Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Michigan SOS New to State Practice Test

Overview

Michigan Written Driving Practice Test

Quiz Settings
  • Questions:
    20
  • Pass rate:
    80 %
  • Attempts allowed:
    Unlimited
  • Backwards navigation:
6 Votes

Michigan SOS New To State Drivers

Relocating to a new state can be confusing, considering every state in the country has its’ own set of laws. This especially pertains to continuing your driving privilege.Being prepared for what you need to obtain a driver’s license in Michigan will save you time and frustration after waiting in a long line at a licensing office. Below is the information you should know before seeking your Michigan SOS new to state drivers license.

Residency/When To Get A Michigan Drivers License

The great state of Michigan requires every driver of a motor vehicle on public roads to be licensed through the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS). All new to state drivers must acquire a Michigan SOS new to state drivers license immediately after establishing residency in Michigan.

Documentation Needed

To obtain a Michigan SOS new to state drivers license, you will need to present the proper documents, proving identification. Every applicant is required to provide a social security number. Due to Michigan’s strict identification laws, be sure to bring your current driver’s license from another state, accompanied by one of the following:

  • Original or certified United States birth certificate
  • Valid United States passport
  • Certificate of Naturalization

Test requirements

Any resident of Michigan, applying for a driver’s license for the first time, will have to pass a written test of general driving safety and knowledge, and a vision test. The written driving test consists of 40 questions, of which a minimum of 32 (80%) must be answered correctly. You may retake the test again after 1 day, if needed, to pass. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/40 combined vision with, or without, corrective lenses. Applicants who are new to state, and hold a valid driver’s license from another state, generally do not have to take the written test.

Other information

To recap, the following is a checklist to follow when seeking your Michigan SOS new to state drivers license:

  • Complete the Driver License Application
  • Study for the written knowledge test
  • Provide the required documents
  • Take and pass the vision screening test
  • Take, and pass, a written knowledge test (if applicable)
  • Pay the appropriate fees: $25.00
  • Relinquish your out-of-state driver license
  • Obtain your Michigan driver license