South Carolina Written Driving Practice Test
- Pass rate:80 %
- Attempts allowed:Unlimited
- Backwards navigation:
Relocating to a new state can be confusing, considering every state in the country has its’ own set of laws. This especially pertains to continuing your driving privilege.Being prepared for what you need to obtain a driver’s license in South Carolina will save you time and frustration after waiting in a long line at a licensing office. Below is the information you should know before seeking your South Carolina DMV new to state drivers license.
The great state of South Carolina requires every driver of a motor vehicle to be licensed through the South Carolina Department Motor Vehicles (DMV). All new to state drivers must acquire a South Carolina DMV new to state drivers license within 90 days of establishing residency in South Carolina.
To obtain a South Carolina DMV new to state drivers license, you will need to present the proper documents, proving identification. Every applicant is required to provide a social security number. Due to South Carolina’s strict identification laws, be sure to bring your current driver’s license from another state, accompanied by one of the following:
Any resident of South Carolina, applying for a driver’s license for the first time, will have to pass a written test of general driving safety and knowledge, and a vision test. The written driving test consists of 30 questions, of which a minimum of 24 (80%) must be answered correctly. You may retake the test again after 1 day, if needed, to pass. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/40 combined vision with, or without, corrective lenses.. Applicants who are new to state, and hold a valid driver’s license from another state, typically do not have to take the written test.
To recap, the following is a checklist to follow when seeking your South Carolina DMV new to state drivers license:
Obtain your South Carolina driver license