Delaware DMV Practice Tests

Practice tests like the Delaware driver’s license renewal test prepare you for the written exam. So, take them! Below are tests like the Delaware permit practice test; what you need to get your Delaware driver’s license on the first try!

Your Delaware DMV Practice Tests

We've arranged several DE DMV practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Delaware DMV Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Delaware drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Delaware drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Delaware Driver’s License Resources

Anyone getting their Delaware driver’s license for the first time, or needs to renew or get an in-state license, probably has to pass one written test or another. To help with that, we have arranged a list of Delaware driver’s license resources to help you pass the test and to learn what you need to know.

Teen Permit Test

Although teenagers are often the ones learning to drive for the first time, the Delaware permit practice test is for anyone who needs a permit and has never held a driver’s license before. The permit is necessary to getting your Delaware driver’s license.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

If you are renewal your Delaware driver’s license, you may or may not have to take the Delaware driver’s license renewal test. The circumstances will depend on whether or not your license is expired and whether or not you pass the vision test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are new to the state of Delaware, and your license is expired, then you may have to take the Delaware new to state driver’s license test. Use this practice test to get your Delaware driver’s license and back on the roads safely and legally.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

Of course, you aren’t going to pass any of these tests if you don’t first read the Delaware driving manual. It tells you everything you need to know for the test, and has the most accurate and up-to-date information. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

The road signs may be the same in every state, but every state also includes one road sign question on the written exam. Don’t take these for granted. Use the Delaware road signs practice test to get these questions right.

Delaware Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

What to Do When Your Car is Broken Into

3 Car Maintenance Basics You Ought to Know

How a New Driver Can Save Money

Delaware DMV Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months. If they're under 18 years of age, they will also need parental consent.

Do I have to Take the written test to Renewing my Drivers License?

You may be required to retake the written test when you renew your license; however, written and on-road tests are normally waived.

If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

You may be required to retake the written test when apply for your Delaware license; however, written and on-road tests are generally waived if your out-of-state license is valid.

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver's license has expired and you want to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 30 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 24 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 10 days.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Delaware DMV Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

You must be at least 17 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 12 months before you can take the test. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

Delaware DMV Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

You cannot drive on highways, drive during hours of darkness, or carry any passengers.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle endorsement unless you complete the state-approved Motorcycle Rider Education Course. Providing proof of successful completion of this program will allow you to waive both the written and on-road tests.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

Teens under the age of 18 are required to take and pass the Motorcycle Rider Education Course in order to get a motorcycle endorsement.

What is Delaware Helmet Law?

Any operator or passenger of a motorcycle who is under 19 is required to wear a protective helmet and protective eyewear at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle.


Delaware Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Boaters in Delaware are required to have a Boating Education Card and must complete a boating safety education course administered by the Delaware Division of Fish & Wildlife Office of Boating Education in order to receive one. Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by either Boat-Ed.com or BoaterExam.com.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters born after January 1, 1978 who are of legal age must have a certificate of boating safety education in order to operate a motorized boat or other watercraft on Delaware waterways

How many questions are on the test?

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) on the online test correctly in order to pass.