Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Texas Permit Practice Tests

Rated best Texas Permit Practice Test by thousands of Texas teens. Try this FREE DPS Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your TX Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Texas DPS Drivers handbook can be found below. This is the online...
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Texas DPS Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the Texas DPS Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE Permit...
Take our FREE TX Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Get the TX Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter
Are you prepared for your DPS Permit Test? Take our FREE TX Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DPS Permit Test? Our TX Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your Texas Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice test...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your TX License
  • Preparing For Your TX Permit Test
  • Taking Your TX Permit Test
  • Waiting To Take Your Road Test
  • Preparing For Your TX Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your TX Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed The TX Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your TX Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To Texas Or Just Visiting?
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your TX License
At what age can I apply for a TX license?
To apply for a learner's permit in TX, you must be at least 15 years old.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my TX license?
When you apply for your initial license, you will need to bring with you documents that verify your identity. You can find at least at this website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/Driver License/identificationrequirements.htm. You will also need documents that demonstrate your lawful U.S. citizenship, proof of your social security number, proof of your residence in TX and a completed driver's license application. If you under 18, you also need verification of school attendance and proof of a driver's education course or proof of parent-taught education. Adults between 18 and 24 will need proof of attending an adult driver's education course.
What do I need to do to become eligible for a learner's permit in TX?
To become eligible for a TX learner's permit, you need to first meet the age requirement of 15 years old. Additionally, you must be able to verify your identity using the appropriate documents. You should be able to demonstrate your lawful US citizenship and proof of your residence in TX. You will need to pass the written and vision tests. If you are under 18, you should be able to show proof that you have attended a driver's education course or proof of a parent-taught driver's education course. You also need to verify your school attendance. If you are between 18 and 24, you should demonstrate proof of attending an adult driver's education course.
Where should I go to apply for my TX license?
You should apply for your TX license at your local Texas DPS office. You can find a list of those locations at this website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/driver_licensing_control/rol....
Is there a way for me to contact a Texas DPS office?
Yes. You can contact a Texas DPS office at any time at this customer service number 512-424-2600. You can also visit a local office near you.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my TX permit test?
If you are under 18, your driver's license application needs to be signed by your parent or legal guardian so it is a good idea for them to accompany you. If your legal guardian is unable to accompany you, you should contact a DPS directly to see if there are other options available to you.
Do I need to get a physical to be able to apply for my license?
No. You do not have to take a physical in order to get a TX driver's license.
Do I have to complete a vision test before obtaining my TX license?
Yes. You have to complete a vision test. The DPS office will test your vision when you apply for your permit.
What happens after I apply for my TX driver's license?
After you've received your learner's permit, you must wait at least 6 months before you can schedule your driving exam. During this time, you must practice driving through a basic state approved program or through a state approved parent-taught course.
Preparing For Your TX Permit Test
Do I have to study for my TX permit test?
Yes. It's a very good idea to study for your permit test as this is the best way to ensure that you will pass. Though there are quite a few questions where you can use common sense, a few questions on the exam require more advanced knowledge.
Do I need to a complete a driver's education course to get my license in Texas?
You need to either enroll in a state approved program or take a parent-taught course. You must complete 32 hours of classroom instruction, 7 hours of in-car instruction and 20 hours of behind-the-wheel training, 10 of which must be completed at night.
Where can I find a TX Driver's Manual?
You can obtain a manual at your local DPS office or you can visit this website and download the manual: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/DriverLicense/documents/DL-7.pdf.
Do I have to read the whole TX Driver's Manual or can I skip a few chapters?
It's a good idea to read the entire manual. The permit test will cover the entire driver's manual. To be the most prepared for the exam and to give you the best chance of passing, you want to be familiar with the manual.
What kind of questions are on the TX permit test?
Questions on the TX permit test cover the entire TX Driver's Manual e.g. "What is the speed limit for urban areas? "or "What is carbon monoxide and how is it potentially harmful?"
What do I need to pass the TX permit test?
You must score at least 70% on your permit test in order to pass.
Where do I go to take my TX permit test?
You will take your permit test at your local DPS office. You can find a list of available locations at this website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/driver_licensing_control/rol...
Is there anything I should do on the night before my permit test?
The night before your permit test make sure you review your notes. Don't try to cram a ton of new information last minute. Also make sure you get a good night's rest.
Do people actually fail the TX permit test?
Yes. Approximately 3 out of 10 people fail the TX permit test on their first try.
How do I know if I'm ready to take the TX permit test?
Only you can know when you are ready to take the TX permit test. Before the test, make sure you're familiar with all of these topics: common risks and dangers on the road, responding to accidents, driving in various districts, right of way rules and DUI laws.
Taking Your TX Permit Test
Where should I go to sign up for my TX permit test?
You can sign up for your TX permit test at your local DMV office. You can find the nearest location at this website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/driver_licensing_control/rol....
What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my TX permit test?
You should bring proof of your identity and citizenship, your Social Security Number, proof you have attended a driver's education course, proof of your enrollment in school and your parent or legal guardian's signature on your driver's license application.
How much does the TX permit test cost?
A Texas Learner's Permit cost $16.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my TX permit test?
If you are under 18, your driver's license application needs to be signed by your parent or legal guardian so it is a good idea for them to accompany you. If your legal guardian is unable to accompany you, you should contact a DPS directly and as soon as possible to see if there are other options available to you.
What do I need to know in order to pass my TX permit test?
It's a good idea to be familiar with all sections of the TX Driver's Manual. You should be familiar with car liability insurance, accident protocols, lane changes, road signs, signals and markings, pedestrian laws, speed limits and much more.
How many questions are on the TX permit test?
There are 25 multiple choice questions on the permit test. The test is computerized, and you will need to get 70% of those questions correct in order to pass.
Do I find out if I passed immediately?
Yes. You will find out your score once you complete the exam. You need to get at least 70% of the answers correct in order to pass.
Is the permit test open book?
No. You are not allowed to bring the Texas Driver's Manual or any other supplementary study materials into the exam with you.
Do I have to take a drug test before I get my permit?
In Texas you do not have to submit to a drug test before getting your permit.
What happens if I fail my TX permit test?
If you fail your permit test, you won't be given a permit. You are able to take the test at least three times before you have restart your application. This means you will have to pass the vision test, submit another $16 fee and resumbit all your application materials.
When am I able to retake my permit test if I fail?
If you fail the permit test, you will be able to retake the permit test the next day and onward. But don't rush it. You should retake the test when you feel confident that you can do well.
Waiting To Take Your Road Test
What happens after I obtain my permit?
After you've received your learner's permit, you must wait at least 6 months before you can schedule your driving exam. During this time, you must practice driving through a basic state approved program or through a state approved parent-taught course.
If I only have my TX permit can I have passengers in the car with me?
When you first receive your permit, you are only allowed to have a licensed driver, who is at least 21 years old, in the car with you.
What restrictions, if any, are there on my TX Learner's Permit?
You can't drive alone. When you are driving, a driver who is 21 years old, should always be in the car with you.
Preparing For Your TX Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What driving skills should I develop when preparing for my TX road test?
You should feel confident conducting basic safety checks, performing smooth lane changes, starting and stopping your vehicle smoothly and sharing the road with other vehicles.
Where can I find more information about Texas driving schools?
If you choose not to or are unable to learn through a parent-taught course, there are many driving schools available to you. You can find a list of driving schools at this website: http://driversed.com/driving-schools/tx-driving-school-list.aspx.
What do I need to bring with me when I take my TX Driving Exam?
You will need to bring with you to your driving exam your learner's permit, a registered and insured vehicle, your parent or a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older. If you are at a location that requires appointment slips, you should bring yours with you as well.
What do I have to do on the TX Driving Exam?
On the TX Driving Exam, you must demonstrate your ability to drive safely and effectively. You will need to demonstrate parts of your vehicle to the examiner. Also, you will need to prove your ability to parallel park.
Is there anything in particular I should do the night before my TX road test?
The night before your road test, you should practice the DPS testing route with a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older. Also, make sure you get a good night's rest.
At what location can I take my TX Driving Exam?
You should complete your TX Driving Exam at a DPS office near you. Some locations require you schedule an appointment beforehand. You can find a list of locations at this website: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/administration/driver_licensing_control/rol....
Do I need to supply a vehicle for my TX Driving Exam?
Yes. You have to bring your own car with you. You must able to provide proof of registration and insurance. You should also ensure the vehicle is in good working condition.
Taking Your TX Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
Who do I need to bring with me when I take my TX Driving Exam if I am under 18?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you. There are exceptions to this rule, which you must verify with your local DPS office.
How long is the TX Driving Exam?
The test usually takes 15 to 20 minutes.
What tips should I follow for my TX Driving Exam?
Remember to pay attention to oncoming traffic. Stay within the speed limit and leave a safe distance between yourself and other cars. Check your mirrors regularly. Always come to a complete stop and keep both hands on your steering wheel at all times.
Is there anything I should expect for my TX Driving Exam?
You should expected to be tested on your ability to drive safely and effectively. You should be able to make a quick stop, observe intersections, pass other vehicles safely and use the appropriate lanes.
During the actual Driving Exam who is allowed to be in the car with me?
You and your examiner are the only people allowed in your vehicle during the driving exam. No one else will be permitted.
What happens if I fail the TX road test?
If you fail your road test, your examiner will tell you why you failed. You should take into account how he/she suggest you improve. You will be able to take the exam three times before you must restart the application process. This means resubmitting the forms and applications and paying the cost of the tests again.
How much does a TX Driving Exam cost?
The Driving Exam costs $11.
How much does a TX Driver's license cost?
If you are between 15 and 18, the cost is $16. If you are between 18 and 85, the cost is $25. Individuals over the age of 85 must pay $9 for a Texas Driver's license.
After You Have Passed The TX Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my TX Driving Exam?
After you have passed your TX Driving Exam, you will be issued a temporary license until the official one arrives in the mail.
Are there are restrictions on my initial TX Driving License if I am under 18?
Yes. If you are under 18, you cannot drive with more than one passenger who is under 21 unless those passengers are your family members. You are not allowed to drive between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless you are going to work or school during that time. You are also allowed to between those hours during an emergency situation.
Do I need to have car insurance?
Yes. You must have at least liability coverage, which ensure that if you are involved in an accident, you can take of your financial responsibilities.
What is the average cost of car insurance in Texas?
The cost of your car insurance will vary depending on your age, credit history, driving history and your gender. You can visit this website to find out more information that can help you find the appropriate car insurance for you: https://apps.tdi.state.tx.us/helpinspublic/Start.do?type=auto.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident, insurance companies often charge more to cover them.
Renewing Your TX Driver's License
How can I renew my TX Driver's license if I am older than 18?
If you are older than 18, you can renew your license online, by phone (1-866-DL RENEW), by mail (only if you've received an invitation) or in person at a Texas Driver License office.
How can I renew my TX Driver's license if I am under 18?
If you are under 18, you must renew your license in person.
Do I need to retake the vision test when I renew my TX Driver's license?
If you had to renew your license in person, you must retake the vision test before you can renew your license successfully.
What If You're Moving To Texas Or Just Visiting?
When I move to Texas from another state, do I have to pass the TX road test?
If you are under 18, you will have to pass the TX road test.
After moving to Texas, how many days do I have to get a Texas license?
After you become a TX resident you have ninety days to obtain a TX license.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in Texas?
Yes. You can drive in TX with your out-of-state learner's permit as long as a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older, accompanies you.
If I'm not a Texas resident do I need to have a Texas Driver's license to drive in Texas?
No. It's okay to drive in TX with a valid out-of-state Driver's license as long as you are not a resident.
Can I drive in Texas with my out-of-country license?
If you possess a valid Driver's license from another country, you are allowed to use it for one year after entering the United States. After that one year, you must obtain a Texas Driver's license, if still applicable.Question Category