California DMV Practice Tests

The California driver's manual isn't enough for the written exam. The California permit practice test is just one more way you can prepare. We also have the California road signs test and the California new-to-state driver's license test if needed.

Your California DMV Practice Tests

We've arranged several CA DMV practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your California DMV Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the California drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by California drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on

California Driver’s License Resources

Getting your driver’s license isn't easy, but you don't have to do it without any help. There are plenty of resources and practice tests out there to help you learn what you need to learn. Here is a list of California driver’s license resources that we have to help anyone and everyone get their California driver’s license:

Teen Permit Test

Although it is typically teens getting their permit, the California permit test is for anyone learning to drive for the first time. If you’ve never had a license before, you will need to get a permit first and a passing the permit test is required to get that permit.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

When your California driver’s license is up for renewal, you will receive a notice in the mail reminding you to renew and telling you whether or not you need to take the California driver’s license renewal test. If you do, then this practice test is an excellent resource.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are new resident of California, then you might need to take the California new to state driver’s license test. Whether or not you take the test will depend on several different factors, so if you do need to take the test, then this resource will be of great help.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

There is no way you are going to pass any written exam or get your driver’s license without reading the California driving manual. This handbook is updated regularly and covers everything you need to know for any driving test. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

Although the road signs don’t differ from state to state, they will always appear on the written exam and are key to passing the on-road exam. The California road signs practice test is a great preparation tool for these steps in getting your California driver’s license.

California Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

Comprehensive New California Driving Law Roundup

10 Tips to Pass Your DMV Written Test

Dangers of Driving and Texting

California DMV Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old, have successfully completed driver's education, and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months.

Do I have to Take the written test to Renewing my Drivers License?

When your license is up for renewal you will be mailed a notice that states whether or not you will be required to take the written test. The written test for renewal will only have 18 questions, of which you must correctly answer 15, and you will have 3 attempts to pass.

If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

All applicants for new driver's licenses in California are required to pass the written test. However, if you hold a valid driver's license from another state then you will be allowed to waive the on-road driving test.

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver's license has expired and you want to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 36 questions on the written test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 30 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 7 days.

How many times can you retake the test?

You are given three chances to pass the test.

California DMV Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

You must be at least 16 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months before you can take the test. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

California DMV Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

You cannot drive on highways, drive during hours of darkness, or carry any passengers.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test?

If you are under 21 and hold a valid California driver's license then you are not required to take the on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license. If you are over 21 and have complete an approved motorcycle rider training course then you may present a certificate of successful completion in lieu of taking the on-road test.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

If you are less than 21 years of age you are required to take the motorcycle rider training course given by the California Highway Patrol (CHP) and provide a form proving successful completion to the DMV before you can be issued your license.

What is California Helmet Law?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.

California Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Currently, the State of California does not require its citizens to obtain a license to operate boats or other watercraft.