Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Utah DLD Teen Permit Practice Test

Overview

Utah Written Driving Practice Test

Quiz Settings
  • Questions:
    20
  • Pass rate:
    80 %
  • Attempts allowed:
    Unlimited
  • Backwards navigation:
17 Votes

The Utah DPS Permit Test: The First Step

For many people, a driver’s license represents freedom and independence. Earning a learner’s permit is the first step towards attaining that goal, and the only way to get a learner’s permit is

to pass the Utah DPS teen permit test. In the state of Utah, any unlicensed applicant must earn a learner’s permit so that they can complete a driver education course and obtain a Utah Driver’s License.

In addition, there are guidelines established for applicants 17 years of age or younger, and those who are approximately 18 years old at the time of application.

  • If an applicant is 17 years of age or younger when they apply for their learner permit, they must hold the learner permit for six months before applying for a driver license.
  • However, if the applicant turns 18 during the holding period, they may apply for their driver license upon turning 18.
  • The six-month learner permit holding requirement does not apply to an applicant who is age 18 or older at the time of application for the learner permit.

he division, upon receiving an application for a learner permit, may issue a learner permit effective for one year to an applicant who:

  • is at least 15 years of age;
  • has passed the Utah DPS permit test required by the division. You must answer 20 out of 25 questions correctly. You are entitled to three attempts in one year to pass the test. After that, you must pay an additional fee.
  • has passed the medical and eye exam;
  • parent/legal guardian has signed for financial responsibility; and
  • has submitted a nonrefundable fee of $15.00 for a learner permit.

The learner permit entitles an applicant that is younger than 18 years of age to operate a regular Class D motor vehicle only if:

  • an approved driving instructor occupies the seat beside the applicant;
  • the applicant's parent or legal guardian, who must be a licensed driver, is occupying a seat beside the applicant; or
  • the responsible adult who has signed for financial responsibility, who must be a licensed driver; is occupying a seat beside the applicant;
  • allows for other passengers in the vehicle; and
  • the learner permit must be in the applicant's immediate possession.

The learner permit entitles an applicant that is 18 years of age or older to operate a regular Class D motor vehicle only if:

  • a person 21 years of age or older, who must be a licensed driver, occupies the seat beside the applicant; and
  • the learner permit must be in the applicant's immediate possession.

The Utah DPS permit test—the first step to your new life!