Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Frequently Asked Questions - Indiana Teen Driver

The Indiana BMV requires applicants to pass the following tests when applying for a learner’s permit or driver’s license:

Knowledge Examination
• The knowledge exam is based upon information that can be found in the Indiana driver’s manual. To pass the test you must have a basic understanding of the traffic laws in Indiana and be knowledgeable about safe driving techniques. You must receive a score of at least 80 percent on the 24 multiple-choice questions and only miss two questions on the 16-question road sign test to pass.

If you fail the written knowledge examination, you must wait one business day before retaking the test.

Vision Screening Test
• You must be able to pass the test with a vision of 20/20 to 20/40 in both eyes or the following restrictions will apply:

o A Restriction—The driver is required to wear glasses or corrective lenses when driving.

o B Restriction—The driver is required to use outside rearview mirrors when driving.

o C Restriction—The driver can only drive during daylight hours.

Vision and Restrictions
• One eye 20/20 to 20/40 and other eye 20-50 to blind—B restriction
• One eye 20/20 to 20/40 and other eye 20/50 with glasses—A and B restrictions
• Both eyes 20/50—A restriction
• One eye 20/50 and other eye 20/70 to blind—A, B and C restrictions
• Both eyes 20/70—A, B and C restrictions

Driving Skills Test
• If you have a learner’s permit and are enrolled in an approved driver’s education program, you can take the driving skill test when applying for a probationary driver’s license. The test will cover the following skills:

o Driving in the proper lane and signaling before changing lanes
o Distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you to avoid an accident
o Maintaining speed while being passed by another vehicle and allowing enough room for the other vehicle to pass safely
o Defensive driving habits
o Observing the flow of traffic
o Approaching intersections at the proper speed and coming to a complete stop
o Parallel parking
o Backing out of parking spaces

If you fail the driving skills test, you must wait 14 days before taking another test.

The State of Indiana has a graduated driver’s license program and to obtain either a Learner’s Permit or a Driver Education Learner’s Permit, you must meet the following requirements:

• You must be at least 15 and a half years old to receive a Driver Education Permit.
• You must be at least 16 years old to receive a Learner’s Permit.
• You must be enrolled in an approved driver education program and provide proof by showing a valid Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment.
• You must be able to pass a written examination.
• You must be able to pass a vision-screening test.
• You will be asked to present documents of identification.
• You must provide your Social Security number or ineligibility letter.
• An adult must sign the financial responsibility form.

A Learner’s Permit is valid for one year and a Driver Education Learner’s Permit is valid until the driver turn 16 years and 3 months if it was issued before the driver turned 15 years and 3 months old. The fee for each permit is $9.

The State of Indiana has the following restrictions for drivers who are under the age of 18:

Time and Day Restrictions
• You are not allowed to drive between 10 pm and 5 am for the first 180 days.
• After 180 days has passed, you are not allowed to drive during the following days and hours:

• On Saturday and Sunday between 1 am and 5 am
• From Sunday through Thursday after 11 pm
• From Monday through Friday before 5 am

The following exceptions may apply:

• You are traveling to or from you job.
• You are traveling to or from a school-sponsored event.
• You are traveling to or from a religious event.
• You are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 25 years or older.

Passenger Restrictions
You are not allowed to drive with passengers for the first 180 days unless accompanied by a:

• Licensed instructor
• Licensed driver who is 25 years or older
• Licensed parent, legal guardian or stepparent who is 21 years or older

Before applying for a learner’s permit, you should study the Indiana driver’s manual which can be found on the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle (BMV) website. It will cover the following topics:

• Obtaining a new credential
• Renewing, amending or replace a credential
• Points, suspension and insurance requirements
• Traffic signs and signals
• Safe vehicle operation
• Accidents and emergency situations
• Written knowledge test sample questions
• Document requirements

In addition you should take the time to complete several practice tests to make sure you are ready for the written knowledge test.

Applicants will need to fill out the following forms at the Indiana BMV when applying for a learner’s permit or driver’s license:

• State Form 39531—Agreement of Financial Liability
• State Form 34425—Certificate of Vision (Eye Referral)
• State Form 54706—Log of Supervised Driving
• State Form 28622—Request For Waiver (hardship waiver if applicable)
• State Form 54748—Request For Voluntary Skills Test

An Affidavit To Revoke Financial Liability may be filled out when the applicant’s parent or legal guardian wants to revoke assumption of financial liability.

When applying for a driver’s license in Indiana, you must meet the following requirements:

• You must be at least 16 and a half years old.
• You must hold a Learner’s Permit for at least 180 days with no traffic convictions.
• You must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving, with 10 hours at night.

If you are under 18 when you get an Indiana driver’s license, it is considered a probationary license.

What restrictions if any are there for new drivers?
All teen drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any type of communications device while driving unless making an emergency 911 call. If you obtained a probationary driver’s license on or after July 1, 2009, you will not be qualified for a court diversion program.

When applying for a permit, driver’s license or identification card, the Indiana BMV requires applicants to establish identity, lawful status, residency and proof of Social Security number by submitting original or certified copies of the following documents:

Proof of Identity
• United States birth certificate (citizens born in Puerto Rico must provide a birth certificate issued on or after July 1, 2010)
• Amended birth certificate (must show change of legal name, gender or date of birth or gender and filed with a state Office of Vital Statistics.
• United States passport or passport card
• Foreign passport with U.S. Visa and approved I-94 document
• Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the State Department (Form FS-240, Form DS-1350 or Form FS-545)
• Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550 or Form N-570)
• Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560 or Form N-561)
• Permanent Resident card issued by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) or the Citizenship and Immigration Services (Form I-551)
• Employment authorization document issued by DHS (Form I-766)
• Indiana secure identification credential
• Any other document issued by a United States federal agency

Lawful Status
• United States birth certificate or issued by a U.S. territory (filed by the Office of Vital Statistics)
• United States passport or passport card
• Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the State Department (Form FS-240, Form DS-1350 or Form FS-545)
• Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550 or Form N-570)
• Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560 or Form N-561)
• Permanent Resident card (Form I-551)
• Foreign passport with U.S. Visa and approved I-94 document
• Proof of application for asylum in the United States (Form I-589)
• Notice of Action received by DHS (Form I-797) and accompanied by another document issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS)
• Other documents issued by USCIS

Proof of Indiana Residency (Must present two original documents)
• United States Postal Service change of address confirmation
• Indiana voter registration card
• Survey of Indiana property owned by applicant
• Bill from a doctor, hospital, credit card or utility company issued within 60 days of application
• Mortgage, loan contract, lease or rental agreement
• Bank statement or transaction receipted dated within 60 days of application
• Motor vehicle loan payment book (must be current)
• Valid homeowner’s, renter’s or auto insurance policy dated within one year of application
• W-2 form, property tax, excise tax bill or Social Security Administration (SSA) or other retirement or pension benefits statement dated within current or previous year
• Pre-printed paystub dated within 60 days of application
• Indiana Family and Social Services Administration child support check stub, Medicare or Medicaid benefit statement dated within 60 days of application
• Valid and active identification card issued pursuant to the Indiana Attorney General’s address confidentiality program under Indiana Code 5-26.5

Proof of Social Security Number
• Original Social Security card
• W-2 form
• SSA 1099 form
• Non-SSA 1099 form
• Paystub with applicant’s name and Social Security number
• Proof of ineligibility from the SSA with a letter not more than 60 days old

Proof of Name Change
• Valid marriage license
• Decree of divorce
• Court order (must show change of date of birth or legal name)
• Amended birth certificate (must show change of gender)
• Statement from physician (must be signed, dated, include full name and explain gender treatment)

The Indiana BMV requires all permit holders to complete 50 hours of supervised driving, including 10 hours at night with a licensed driver who is 25 years or older. If driving with a parent, legal guardian or spouse, he or she must be a licensed driver 21 years or older.

The Indiana BMV requires proof that you are enrolled in an approved driver education program by submitting a Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment. The program should consist of:

• 30 hours of classroom instruction (minimum)
• 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training

If you receive a grade of “B” or above in both the classroom and road training, you will not be required to take the driving skills test to obtain a license if the school participates in the waiver program.