Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

New Mexico MVD New to State Practice Test

Overview

New Mexico Written Driving Practice Test

Quiz Settings
  • Questions:
    20
  • Pass rate:
    80 %
  • Attempts allowed:
    Unlimited
  • Backwards navigation:
16 Votes

New Mexico MVD New To State Drivers

Relocating to a new state can be confusing, considering every state in the country has its’ own set of laws. This especially pertains to continuing your driving privilege.Being prepared for what you need to obtain a driver’s license in New Mexico will save you time and frustration after waiting in a long line at a licensing office. Below is the information you should know before seeking your New Mexico MVD new to state drivers license.

Residency/When To Get A New Mexico Drivers License

The great state of New Mexico requires every driver of a motor vehicle to be licensed through the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). All new to state drivers must acquire a New Mexico MVD new to state drivers license immediately upon establishing residency in New Mexico.

Documentation Needed

To obtain a New Mexico MVD new to state drivers license, you will need to present the proper documents, proving identification. Every applicant is required to provide a social security number. Due to New Mexico’s strict identification laws, be sure to bring your current driver’s license from another state, accompanied by one of the following:

  • Original or certified United States birth certificate
  • Valid United States passport
  • Certificate of Naturalization

Test requirements

Any resident of New Mexico, applying for a driver’s license for the first time, will have to pass a written test of general driving safety and knowledge, and a vision test. The written driving test consists of 25 questions, of which a minimum of 18 (72%) must be answered correctly. You may retake the test again after 1 day, if needed, to pass. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/40 combined vision with, or without, corrective lenses. Drivers age 18-24 must also complete a ‘None for the Road’ alcohol awareness class. Applicants who are new to state, and hold a valid driver’s license from another state, do not have to take the written test.

Other information

To recap, the following is a checklist to follow when seeking your New Mexico MVD new to state drivers license:

  • Complete the Driver License Application
  • Study for the written knowledge test
  • Provide the required documents
  • Take and pass the vision screening test
  • Take, and pass, a written knowledge test (if applicable)
  • Pay the appropriate fees: 4-year = $18.00, 8-year = $34.00.
  • Relinquish your out-of-state driver license
  • Obtain your New Mexico driver license