Oregon DMV New To State Drivers
Relocating to a new state can be confusing, considering every state in the country has its’ own set of laws. This especially pertains to continuing your driving privilege.Being prepared for what you need to obtain a driver’s license in Oregon will save you time and frustration after waiting in a long line at a licensing office. Below is the information you should know before seeking your Oregon DMV new to state drivers license.
Residency/When To Get An Oregon Drivers License
The great state of Oregon requires every driver of a motor vehicle to be licensed through the Oregon Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). All new to state drivers must acquire an Oregon DMV new to state drivers license within 30 days of establishing residency in Oregon.
To obtain an Oregon DMV new to state drivers license, you will need to present the proper documents, proving identification. Every applicant is required to provide a social security number. Due to Oregon’s strict identification laws, be sure to bring your current driver’s license from another state, accompanied by one of the following:
Original or certified United States birth certificate
Valid United States passport
Certificate of Naturalization
Any resident of Oregon, applying for a driver’s license for the first time, will have to pass a written test of general driving safety and knowledge, and a vision test. The written driving test consists of 35 questions, of which a minimum of 28 (80%) must be answered correctly. You may retake the test again after 1 day, if needed, to pass. If you fail a fourth test, you must wait 28 days before taking it a fifth time. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/40 combined vision with, or without, corrective lenses.
To recap, the following is a checklist to follow when seeking your Oregon DMV new to state drivers license: