The Alaska provisional license restrictions are applicable for drivers who are age 16 and older. These restrictions will remain in effect for at least six months and include the following:
Passenger Restrictions—You are prohibited from carrying any passenger in the motor vehicle under the age of 21 unless they are one of your siblings; i.e. brother or sister.
Hours of Operations—You are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 1:00 am and 5:00 am. The following exceptions apply to this rule:
• You are accompanied by an individual who is at least 21 years old and holds a valid license to drive the type or class of motor vehicle being driven.
• You are driving to or from your place of work or within the scope of employment. All driving must be conducted along the most direct route possible.
• You are driving to or from a school-sponsored event.
• You are driving to or from a religious event.
• You are driving due to a medical, fire or law enforcement related emergency.
If you violate any of the above restrictions, you will be required to pay a penalty of $200. In addition, a two-point violation will appear on your driving record. Once the person reaches the age of 18, the above restrictions are no longer applicable. Anyone who is 18 years and older will be required to obtain a regular Alaska driver’s license.