To obtain an instruction permit in Hawaii, the following requirements must be met:
• You must be at least 15 and a half years old.
• You must provide written consent from your parent(s) or legal guardian unless you are married or have been given emancipated minor status by a court of law.
• You must provide acceptable identification at the Hawaii Department of Vehicles (DMV).
• Your must pass a written multiple-choice test about the rules of the road with at least an 80 percent score.
• You must pass a written exam showing that you can identify the road signs.
For applicants under the age of 18, this is the first step in the three-phase graduated licensing process. You must hold your learner’s permit for 180 days before being eligible to take the road test. The fee for obtaining a permit may be different in each county, but the general fee is around $10. All driver’s instructional permits are valid for a period of one year from the date issued. Permits can be renewed 30 days prior to and 90 days after the expiration date. If the permit has expired after 90 days, you will need to start the entire process over.