Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Arkansas Permit Practice Tests

Rated best Arkansas Permit Practice Test by thousands of Arkansas teens. Try this FREE DFA Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your AR Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Arkansas DFA Drivers handbook can be found below....
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Arkansas DFA Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the Arkansas DFA Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE Permit...
Take our FREE AR Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Get the AR Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter
Are you prepared for your DFA Permit Test? Take our FREE AR Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DFA Permit Test? Our AR Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your Arkansas Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your Arkansas Driver's License
  • Preparing For Your AR Permit Test
  • Taking Your AR Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your AR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your AR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed The AR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your AR Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To AR Or Just Visiting
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your Arkansas Driver's License
When am I eligible to apply for my AR Learner's Permit?
In AR, the minimum age requirement is 14 years old.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my AR Driver's License?
When you apply for your AR Driver's License, you will need to bring proof of your age and identity, proof of your lawful presence in the United States, and proof of your Social Security Number. If you are under 18, you will need to submit proof of your enrollment in school and your GPA.
Where should I go to apply for my AR license?
You are able to apply at an Arkansas State Police station. You can find a list of available locations by visiting this website: http://asp.ark.org/services-and-programs/detail/driver-examination
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my AR Permit Test if I am under 18?
If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian should accompany you.
Do I need to my eyes checked before I can obtain a AR Driver's license?
Yes. You do have to complete a vision test in order to get your AR license.
Where do I take my AR Driver's License photo?
You must take your AR Driver's license photo at the driver license office. When you take your photo, you should make sure that you wear what you would wear normally. It's extremely important that your face is clearly shown and recognizable. Look straight at the camera and do not smile, as a resting face is easier to identify.
Preparing For Your AR Permit Test
What should I use to study for my AR Permit Test?
The best way to study for the AR Permit Test is to read the entire Arkansas Driver's Manual. Additionally, you can find quiz questions on our website [link] that can act as a supplement to the AR Driver's Manual.
Where can I find a copy of the AR Driver's Manual?
You can find and download a copy of the AR Driver's Manual by visiting this website: https://static.ark.org/eeuploads/asp/dl_study_guide_vol_1_edition_
Are there any chapters of the AR Driver's Manual that I can skip?
To have the best chance of passing your AR Permit Test, you should read the entire Manual.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the AR Permit Test to pass?
The AR Permit Test consists of 25 multiple choice questions. You will need to answer 20 of those 25 questions correctly in order to pass.
Where can I go to take my AR Permit Test?
You will need to take your AR Permit Test at a local driver license office.
Is there anything I should do the night before my AR Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying, the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website [link]. Get a good night's rest as well.
What should I do when I am ready to take my AR Permit Test?
Once you have studied thoroughly for your AR Permit Test, you should gather the necessary documents and visit your local driver license office to take your exam.
Taking Your AR Permit Test
At what age am I eligible to take the AR Permit Test?
In AR, the minimum age requirement is 14 years old.
What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my AR Permit Test?
On the day of your AR Permit Test, you will need to bring proof of your age and identity, proof of your lawful presence in the United States, and proof of your Social Security Number. If you are under 18, you will need to submit proof of your enrollment in school and your GPA.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my AR Permit Test?
If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian should accompany you.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the AR Permit Test to pass?
The AR Permit Test consists of 25 multiple choice questions. You will need to answer 20 of those 25 questions correctly in order to pass.
Is the AR Permit Test open book?
No. You are not allowed to use your AR Driver's Manual or any other study material while you take your AR Permit Test.
Do I have to take a drug test to be able to take my AR Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take or pass a drug test to be able to apply or receive an AR Driver's License.
What happens if I fail my AR Permit Test?
There are a few reasons, test takers fail their AR Permit Test. A test taker who fails may not have studied thoroughly. Or he or she may have been nervous, anxious and/or distracted on the day of the test. If you fail your AR Permit Test, you will not receive your AR Learner's Permit, and you will need to retake the exam. You are able to do so as early as the next business day however, do not rush retaking the exam. Take your time. Read the entire AR Driver's Manual again and answer test questions on our website [link] so that the next time you take the AR Permit Test you have the best chance of passing.
What happens after I pass my AR Permit Test?
If you pass your AR Permit Test, you will receive your AR Learner's Permit. You will need to maintain your AR Learner's Permit for 6 months before you can take your AR Driving Exam.
Preparing For Your AR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
How should I practice driving for my AR Driving Exam?
You should practice and develop a number of safe driving skills. You should feel comfortable accelerating smoothly and gradually, passing through intersections safely, changing lanes effectively, coming to a complete stop at stop signs and traffic signals, sharing the road with other drives, maintaining the speed limit, staying in the correct lane and more. Remember during your exam, your primary responsibility is to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to drive safely and effectively.
Where can I practice driving for my AR Driving Exam?
Anywhere in Arkansas as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older, whenever you are behind the wheel. You should begin practicing in familiar areas then progress to different areas that will test your driving knowledge and your adaptability to different driving situations.
Do I need to learn how to parallel park for my AR Driving Exam?
Yes. You will need to learn how to parallel park for your AR Driving Exam.
How much does a AR Driver's License cost?
An AR Driver's License cost $20.
Where do I take my AR Driving Exam?
You will take your exam at a local Arkansas State Police station. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://asp.ark.org/services-and-programs/detail/driver-examination
What should I expect on my AR Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your AR Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road.
Is there anything I should do the night before my AR Driving Exam?
The night before your AR Driving Exam, you should practice driving with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. You should make sure you get a good night's rest as well.
Do I need to supply my own car for my AR Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply a vehicle for your AR Driving Exam that is in good working condition. The vehicle should be properly registered and insured.
Taking Your AR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
Does anyone need to accompany me to my AR Driving Exam?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you.
Are there any tips that I should follow to help me pass my AR Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your AR Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road.
Are there any common mistakes that I should avoid making?
You should avoid driving dangerously, driving too quickly, hitting other objects, forgetting to signal, rolling stops and parking incorrectly. Always maintain good posture and signal well in advance.
Am I allowed to wear my contacts or glasses?
If you wear contacts or glasses regularly to be able to see clearly, you should absolutely wear your corrective lenses during your exam.
Who is allowed to be in the car with me during my AR Driving Exam?
During your AR Driving Exam, the only other person allowed in the vehicle, besides yourself, is your examiner.
What happens if I fail my AR Driving Exam?
If you fail the AR Driving Exam, you will not receive your AR Driver's License. You will be able to retake the exam, date depending on what your examiner determines. You should not rush retaking it after you have failed. You should pay attention to what your examiner indicates as your weaknesses, and you should work upon improving your driving skills.
After You Have Passed The AR Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my AR Driving Exam?
After you pass your AR Driving Exam, visit your local Office of Driver Services to receive your AR Driver's License.
Do I need to get car insurance?
Yes. You must carry liability insurance able to cover $25,000 for each person, $50,000 for death or injuries per accident and $25,000 property damage.
What documents do I need to apply for AR car insurance?
The documents that you will need vary depending on the insurance company to which you apply. Generally, insurance companies want you to submit proof of your identity, your driving record and information about the vehicle you would like to insure.
How much does AR car insurance cost?
The price varies depending on your age, your driving history, your car class and other factors.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers in AR?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident so insurance companies often charge more to cover this potentially risk.
Renewing Your AR Driver's License
How do I renew my AR Driver's license once it has expired?
You must renew your AR Driver's License in person at a local revenue office.
Do I have to complete another vision test before I can renew my AR Driver's License?
You may have to complete a vision test when you go into renew your license.
What If You're Moving To AR Or Just Visiting
Do I have to pass the AR road test when I move to AR from another state?
If your license is still valid, you do not have to take the AR Driving Exam. You will need to replace your out-of-state license with a AR License within thirty days of becoming an AR resident.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in AR?
Yes. Arkansas recognizes valid out-of-state Learner's Permits.
How long can I drive in AR with my out-of-state license?
As long as you do not become a AR resident, you are allowed to drive with a valid out-of-state license for as long as you like.
Can I drive in Arkansas with my out-of-country license?
Yes you may if you have a license from your home country and an international license. You will need to obtain a AR License if plan or are in the state for more than 6 months.Question Category