Frequently Asked Questions - Missouri Teen Driver
- When can I get my driver’s license?
- What tests must I pass?
- What documents must I fill out at the DMV to get my permit/driver’s license?
- What documents do I need to go to the DMV?
- What driver’s education is required?
- What restrictions come with my driver’s permit?
- What do I need before I can get my permit?
- Once I get my permit, what do I need to do before I can drive with my parents?
- What are the requirements to apply for my driving permit?
- What restrictions if any are there for new drivers?
To obtain a Missouri driver’s license, applicants must meet the following requirements:
Intermediate License (Class F)
• You must have held a Missouri Instruction Permit for at least 182 days.
• You must be free from any alcohol-related convictions within the past 12 months.
• You must not have any traffic convictions within the past 6 months.
• You must present the same information that was required for the Missouri Instruction Permit.
• You must complete 40 hours of driving instruction with 10 hours performed at night.
• You must pay the license fee of $7.50.
Full Driver License (Class F)
• You must be 18 years old.
• You must be free from any alcohol-related convictions within the past 12 months.
• You must have a valid Intermediate License.
• Your driving privileges cannot be suspended, revoked or denied at the time of application.
• You must present the same information that was required for the Missouri Intermediate License.
• You must pay a license fee of $20.
The Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Driver Examination Division requires applicants to pass the following tests:
Road Sign and Written Test
• The written and road sign test consists of multiple-choice questions to make sure you understand the Missouri traffic laws and road signs. You must correctly answer 20 out of 25 to pass the test. If you fail the test, you can take it again the next business day.
Vision Screening Exam
• You must be able to pass the vision-screening exam with a visual acuity of 20/40 or better in either or both eyes, with or without corrective lenses and a temporal horizontal peripheral vision of 55 degrees or better in each eye.
• Once you have passed both the written and vision tests, you are eligible to take the driving test. The examiner will check to make sure your vehicle has all of the required equipment, which includes:
1. Current license plates and a valid inspection sticker.
2. Seat belts must be in proper working order.
3. Doors must be in proper working order for the driver and examiner.
4. Passenger seat for the examiner must be clean and safe.
5. The vehicle must have two sets of brakes including a foot brake and parking brake in good working order.
6. The vehicle must have a horn in good working order.
• The examiner will ask you to perform the following tasks:
1. Start and stop the vehicle
2. Park parallel to the curb
3. Back the vehicle up in a straight line
4. Make at least two right and two left hand turns
5. Park on a hill
6. Enter and leave intersections
The examiner will subtract points for any driving errors you make during the test. If you lose more than 30 points, you will fail the test. If you fail the driving test three times, no further tests will be allowed without written authorization from the Missouri Department of Revenue.
When applying for an instruction permit or driver’s license, you must do the following:
• Fill out an application for an Instruction Permit, Intermediate License or Full License.
• Submit a Driver Examination Record (Form DOR-100), which is proof that you have passed the written tests.
• Submit proof of identity, residency, lawful presence and Social Security number or letter of ineligibility.
• If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian must sign a permission form.
Once you have filled out all of the required paperwork, you must pay the appropriate license fee.
The Missouri Department of Revenue requires applicants to present one of more documents in each category listed below:
Name, Date and Place of Birth (U.S. Citizen)
• United States birth certificate certified copy with an embossed, stamped or raised seal issued by a local or state government. (Birth certificates issued by a hospital are not acceptable).
• United States passport (valid or expired)
• Certificate of Citizenship
• Certificate of Naturalization
• Certificate of Birth Abroad
• United States military identification card or discharge papers (military document must be accompanied by a certified copy of United States birth certificate issued by a local or state government).
Name, Date and Place of Birth (Non-U.S. Citizen)
• Immigration documents issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) or the United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS) or other United States government documents indicating current status or applicant status
• Resident Alien card (I-551)
• Foreign passport stamped “Approved I-551” or “Processed for I-551”
• Re-entry permit (I-327)
• I-94 stamped “Processed for I-551”
• Employment Authorization Document (I-688B or I-766)
• Refugee Travel Document (I-571)
• Reception and Placement Assurance Form
• I-94 stamped as Refugee, Asylee, Parolee or Conditional Entrant
• Passport with I-20 student visa
Social Security Number (All Applicants)
• Provide Social Security number of present Social Security card
• Letter from the Social Security Administration (SSA) if no Social Security number has been assigned
Proof of Missouri Residency (Post Office box is not allowed as proof of residential address)
• Utility bill
• Government check
• Mortgage document
• Voter Registration card
• Property tax receipt
• Housing rental contract
• Bank statement
Name Change Documents
• Certified marriage certificate
• Certified divorce decree
• Certified court order
• Certified adoption paper or amended birth certificate
• United States passport
• Social Security Card
• Medicare card
New drivers are not required to complete a state-approved driver’s education program. However, it is recommended that teen drivers enroll in a course to learn about the following:
• The rules of the road
• Alcohol and drug abuse awareness
• Defensive driving
• How to become a responsible driver
• Missouri traffic laws and road signs
• Consequences of distracted driving
• Operating a motor vehicle during inclement weather conditions
• Sharing the road with motorists and pedestrians
Most auto insurance companies will offer students a discount once they have successfully completed a driver’s education course.
The State of Missouri has the following restrictions:
Instruction Permit Age 15
• You are only allowed to practice driving with a parent, legal guardian or qualified driving instructor. If your parent, legal guardian, stepparent or grandparent is physically disabled, he or she may designate up to two people to provide behind-the-wheel instruction. Once you have turned 16, you can drive while accompanied by a person who is 21 years old and has a valid driver’s license.
Intermediate License Age 16
• You may practice driving with a parent, legal guardian, driving instructor or any licensed driver who is 21 years or older.
• For the first six months, you cannot drive with more than one passenger under the age of 19 unless they are a member of your immediate family.
• After the first six months, you cannot drive with more than three passengers under the age of 19 unless they are a member of your immediate family.
• You are prohibited from driving between 1 am and 5 am unless:
1. You are driving to or from a school activity.
2. You are driving to or from your place of employment.
3. You are driving due to an emergency situation.
4. You are accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21.
Before applying for an Instruction Permit, you should study the Missouri Driver Guide, which covers the following topics:
• Chapter 1—The Missouri Driver License
• Chapter 2—The Driver Exam
• Chapter 3—Pavement Markings, Traffic Signs, Lights and Signals
• Chapter 4—Rules of the Road
• Chapter 5—Parking
• Chapter 6—Highway Driving
• Chapter 7—Sharing the Road
• Chapter 8—Safe Driving Tips for Everyday Driving
• Chapter 9—Safe Driving Tips for Special Driving Conditions
• Chapter 10—Be in Shape to Drive
• Chapter 11—The Point System and How it Affects You
• Chapter 12—Vehicle Titling and Registration
• Chapter 13—Mandatory Insurance
• Chapter 14—Safety and Emissions Inspections and Required Equipment
• Chapter 15—Commercial Vehicles
The guide can be found at the Missouri Department of Revenue website or at a driver’s license station.
The Missouri Department of Revenue has created a Parent/Teen Driving Agreement to make sure that the family driving rules are clearly communicated in order to avoid any misunderstandings. The parents and teen driver should discuss safe driving habits, restrictions and the consequences for breaking any of the rules.
The State of Missouri has the following requirements for obtaining an Instruction Permit:
• You must be at least 15 years old.
• You must be able to pass a written exam, road sign test and vision test.
• Your parent or legal guardian must sign a permission form.
• You must pay the permit fee of $3.50.
An Instruction Permit is valid for 12 months from the issue date and can be renewed once.
The Teen Text Messaging law went into effect on August 28, 2009 prohibiting drivers under the age of 21 from reading, writing or sending text messages while driving.