Motorcycle written practice test
- Pass rate:80 %
- Attempts allowed:Unlimited
- Backwards navigation:
Potential Georgia motorcycle riders, in order to operate a two- or three-wheeled motorized vehicle with an engine size greater than 51 cc on public roads legally, must first be properly licensed. The initial step in getting a Class M license, which authorizes its holder to operate a motorcycle, is to provide the required documentation to prove identity, residence, social security number and citizenship status. Georgia DDS (Department of Driver Services) is responsible for issuing permits and licenses and for administering the Georgia DDS motorcycle test, which consists of three parts: a vision test, a written exam and a hands-on driving skills test.
Applicants seeking legal authorization to operate a motorcycle in Georgia must be at least 16 years old to apply for a learner's permit and 17 years old to obtain a Class M (motorcycle) license. Those under the age of 18 must provide a Certificate of Attendance to prove they are still in school or, alternatively, a high school graduation or GED certificate. Drivers under 18 must also provide written permission, by way of a signature on the application, of their parent or legal guardian. Parent/guardian may revoke this permission at any time, for any reason.
Learner's permits are not required in Georgia. Having a permit, however, allows a 16-year old to drive, with certain restrictions, giving him/her the opportunity to practice needed riding skills. Permits are valid for six months. To secure one, an applicant need only pass the vision test with a minimum of 20/60 visual acuity in one eye, with or without corrective lenses, and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees. The written exam has 25 multiple-choice questions, 20 of which must be answered correctly to pass.
Operating a motorcycle while holding a permit comes with certain restrictions. Permitted riders are not allowed to operate their motorcycle on any limited access highways or freeways, to carry passengers or to drive during non-daylight hours. Anyone under the age of 18 must always, under Georgia State law, wear a state-approved protective motorcycle helmet, regardless of whether they are the operator or the passenger on a moving motorcycle.
The Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program consists of two courses offered by DDS, open to applicants 16 years or older. The basic course includes eight hours of classroom training and seven hours of hands-on road training for motorcyclists. Successful completion of the basic course entitles those applying for a Georgia State Class M license to waive the written exam, if that test hasn't already been completed to obtain a learner's permit. A certificate of completion from the GMSP also permits the Class M license applicant to waive the final portion of the Georgia DDS motorcycle test, which is the practical, hands-on road test. This means GMSP graduates 17 years and older merely need to show their completion certificate for the course, take the vision test and pay the fees to become licensed.