Alabama DPS Practice Tests

A driver's license is a privilege, not a right. Earn that privilege with our practice tests and driver's manual. Get your driver's license in no time with the Alabama permit practice test and the Alabama driver's license renewal practice test.

Your Alabama DPS Practice Tests

We've arranged several AL DPS practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Alabama DPS Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Alabama drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Alabama drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Alabama Driver’s License Resources

Once you have your Alabama driver’s license, the number one priority is to get on the roads quickly. However, you need to show that you can navigate the roads safely, and you do that by passing the exams and getting the license. To help you do that, we've arranged a list of resources for you to consider. These resources should help you to pass the necessary exams and to understand what’s expected of you when you have your Alabama driver’s license.

Teen Permit Test

The Alabama teen permit test is a permit practice test modeled after the actual permit test. It’s an excellent preparation tool for anyone learning to drive for the first time.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

The Alabama driver’s license test is a practice test for those who need to renew their license, but failed need to retake the test for whatever reason. Since you have a limited number of chances to pass the test, or you must wait a significant amount of time between each retake, it’s important to utilize preparation tools like this one.

New to State Driver’s License Test

The Alabama new-to-state driver’s license test is a practice test for those who are applying for an Alabama driver’s license and need to take the driver’s license test. Driving laws differ from state to state, so knowing those differences is important before getting on the road.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

The Alabama driving manual is a must-have for anyone needing to take any type of driving test or exam. Click the link to view the manual or to download it for free to help you prepare.

Road Signs Practice Test

The Alabama road signs practice test is a great supplementary practice test to help you learn the road signs. All drivers’ license tests include at least one road sign question, and some states even have an entirely separate test for road signs, so skipping this practice isn’t an option.

Alabama Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

17 Tips and Tricks for Driving in Severe Weather

Why Highway Driving Practice is Important

Is Your Vehicle Ready for the DMV Road Test?

Alabama DPS Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 17 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months.

Do I have to Take the written test when Renewing?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it has been expired for more than 3 years.

h3>If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

If you hold a valid driver's license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 1 year, then you are not required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver's examination.

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, anyone who has a driver's license that has been expired for more than 3 years is required to re-pass both test in order to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 30 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 24 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You are permitted to take the written test twice per business day.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the test.

Alabama DPS Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

You must be at least 16 years of age in order to apply for a motorcycle license. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

You cannot drive on highways, drive during hours of darkness, or carry any passengers.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle driving test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

You can apply for a motorcycle learner's permit if you are at least 14 years old, which will carry a ?B? restriction limiting the driver to operation of motor-drive cycles only.

What are the helmet laws in Alabama?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.

Alabama Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Boaters in Alabama are required to be licensed and must pass a written test administered by the Alabama Department of Public Safety driver's licensing office in their county of residence in order to receive a boating license.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters born after April 28, 1954 who are of legal age must be licensed in order to operate a boat or other watercraft on Alabama waterways. The minimum age to receive a boating license is 12, but boaters under 14 must be accompanied and directly supervised by a licensed boat operator who is at least 21 years old. Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by either Boat-Ed.com or BoaterExam.com.

You do not have to take the written test if you meet one of the following requirements:
1. Were born prior to April 28 1954 and present proof of age exemption
2. Hold a valid US Coast Guard motorboat operator's license
3. Have a certificate of completion from one of the following courses:

  • US Power Squadron Boating Course
  • US Coast Guard Auxiliary Boating Course
  • Alabama Marine Police ?Boat Alabama' classroom course.

  • 4. Complete a state-approved online boating course from:
  • Boat-Ed.com
  • BoaterExam.com
  • How many questions are on the test?

    The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

    How many must you get correct to pass?

    You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) on the online test correctly in order to pass.