Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Oregon Permit Practice Tests

Rated best Oregon Permit Practice Test by thousands of Oregon teens. Try this FREE DMV Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your OR Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Oregon DMV Drivers handbook can be found below. This is the...
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Oregon DMV Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the Oregon DMV Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE Permit...
Take our FREE OR Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter
Are you prepared for your DMV Permit Test? Take our FREE OR Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DMV Permit Test? Our OR Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your Oregon Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice...
Get the OR Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your OR License
  • Preparing For Your OR Permit Test
  • Taking Your OR Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your OR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your OR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed The OR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your OR Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To OR (Or Just Visiting)
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your OR License
When am I eligible to apply for my OR license?
In OR, the minimum age requirement to begin the licensing process is 15 years old.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my OR license?
When you apply for your OR Driver's License, you need to submit documents that prove your full legal name, your residency in the state of Oregon (i.e. your address), your lawful residence in the US and your Social Security Number. If you are under 18, you will also need demonstrate proof of your enrollment in school.
Where should I go to apply for my OR license?
You are able to apply at any local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/offices/index.aspx
Is it possible to contact my nearest DMV office?
Absolutely. You can call your DMV office or visit in person. You can find a list of available locations by visiting this website: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/offices/index.aspx
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my OR Permit Test if I am under 18?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your OR Permit Test as they will need to sign your application.
Do I need to my eyes checked before I can obtain a OR Driver's license?
Yes. You do have to complete a vision test in order to get your OR license.
Where do I take my OR Driver's License photo?
You must take your OR Driver's license photo at the DMV office.
Preparing For Your OR Permit Test
What should I use to study for my OR Permit Test?
The best way to study for the OR Permit Test is to read the entire Oregon Driver's Manual. Additionally, you can find quiz questions on our website that can act as a supplement to the OR Driver's Manual.
Do I have to enroll into a Driver's Ed. Class if I am under 18?
If you are under 18, you are required to either attend and complete a traffic safety course, where you can achieve 50 hours of supervised driving practice or you can complete 100 hours of supervised driving practice that is supervised by your licensed parent or guardian.
Where can I find a copy of the OR Driver's Manual?
You can find a copy of the OR Driver's Manual by visiting your local OR DMV office or by visiting the OR DMV website and downloading a PDF version: http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/37.pdf
Are there any chapters of the OR Driver's Manual that I can skip?
To have the best chance of passing your OR Permit Test, you should read the entire Manual. The Permit Test will test your knowledge of traffic safety laws, traffic signs, signaling devices and much more topics that are covered in the OR Driver's Manual.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the OR Permit Test to pass?
The OR Permit Test consists of 35 multiple choice questions. You will need to answer 28 of those 35 questions correctly in order to pass.
Where can I go to take my OR Permit Test?
You will need to take your OR Permit Test at a local DMV office. Visit this website for a list of available locations near you: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/offices/index.aspx
Is there anything I should do the night before my OR Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying, the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website. Get a good night's rest as well.
How much does an OR Permit cost?
An OR permit cost $23.50.
What should I do when I am ready to take my OR Permit Test?
Once you have studied thoroughly for your OR Permit Test, you should gather the necessary documents (your proof of identity, proof of your residency in the state of Oregon, proof of your legal residence in the US, your Social Security Number and proof of your enrollment in school if you are under 18), the $23.50 and visit your local DMV office to take your exam.
Taking Your OR Permit Test
At what age am I eligible to take the OR Permit Test?
In OR, the minimum age requirement to begin the licensing process is 15 years old.
What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my OR Permit Test?
When you apply for your OR Driver's License, you need to submit documents that prove your full legal name, your residency in the state of Oregon (i.e. your address), your lawful residence in the US and your Social Security Number. If you are under 18, you will also need demonstrate proof of your enrollment in school.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my OR Permit Test?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your OR Permit Test as they will need to sign your application.
What do I need to know to pass my OR Permit Test?
To give yourself the best chance of passing your OR Permit Test you should study all chapters and sections of the OR Driver's Manual. The exam will test your knowledge of speed limits, pavement markings, highway signs, defensive driving, roundabouts, intersections and many more basic rules of the road.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the OR Permit Test to pass?
The OR Permit Test consists of 35 multiple choice questions. You will need to answer 28 of those 35 questions correctly in order to pass.
Is the OR Permit Test open book?
No. You are not allowed to use your OR Driver's Manual or any other study materials while you take your OR Permit Test.
Do I have to take a drug test to be able to take my OR Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take or pass a drug test to be able to apply or receive an OR Driver's License.
What happens if I fail my OR Permit Test?
There are a few reasons, test takers fail their OR Permit Test. A test taker who fails may not have studied thoroughly. Or he or she may have been nervous, anxious and/or distracted on the day of the test. If you fail your OR Permit Test, you will not receive your OR Learner's Permit, and you will need to retake the exam. You are able to do so as early as the next business day, but do not rush retaking the exam. Take your time before you retake. Read the entire OR Driver's Manual again and answer test questions on our website so that the next time you take the exam you have the best chance of passing the OR Permit Test.
What happens after I pass my OR Permit Test?
After you pass your OR Permit Test, you will receive your learner's permit. If you are over 18, you will be able to apply for your license as soon as you area ready. If you are under 18, however, you will need to maintain your permit for at least 6 months before you will be able to apply. During this time, you will also need to complete either 50 or 100 hours of supervised training, depending on whether you complete those hours through a school or with your parent/legal guardian.
Preparing For Your OR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
How should I practice driving for my OR Driving Exam?
You should practice and develop a number of safe driving skills. You should feel comfortable accelerating smoothly and gradually, passing through intersections safely, changing lanes effectively, coming to a complete stop at stop signs and traffic signals, parking and parallel parking, maintaining the speed limit, staying in the correct lane and more. Remember during your exam, your primary responsibility is to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to drive safely and effectively.
Where can I practice driving for my OR Driving Exam?
Anywhere in Oregon as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older, whenever you are behind the wheel. You should begin practicing in familiar areas then progress to different areas that will test your driving knowledge and your adaptability to different driving situations.
Do I need to learn how to parallel park for my OR Driving Exam?
No. You will not be asked to parallel park on your OR Driving Exam, but you should consider learning how to parallel park because it is a useful driving skill.
How can I schedule my OR Road Test?
You can schedule your OR Driving Exam by visiting or contacting your local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/offices/alphalist.aspx
Where do I take my OR Driving Exam?
You will take your exam at your local DMV office. You should choose a DMV office near you that is easy to access.
What should I expect on my OR Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your OR Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road. Your examiner may want to see how you handle yourself at controlled and uncontrolled intersections, in regular road traffic and perhaps on the freeway so you should feel comfortable in these various situations.
Is there anything I should do the night before my OR Driving Exam?
The night before your OR Driving Exam, you should practice driving with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. You should make sure you get a good night's rest as well.
Do I need to supply my own car for my OR Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply a vehicle for your OR Driving Exam that is in good working condition. The vehicle should be properly registered and insured.
Taking Your OR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
Does anyone need to accompany me to my OR Driving Exam?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your OR Driving Exam. In most instances, they will need to verify that you have completed the necessary hours of behind-the-wheel training.
Are there any tips that I should follow to help me pass my OR Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your OR Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road.
Are there any common mistakes that I should avoid making?
You should avoid driving dangerously, driving too quickly, hitting other objects, forgetting to signal, rolling stops and parking incorrectly. Always maintain good posture and signal well in advance.
Am I allowed to wear my contacts or glasses?
If you wear contacts or glasses regularly to be able to see clearly, you should absolutely wear your corrective lenses during your exam.
Who is allowed to be in the car with me during my OR Driving Exam?
Only you and your examiner are allowed in the car during your OR Driving Exam.
What happens if I fail my OR Driving Exam?
If you fail your OR Driving Exam, you will not receive your license. You will be able to retake the exam, but the wait time in between the retakes varies depending on your age and how many times you have failed the exam. If you are 18 years old or older, your wait time is 7 days after you first attempt. If you fail a 2nd time, your wait time is 14 days. If you fail the exam five times you will need to wait a year before you can take retake the OR Driving Exam. If you are under 18, your wait time in between retakes is 28 days. If you fail a 5th time, you will need to wait one year.
After You Have Passed The OR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my OR Driving Exam?
After you pass your OR Driving Exam, you will receive a temporary OR license until yours arrives in the mail.
If I am under 18 will there be any limitations on my license?
Yes. There will be limitations on your license if you are under 18. During the initial six months after you have received your license, you will not be able to with a non-family member passenger who is under 20, and you will not be allowed to drive between the hours of 12 AM and 5 AM. After that first six, you will be allowed to have up to 3 non-family member passengers in the car with you, but you will still be unable to drive between 12 AM and 5 AM.
Do I need to get car insurance?
Yes. You must carry car insurance. At minimum your insurance should cover $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash and $20,000 for property damage.
What documents do I need to apply for OR car insurance?
The documents that you will need vary depending on the insurance company to which you apply. Generally, insurance companies want you to submit proof of your identity, your driving record and information about the vehicle you would like to insure.
How much does OR car insurance cost?
The price varies depending on your age, your driving history, your car class and other factors.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers in OR?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident, insurance companies often charge more to cover them.
Renewing Your OR Driver's License
How do I renew my OR Driver's license?
You must renew your OR Driver's License in person at your local DMV office. When you renew you will need to provide proof of your residency in the state of Oregon, your Social Security Number, proof of your identity, your lawful presence in the US and a $39 renewal fee.
Do I have to complete another vision test before I can renew my OR Driver's License?
No. You will not have to pass another eye exam when you renew your OR Driver's License.
What If You're Moving To OR (Or Just Visiting)
Do I have to pass the OR road test when I move to OR from another state?
You do not have to take the OR Driving Exam, but you will need to exchange your out-of-state license with a OR Driver's License.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in OR?
Yes. Oregon recognizes valid out-of-state Learner's Permits as long as you are 15 and your out-of-state permit is valid.
How long can I drive in OR with my out-of-state license?
As long as you do not become a OR resident, you are allowed to drive with a valid out-of-state license for as long as you like.Question Category