Iowa Written Driving Practice Test
- Pass rate:80 %
- Attempts allowed:Unlimited
- Backwards navigation:
Iowa teens seeking a permit must first pass the Iowa DOT permit test. As with any test, one has a stronger chance of passing if one puts in quality study time in which one focuses on the most pertinent information. Considering 70% of all teens fail their first attempt at their learner's permit test (according to eHow), the importance of proper study cannot be understated. Retaking the test is time consuming and costs money, and getting it out of the way as early as possible is always a great idea.
Familiarizing oneself with the Iowa Driver's Manual is a good way to begin preparing for the test. The manual, available as a PDF download, covers traffic signs and road rules. It is available in a variety of languages.
Practice tests and study sheets are great ways to prepare for the test as well. Unlike driver's manuals, which merely present all information about state driving laws, road rules, and traffic signs, practice tests simulate the actual format of the official Iowa DOT teen permit test. Being able to take a very similar test multiple times before taking the real test gives one a unique advantage absent from other forms of test prep.
The Iowa DOT permit test is computer based and consists of 25 questions, 20 of which must be answered correctly to achieve a passing grade of 80%. Road rules and traffic sign identification comprise the bulk of subject matter the test addresses.
Before applying for the permit, one should successfully complete an approved Driver Education Course. Providing one is at least 14, and also if one passes the knowledge, vision, and written portion (Iowa DOT permit test), one receives an Operator Instruction Permit. The permit is good for four years, with a 60-day grace period after one's birthday within the year of expiration.
With permit in hand, young drivers must complete (and log) 20 hours of supervised driving in the presence of a licensed adult 25 or older (with written permission from the driver's parents). Two of the 20 hours of driving must occur after sunset or before sunrise. One must not incur traffic violations or accidents for six months prior to any application for an intermediate license.
The number of passengers one can carry is restricted to the number of seat belts in the vehicle. Cell phone use is prohibited by law when driving, especially texting, which is punishable by a fine. The law states one must pull one's vehicle off the road and bring it to a full stop before commencing the use of any mobile handheld device. This law applies to both minors and adults, and only public safety officials and medical emergency response personnel are exempt.