substance Abuse and Traffic Law courses, proof of your address and a parental consent form if you are under 18 and unmarried.
What qualifications are there for the FL permit test?
To be eligible to apply for a FL permit test, you need to be at least 15 years old, be able to demonstrate that you have attended a Substance Abuse and Traffic Law course and be able to provide proof of your address. You must also pass the vision, hearing and written tests required by the DMV. If you are under 18, you must also have a signed parental consent form.
Where should I go to apply for my FL license?
You should apply at your nearest Division of Driver's Licenses office. There are Division of Driver's Licenses offices located throughout the state of Florida. You can find more information about these locations by visiting this website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/offices/
Is there any way to contact the FL DMV office?
You can find contact information details by visiting this website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/offices/. You can also call this customer service line (850) 617-2000.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my FL permit test?
It's a good idea to have your parent or legal guardian accompany you as they need to sign your application. If they are unable to accompany you, a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older can accompany you instead. Just remember to make sure your parent or legal guardian signs your application in the presence of a notary public official beforehand.
Do I need to have a physical before I apply for my FL license?
No. A physical is not required.
Do I need to my eyes checked before I can obtain a FL Driver's license?
Yes. You do have to complete a vision test in order to get your FL license. Fortunately, FL Division of Driver's Licenses offices are equipped to conduct vision tests. If you score worse than 20/40 on your vision test, you may be referred to an eye specialist.
What steps do I need to follow to obtain my FL Learner's permit?
First, you will need to take a Learner's Permit (Traffic Law and Drug/Alcohol) course. Then you will need to gather the necessary identification documents to your local Division of Driver's Licenses office. You must successfully pass the written exam. You need to take your vision and hearing test as well. Once those tests are completed successfully, you will have your picture taken and then you will receive your learner's permit.
Why shouldn't I smile in my Driver's License photo?
A straight face is easier to process and distinguish. Since your driver's license photo is used to identify you, the DMV and the police want to reduce fraud or identify theft by making it more difficult to impersonate you. Better facial recognition technology is developing every day, but until then it's recommended that you keep a straight face in your photo.
What will happen after I apply for my FL Driver's license?
If you are 18 or under, once you have passed your written exam and you have received your learner's permit, you must wait at least 12 months before applying for your road test. If you are older than 18, there is no waiting period. You could apply for your road test on the same day you receive your FL Learner's permit.
Preparing For Your FL Permit Test
What should I use to study for my FL Permit Test?
The best way to study for the FL Permit Test is to read the FL Driver's manual. You can find quiz questions on our website that can act as a supplement to the FL Driver's manual.
Do I have to enroll into a Driver's Ed. class?
Yes. You must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course before you are eligible. Some school boards provide approved Driver's Education courses so you can check to see if this is possible. You can find a list of approved course providers by visiting this website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/educate_sess.html.
Where can I find a copy of the FL Driver's manual?
You can find a copy of FL Driver's Manual at any local Division of Driver's Licenses office. The book is free. You can also download the FL Driver's Manual by visiting this website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/handbooks/EnglishDriverHandbook.pdf.
Are there any chapters of the FL Driver's manual that I can skip?
To have the best chance of passing your FL Permit Test, you should read the entire manual.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the FL Permit Test to pass?
The FL permit test consists of 2 sections: Road Rule and Road Sign. Each section has twenty questions. You cannot get more than 5 questions wrong in each section.
Where can I go to take my FL Permit Test?
In FL, you have the option of taking your FL Permit test at a DMV office or online. You can find a list of local offices by visiting this website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/offices/. You should also check with your local DMV office for which online test sites are still valid.
Is there anything I should do the night before my FL Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website. Get a good night's rest as well.
What should I do when I am ready to take my FL Permit Test?
If you feel ready and capable of taking your FL Permit Test, make sure that you have proof demonstrating your successful completion of a Traffic Law and Drug Abuse course. Then you should visit your local DMV office to take your permit test, bringing along with you all the necessary identification documents. You are able to take the FL Permit test online, but remember to check to see if the testing site is recognized by Florida.
Taking Your FL Permit Test
When I am eligible to get my permit?
To be eligible to apply for a FL permit test, you need to be at least 15 years old, be able to demonstrate that you have attended a Substance Abuse and Traffic Law course and be able to provide proof of your address. You must also pass the vision, hearing and written tests required by the DMV. If you are under 18, you must also have a signed parental consent form.
What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my FL Permit Test?
You will need to provide proof of your identity (your birth certificate or United States passport), proof of your social security number, proof that you have attended and completed a Substance Abuse and Traffic Law course and proof of your address. If you are under 18 and unmarried, you will also need to bring a signed parental consent form.
How much does the FL Permit Test cost?
The initial fee is $54.25.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my FL permit test?
It's a good idea to have your parent or legal guardian accompany you as they need to sign your application. If they are unable to accompany you, a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older can accompany you instead. Just remember to make sure your parent or legal guardian signs your application in the presence of a notary public official beforehand.
What do I need to know to pass my FL Permit Test?
To give yourself the best chance of passing your FL Permit Test you should study all chapters and sections of the FL Driver's Manual. The exam will test your knowledge of speed limits, pavement markings, traffic signs, defensive driving and much more basic rules of the road.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the FL Permit Test to pass?
The FL permit test consists of 2 sections: Road Rule and Road Sign. Each section has twenty questions. You cannot get more than 5 questions wrong in each section.
When will I know if I passed my FL Permit Test?
You will know if you passed your FL Permit Test immediately after completing your test.
Is the FL Permit Test open book?
No. You are not allowed to use your FL Driver's Manual or any other study materials during your FL Permit Test.
Do I have to take a drug test to be able to take my FL Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take a drug test, but you do have to attend a Drug and Alcohol Awareness course.
What happens if I fail my FL Permit Test?
If you fail your FL Permit Test, you will be able to retake the test whenever you are ready. However, you will have to pay a $10 retest fee and you will have to schedule an appointment to take the test. Don't rush it. Retake the test when you feel confident that you will be able to pass.
What happens after I pass my FL Permit Test?
After you pass your FL Permit Test, you will receive your learner's permit. You have to wait a year before you can take to your road test. You should practice driving during that time. Any time that you are driving you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. For the first three months after receiving your learner's permit, you are only allowed to drive during the day.
Preparing For Your FL Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
How should I practice driving for my FL Driving Exam?
Before your FL Driving Exam, you should practice and develop a number of safe driving skills. You should feel comfortable accelerating smoothly and gradually, passing through intersections safely, change lanes effective, coming to a complete stop at stop signs and traffic signals, parking and parallel parking, maintaining the speed limit and staying in the correct lane.
Do I need to bring anything with me when I take my FL Driving Exam?
When you go to take your FL Permit Test, you should bring your FL Learner's Permit and a valid vehicle registration. If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign your Parent Consent Form in person or in front of a notary witness.
What should I expect for my FL Driving Exam?
You should expect to be tested on the basic road rules of Florida, and you may be asked to demonstrate your ability to make a 3-point turn, to parallel park, to stop quickly and to back up safely.
Is there anything I should do the night before my FL Driving Exam?
The night before your FL Driving Exam, you should practice driving with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. You should make sure you get a good night's rest.
Do I have to schedule a road test appointment or does the DMV allow walk-ins?
Yes. You must make an appointment. When you are ready to take your FL Driving Exam, you can do so by visiting the FL DMV website.
Do I need to supply my own car for my FL Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply a vehicle for your FL Driving Exam that is in good working condition. The vehicle must also be properly insured.
Taking Your FL Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
Does anyone need to accompany me to my FL Driving Exam?
If you are under 18, it's a good idea to have your parent or legal guardian accompany you to your road test as they must sign a parent consent form verifying that you completed at least 50 hours of behind the wheel training. If your parent or legal guardian is unable to accompany you, then make sure you have your parent or legal guardian sign the consent from in front of a notary witness. Additionally, if your parents are unable to accompany you, then a licensed driver who is over 21 years old or older may accompany you instead.
Are there any tips that I should follow to help me pass my FL Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your FL Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane.
Are there any common mistakes that I should avoid making?
You should avoid driving dangerously, driving too quickly, hitting other objects, forgetting to signal, rolling stops and parking incorrectly.
Do I have to parallel park on my FL Driving Exam?
FL no longer requires that you parallel park on your driving exam. You only need to to park in a standard parking space. However, it's a good idea to make sure that you know how to parallel park regardless.
Are there any maneuvers I should expect to complete on my FL Driving Exam?
On your FL Driving Exam, you will have to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to approach an intersection, yield the right-of-way, back up effectively and safely and follow cars at a safe distance. The examiner will also want to make sure you maintain the proper posture for driving a vehicle.
Am I allowed to wear my contacts or glasses?
Yes. If you wear contacts or glasses regularly to be able to see, you should most definitely wear your contacts or glasses for your FL Driving Exam.
Who is allowed to be in the car with me during my FL Driving Exam?
Only you and your examiner are allowed in the vehicle during your FL Driving Exam.
What happens if I fail my FL Driving Exam?
If you fail your FL Driving Exam, you should pay attention to what your examiner mentions as your weaknesses. Don't rush retaking the test. Instead practice driving, develop better skills and improve upon your weaknesses. Typically, you are able to retake the FL Driving Exam approximately five times before you must wait a year before trying again. You may also have your driving privileges suspended if you fail 5 times and you may have to request approval from the Bureau of Administrative Review (BAR) Office to take the road test again
After You Have Passed The FL Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my FL Driving Exam?
Once you have passed your FL Driving Exam, your examiner will collect your driver's license fee and issue your license.
If I am under 18 will there be any limitations on my license?
Yes. If you are 16 years old, you are only allowed to drive between 6 AM and 11 PM unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older. You may also drive during those hours if it is an emergency situation or if you are going to work. If you are 17 you can only drive between the hours of 5 AM and 1 AM unless during those hours you are with a licensed driver who is 21 years or older. You may also drive during those forbidden hours if you are driving to work.
Are there any limitations on my license if I am older than 18 years old or older?
No. There are restrictions on your license if you are older than 18.
Do I need to get car insurance?
Absolutely. You will need a minimum coverage of $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
What documents do I need to apply for FL car insurance?
To apply for car insurance, you need to provide your license and to submit information about your vehicle. You can find more information about FL car insurance by visiting this website: http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/frfaqgen.html
How much does FL car insurance cost?
The average person in FL pays approximately $1200 per year. However, the price varies depending on your age, your driving history, your car class and other factors.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers in FL?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident, insurance companies often charge more to cover them.
Renewing Your FL Driver's License
How do I renew my FL Driver's license once it has expired?
In Florida, you are able to renew your license in-person, online or by mail. For either of these options, you must provide proof of your ID, your social security number and your address. You can find out more information about renewing your FL license by visiting this website: www.flhsmv.gov
How long is my FL Driver's License valid?
Typically, FL Driver's licenses are valid for 6 to 8 years.
Do I need to retake the written test in order to renew my FL Driver's license?
No. You do not need to retake the written test or a driving exam.
What If You're Moving To FL Or Just Visiting
Do I have to pass the FL road test when I move to FL from another state?
No. You do not have to pass the FL road test as long as you possess a valid out-of-state driver's license. You have 30 days after moving to Florida to obtain a FL license.
What do I need to bring with me to replace my out-of-state driver's license with a FL license?
You should bring your out-of-state license, a secondary ID (social security card, marriage certificate, birth certificate or life insurance policy). You can find out more information about this by visiting this website: http://www.dmvflorida.org/out-of-state-drivers.shtml.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in FL?
Yes. FL will recognize valid out-of-state permits. However, you must remember to follow FL traffic laws and regulations.
How long can I drive in FL with my out-of-state license?
As long as you do not become a FL resident, you are allowed to drive with a valid out-of-state license for as long as you like.
Am I allowed to drive in FL with my out-of-country license?
The answer to this question varies. If your license is from Canada, France, Republic of Korea or any other U.S. possession, yes, you are able to drive with your foreign license. However, you must complete a vision test before doing so. If your license is from Germany or Taiwan, you must take the vision, hearing and written exam. To be safe, you should check with a local DMV office to make sure that your foreign license is valid and that there aren't any tests you need to pass to be driving legally in the state of Florida.Question Category