Motorcycle written practice test
- Pass rate:80 %
- Attempts allowed:Unlimited
- Backwards navigation:
In Kansas, where the minimum age for an automobile learner's permit is only 14, requirements for operating a motorcycle are slightly more stringent. To obtain a learner's permit for a motorcycle, the law requires an individual to be at least 15 years old or to hold a valid driver's license. Since a 14-year must hold an automobile learner's permit for 12 months before being eligible to receive a driver's license, these two requirements actually amount to the same thing, making 15 the minimum age to get a motorcycle permit. Applicants under the age of 18 must have proof of parental consent.
The first step to getting a motorcycle license in Kansas is to apply for and receive a learner's permit. To accomplish this, the applicant must pass a standard vision test and then take the written Kansas DMV motorcycle test consisting of 25 multiple-choice questions, 20 of which must be answered correctly in order to earn a passing grade. The written test questions are taken directly out of the State's Official Motorcycle Operator Manual and deal with motor vehicle laws, traffic sign knowledge, general safe driving and questions specific to motorcycle riding. Those failing the written exam are permitted to take it again on the following day.
Once the permit has been obtained, one must wait a minimum of six months before pursuing the final step of the Kansas DMV motorcycle test, which is the hands-on practical road test, also known as the skill test. While practicing during this six-month period, permitted riders must operate their machines while in the presence of a duly licensed motorcycle rider who will be able to observe. Since an individual riding under a permit is not allowed to carry passengers, this licensed observer must be on a bike of his or her own.
In addition, before the time comes to take the final part of the Kansas DMV motorcycle test to demonstrate one's riding skill level, the applicant must enroll and successfully complete a motorcycle driver's education course. It may seem redundant, since a driver's education program is required, but those who provide their certificate of completion to the DMV will be allowed to waive the skills test altogether, and simply convert their permit into a Class M motorcycle license after the six-month waiting period.
In addition to the restriction forbidding riders operating with a learner's permit to carry any passengers, they are also restricted as to when and where they may travel on their bikes. Riding during hours of darkness is not allowed under any circumstances, meaning no traveling after sunset or before sunrise. Also, traveling on any highway or freeway is not permitted.
Kansas law requires all motorcycle operators and passengers under 18 to wear a state-approved safety helmet at all times when on a moving vehicle. Regardless of age, all passengers and operators must wear approved protective eyewear unless the motorcycle is fitted with a windshield or windscreen.