Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Georgia Driver’s License Practice Tests

Your #1 site for the Georgia Driver’s License Practice Tests. Take our FREE DDS Practice Test now! 25 California Driver's License questions & answers, learn how to PASS your GA Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Georgia DDS Drivers handbook can be found below....
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Georgia DDS Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
This FREE GA Driver's License Practice Test shows you what kind of questions to...
Take our FREE GA Driver's License Practice Test now! It's an online quiz with...
Get the GA Driver's License CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter
Is it time for your DDS Driver's License test? Get fully prepared and take our...
Find out how prepared you really are for the DDS Driver's License Test. Take...
Learn how to pass your Driver's License Test the first time! Try our FREE GA...
Practice your Georgia Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your GA License
  • Preparing For Your GA Permit Test
  • Taking Your GA Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your GA Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your GA Driving Exam
  • After You Have Passed Your GA Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your GA Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To Georgia (Or Just Visiting)
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your GA License
At what age can I apply for my Georgia License?
In GA, you have to be at least 15 years old to begin the licensing process.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my GA license?
When you apply for your GA license, you will need to bring with you proof of your identity, two proofs of residency, your full Social Security Number and proof of your law presence in the United States. If you are under 18 you will also need to provide a Certificate of School Attendance.
Where can I apply for my driver's license in GA?
You should apply for your GA license at your local Department of Driver Services. You can find a list of locations at this website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/locations/LocationList.aspx.
Am I able to contact my nearest DDS office?
Yes. You can contact your nearest DDS office by calling (678-413-8400) or by visiting the official GA Department of Driver Services website: www.dds.ga.gov.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my GA permit test?
If you are under 18, a parent, legal guardian, responsible adult or authorized Driver Training Instructor should accompany you. This individual must sign your driver's license application. If you are over 18, any licensed driver who is 21 years or older can accompany you.
Do I need to have a physical before I apply for my FL license?
No. A physical is not required.
Do I need to my eyes checked before I can obtain a FL Driver's license?
Yes. You do have to complete a vision test in order to get your GA license. You must score at least a 20/60 in one eye (with or without corrective lenses). We recommend wearers of contacts or glasses to wear them during the exam.
Can I supply the photo for my GA Driver's License?
No. You may not. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will take a photo for you.
What happens after I apply for my GA license?
First, you have to pass the GA written exam.
Preparing For Your GA Permit Test
What should I use to study for my GA Permit Test?
Reading the GA Driver's Manual gives you the best chance of passing successfully the GA Permit Test.
If I'm under 18, do I have to complete a Driver's Ed course in order to get my GA permit?
Yes. Teen drivers are required by law to attend and complete a Driver's Education course before obtaining their license. You will also need 40 hours of behind the wheel training?
Where can I find a copy of the GA Driver's Manual?
You can find a copy of GA Driver's Manual at any local DDS office. The book is free. You can also download the GA Driver's Manual by visiting this website: http://www.eregulations.com/georgia/driver/.
Are there any chapters of the GA Driver's Manual that I can skip reading?
We recommend you read the entire GA Driver's Manual. This gives you the best chance of passing your GA Permit Test.
What kind of questions are on the GA Permit Test?
The questions on the GA Permit Test will test your knowledge on the basic rules of the road and GA traffic laws. These questions can come from any section in the manual. An example question is "The maximum speed limit for driving in a school zone is _____?"
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on my GA Permit Test?
The GA Permit Test is divided into two sections. Each section consists of 20 questions. You need to answer correctly 15 questions from each section, meaning that you can only get 5 wrong in each section. If you fail one section and pass the other, the GA DDS will only require that you retake the section you failed.
Where am I able to take the GA Permit Test?
You will take your GA Permit Test at your local DDS office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/locations/LocationList.aspx.
Is there anything I should do the night before my GA Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website. Get a good night's rest as well.
Do a lot of people fail the GA Permit Test on their first time?
Georgia doesn't provide exact statistics for how many people pass or fail their GA Permit Test. This is why you should focus on reading the entire manual and studying thoroughly and consistently to give yourself the best chance of passing your GA Permit Test on the first try.
What should I do when I am ready to take my GA Permit Test?
If you feel ready to take your GA Permit Test, you should visit your local DDS office, where you will be able to take your GA Permit Test. You should bring with you proof of your identity, two proofs of residency, your Social Security Number, a document proving your lawful presence in the United States and a $10 permit fee. Applicants under 18 also need to bring a Certificate of School Attendance.
Taking Your GA Permit Test
Where do I go to sign up for my GA Permit Test?
You should visit your local GA DDS office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/locations/LocationList.aspx.
At what age am I allowed to get my GA permit?
You have to be at least 15 years old.
What documents do I need to take with me when I take my GA Permit Test?
You will need to bring with you proof of your identity, two proofs of residency, your full Social Security Number and proof of your law presence in the United States. If you are under 18 you will also need to provide a Certificate of School Attendance.
How much does the GA Permit Test cost?
A GA Permit Test cost $10.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my GA permit test?
If you are under 18, a parent, legal guardian, responsible adult or authorized Driver Training Instructor should accompany you. This individual must sign your driver's license application. If you are over 18, any licensed driver who is 21 years or older can accompany you.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on my GA Permit Test?
The GA Permit Test is divided into two sections. Each section consists of 20 questions. You need to answer correctly 15 questions from each section, meaning that you can only get 5 wrong in each section. If you fail one section and pass the other, the GA DDS will only require that you retake the section you failed.
What are common mistakes people make on the GA Permit Test?
The biggest and most important mistake to avoid is not studying thoroughly. Most people who fail the GA Permit Test did not read the GA Driver's Manual efficiently.
Is the GA Permit Test an open book exam?
No. You are not allowed to use your GA Driver's Manual or any other study materials during your GA Permit Test.
Do I have to take a drug test to be able to take my GA Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take a drug test, but you will be required to demonstrate your completion of the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program.
What happens if I fail a section of my GA Permit Test
If you fail one or both sections of the GA Permit, you will be able to retake the section(s) as early as the next business day. If you fail a section on the GA Permit Test you will have to wait 7 days, and if you fail three times you have to wait 30 days. It's a good idea not to rush retaking the test if you fail the first time.
What happens after I pass my GA Permit Test?
After you pass your permit test and after you have paid the $10 permit fee, you will receive your GA Learner's Permit. You will be able to drive anywhere in GA as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. You must a wait a year and 1 day before you can apply for your license. If you are under 18, you must complete a Driver's Education course and 40 hours of behind the wheel training.
Preparing For Your GA Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What driving skills should I develop for my GA Driving Exam?
It's very important on your GA Driving Exam that you are able to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to drive safely and efficiently. You should feel confident making smooth right and left turns, accelerating smoothly and gradually, backing up safely and coming to complete stops at signs and traffic signals.
Where can I practice driving in GA?
You can practice driving anywhere in the state of Georgia as long as a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older is sitting in the passenger seat next to you.
What should I expect on my GA Driving Exam?
You should expect to demonstrate your examiner that you know how to drive safely and effectively. You will most likely be asked to perform the following procedures: changing lanes, yielding to the right-of-way, making turns and going through turn-about.
What do I need to bring with me when I take my GA Driving Exam?
You should bring your Learner's Permit, a registered and insured vehicle that is in good working condition and a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older.
Is there anything I should do the night before my GA Driving Exam?
Try to relax. Don't try to learn a number of new techniques. If you have practiced thoroughly and consistently over the past year, you should do fine.
Where do I go to take my GA Driving Exam?
You can take your GA Driving Exam at your local DDS office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/locations/LocationList.aspx.
Does the DDS accept walk-ins for the GA Driving Exam?
Yes. The DDS office allows walk-ins, but they encourage that you make an appointment. Generally, walk-ins have to wait longer because those with appointments are prioritized first.
How many days in advance can I schedule my GA Driving Exam?
You are able to schedule your GA Driving Exam at least 90 days in advance.
How do I schedule an appointment for my GA Driving Exam?
You can schedule your Driving Exam by calling this number (618)-413-8400 or by visiting this website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/Dldata.aspx?con=1743296159&ty=dl.
Do I have to supply my own vehicle for my GA Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply your own vehicle. The vehicle must be registered, insurance and in good working condition.
Taking Your GA Driving Exam
Do I need to bring anyone with me when I take my GA Driving Exam?
Yes. A licensed driver who is 21 years old or older must accompany you to your GA Driving Exam.
Are there any tips I should follow to pass my GA Driving Exam?
The best tip we can offer is practice. Before your GA Driving Exam, you should practice driving regularly. Here are a few maneuvers you should feel comfortable performing before your GA Driving Exam: maintaining proper posture, keeping both hands on the wheel, accelerating smoothly and gradually, checking your mirror frequently, signaling appropriately and effectively and much more.
What are some common mistakes drivers make on the GA Driving Exam that I should avoid?
You should avoid causing an accident, refusing to listen to the examiner, tailgating other vehicles, cutting in front of other cars abruptly and other bad driving habits that endanger yourself, your examiner or other drivers.
Am I allowed to wear contacts or glasses?
Yes. You should whichever corrective lens you wear regularly and what you wore on your Vision Exam.
Who will be in the car with me during my GA Driving Exam?
Only you and your examiner are allowed in the vehicle during your GA Driving Exam?
Do I have to know how to parallel park?
Yes. You will have to parallel park on your GA Driving Exam.
What happens if I fail my GA Driving Exam?
If you fail, you will be able to retake your GA Driving Exam. The waiting time in between your retakes increases depending on how many times you have failed before. If you have failed the test once, you will be able to take retake the test as soon as the next day. If you fail a second time, you have to wait 7 days. If you fail a third time, you have to wait 30 days. Don't rush retaking your exam if you have failed. Pay attention to what you did wrong on your GA Driving Exam and spend significant time improving your driving skills before you retake the test.
After You Have Passed Your GA Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my GA Driving Exam?
After you have passed you will pay the license fee of $20 for 5 years or $32 for 8 years. Then you will receive your license.
If I am under 18, are there any limitations on my GA Driver's License after I receive it initially?
Yes. If you are under 18, you are not allowed to drive between 12 AM and 6 AM. For the first 6 months, your immediate family members are the only persons allowed in the vehicle with you. After this period, you will only be allowed to have 1 non-family member, who is under 21, in the vehicle with you. After the first year, you will be able to have 3 non-family members, who are under 21, in the vehicle with you.
Do I need to get car insurance in GA?
Yes. You must have liability cover on your vehicle. You are not required to carry personal injury protect, but it's a good idea to carry it, if you can afford it.
What documents do I need to bring with me when I apply for GA car insurance?
Generally, you need to bring your driver's license and information about the vehicle you are insuring.
How much does GA insurance cost?
The average cost of car insurance in Georgia is $1500 a year approximately. However, the answer to this question varies depending on your age, gender, your driving record and your location.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers in GA?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident, insurance companies often charge more to cover them.
Renewing Your GA Driver's License
How do I renew my GA Driver's license?
You can renew your license in person at your local DDS office. You may renew your license online only if you have a Secure ID license.
Do I need to retake the vision test before I renew my GA license?
If your license is over 2 years old, you do have to take a vision test before you can renew. Otherwise, you do not have to take another vision test before you renew your GA license.
What If You're Moving To Georgia (Or Just Visiting)
Do I have to pass the GA road test when I move to GA from another state?
No. You do not have to pass the GA road test as long as you possess a valid out-of-state driver's license. You will need to make an appointment a local DDS office to replace your previous driver's license with a Georgia license.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in GA?
Yes. GA will recognize valid out-of-state permits. However, you must remember to follow the traffic laws and regulations of your home state and the laws of Georgia.
How long can I drive in Georgia with my out-of-state license?
If you are a Georgia resident, you have to replace your previous license with a Georgia license within 30 days of your move. If you do not plan to become a resident of Georgia, then you may drive with your out-of-state license for as long as it is valid.
Am I allowed to drive in GA with my out-of-country license?
Typically, you are allowed to drive up to one year in Georgia with a valid out-of-country license. You don't need to apply for a GA license unless you plan to become a resident. If you do plan on becoming a resident, then you need to be at least 18 years old to apply for a GA license. You will need to pass the GA Knowledge Test, The Driving Exam and a Vision Test. You will need to prove proof of your residency and lawful presence in the United States. You can find more information about this process by visiting this website: http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/DLdata.aspx?con=1747371440&ty=dl.Question Category