Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Frequently Asked Questions - Utah Teen Driver

The State of Utah has banned text messaging for all drivers. Everyone over the age of 15 while riding inside a motor vehicle must wear a seat belt. Law enforcement officers can stop a vehicle when an occupant under age 19 is seen violating this rule and the penalty is a fine of up to $45.

All individuals who have never been licensed to drive must complete an approved driver’s education course with the following minimum requirements:

• 18 hours of classroom instruction
• 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving
• 6 hours observing another student driving behind the wheel

If you complete an approved on-line driver’s education course, you must also have six hours of driving and six hours of observation completed through a high school or commercial driving school.

Before applying for an Instruction Permit, you should study the Utah Driver Handbook, which covers the following topics:

• Chapter 1—Utah’s Classified License System
• Chapter 2—Obtaining a Driver License
• Chapter 3—Rules of the Road
• Chapter 4—Traffic Signs, Signals and Road Markings
• Chapter 5—Basic Driving Skills
• Chapter 6—How Crashes May Affect You
• Chapter 7—Special Subjects and Interests For Drivers
• Chapter 8—License Revocations and Suspension, alcohol, Point System, Driving Records
• Chapter 9—Registration, Inspection and Equipment
• Chapter 10—Information For RV’s and Large Vehicles

The handbook can be found online at the Utah Department of Public Safety Driver License Division website or at any local driver license office.

The State of Utah has the following requirements to obtain an intermediate license, full driver license or Driver Privilege Card:

Intermediate Driver License
• You must be at least 16 years old.
• You must have held a Learner Permit for at least six months.
• You must have completed an approved driver’s education course.
• You must be able to pass the driving skills road test.
• Your parent or legal guardian must sign for financial responsibility.
• Your parent or legal guardian must submit proof that you have completed 40 hours of practice driving, with 10 hours completed after dark.
• You must pay the license fee of $30.

Full Driver License
• You must be at least 17 years old.
• You must have held an intermediate license for at least six months.
• Your parent or legal guardian must sign for financial responsibility.
• You must pay the license fee of $30.

Driving Privilege Card
• You must be at least 16 years old.
• You must have resided in Utah for at least six months.
• You must have completed a driver training course or have a license from another state or country.
• You must have a responsible adult assume financial responsibility.
• You must complete the written, vision and driving skills tests.
• You must submit a fingerprint card and photo in a sealed envelope provided by the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) or a participating law enforcement agency.
• You must pay the DPC fee of $25.
• You must pay an additional fee of $25 or more to the BCI or participating agency for fingerprint and criminal background check.

The DPC card will only be used to individuals who are not able to provide proof of legal presence in the United States. The DPC card is valid for a period of one year.

The Utah Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program has the following restrictions:

Learner Permit Restrictions Under Age 18
• You must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or an approved driving instructor who must occupy the seat next to you at all times.
• You may be accompanied by the adult who signed for financial responsibility if they are a licensed driver and occupies the seat next to you at all times.
• The Learner Permit must be in your immediate possession at all times when driving.

Intermediate Driver License Restrictions Under Age 17
• You are prohibited from driving between midnight and 5 am unless:

1. You are accompanied by another licensed driver who is 21 years or older and occupies the seat beside you.
2. You are driving to or from your place of residence and place of employment.
3. You are driving to or from a school-related activity if no transportation is provided by your school.
4. You are driving due to an emergency.

• Intermediate Driver License Restrictions Under Age 18
• You are prohibited from carrying passengers under 18 for the first six months unless:

1. You are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 or older and occupies the seat next to you.
2. The passenger is a member of your immediate family.
3. You are employed by a farmer or rancher and must complete a work-related agricultural task.
4. You are driving due to an emergency.

Driving Privilege Card Restrictions
• Cannot be used as proof of age for purchasing alcoholic beverages or controlled substances.
• May not be accepted by any governmental entity as proof of age or identification.
• May not be used as proof of identification to purchase a firearm.
• You must abide by the same restrictions as outlined above for intermediate license holders.

The Utah Department of Safety Driver License Division has the following requirements for obtaining a Learner Permit:

• You must be at least 15 years old.
• You must be able to pass the written knowledge and vision tests.
• Your parent or legal guardian must sign for financial responsibility.
• You must pay the Learner Permit fee of $15.

The Learner Permit is valid for a period of one year from the date issued.

The Utah Department of Safety Driver License Divisions requires applicants to provide proof of identity, and legal status, proof of residency and Social Security Verification by submitting the following documents, which must be an original or certified copy and translated into English by a certified translator approved by the Division:

Proof of Identity (Must provide one document)
• Valid unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
• Certified copy of a birth certificate filed with the State Office of Vital Statistics or equivalent agency in the individual’s state of birth (laminated birth certificates will not be accepted)
• Consular Report of Birth Abroad (CRBA) issued by the U.S. Department of State (FS-240, DS-1350 or FS-545)
• Valid unexpired Permanent Resident Card (I-551)
• Certificate of Naturalization issued by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) (N-550 or N-570)
• Certificate of Naturalization issued by DHS (N-550 or N-570)
• Certificate of Citizenship issued by DHS (N-560 or N-561)
• Unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) issued by DHS (I-766 or I-688B) verified by the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements system (SAVE)
• Unexpired foreign passport with documentary evidence of the applicant’s most recent admittance into the United States verified through SAVE

Proof of Legal/Lawful Presence (Must provide one document)
Document issued by the U.S. Federal Government that establishes proof of one of the below status providing evidence of lawful entrance into the United States verified through SAVE:

• Unexpired immigrant or non-immigrant visa status for admission into the United States issued by the U.S. Federal Government
• Pending or approved application for asylum in the United States
• Pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States
• Approved deferred action status
• Pending application for adjustment of status to legal permanent resident or conditional resident

Social Security Verification (Must provide one document)
• Social Security card issued by the U.S. government that has been signed

If the Social Security card is not available, the applicant may present on of the following documents, which contain the applicant’s name and Social Security Number:
• W-2 form
• SSA-1099 form
• Non-SSA 1099 form
• Paystub
• Letter from the Social Security Administration indicating ineligibility to obtain a Social Security number as a result of their legal/lawful presence status

Proof of Utah Residency (Must provide two documents with applicant’s name and principal Utah residence)
• Bank statement (dated within 60 days)
• Court documents
• Current mortgage or rental contract
• Major credit card bill (dated within 60 days)
• Property tax notice (statement or receipt dated within one year)
• School transcript (dated within 90 days)
• Utility bill (billing date within 60 days) (cell phone bills will not be accepted)
• Valid Utah vehicle registration or title

Proof of Driving Experience required for first Utah license (not required when obtaining a learner permit)
• Evidence of completion of a course in driver training
• Evidence of a driving privilege issued in another state or country

If you are an undocumented Immigrant in the United States, you must provide the following documents to obtain a Driving Privilege Card (DPC) or Learner Permit:

Identity Verification
• Foreign birth certificate or unexpired foreign passport including a certified translation if the document is not in English

And one of the following documents:
• Church records
• Court records
• Driver license
• Employed identification
• Insurance identification card
• Matricular Consular Card (issued in Utah)
• Mexican Voter Registration card
• School record
• Utah Driving Privilege Card

Social Security Verification or Individual Tax Identification Number (Must provide one document)
• Social Security card issued by the U.S. government that has been signed
• Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) issued by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
• Document or letter from the IRS verifying the ITIN

Utah Residency Verification if different than current Utah Driver License record (Must provide two documents with applicant’s name and principal Utah residence address)
• Bank statement (dated within 60 days)
• Court documents
• Current mortgage or rental contract
• Major credit card bill (dated within 60 days)
• Property tax notice (statement or receipt dated within one year)
• School transcript (dated within 90 days)
• Utility bill (billing date within 60 days) (cell phone bills will not be accepted)
• Valid Utah vehicle registration or title

Proof of Driving Experience required for first Utah license (not required when obtaining a learner permit)
• Evidence of completion of a course in driver training
• Evidence of a driving privilege issued in another state or country

All documents are subject to departmental review and approval. Additional information may be required. Any name variation from your source document must be accompanied by legal authorizing documentation identifying the updated information (marriage, divorce or court order). In some cases document approval may not occur on the same day and may require an additional visit. All documents provided to the Division will be imaged and stored in a secure database and will be returned to the applicant.

The State of Utah requires drivers to pass the following tests:

The Written Knowledge Test
• The written knowledge test consists of multiple-choice questions about Utah road signs and traffic laws. You must correctly answer 20 out of 25 questions in order to pass the test.

The Vision Test
• You must be able to pass the vision test with a visual acuity of 20/40 in the better without correction for a license without restrictions. The visual field standard is 140 degrees with both eyes open during the test. If you have a corrected visual acuity of 20/50 to 20/70 in the better eye, you will be issued a license with restrictions for corrective lenses, daytime only or driving at a maximum speed of 45 miles per hour .

The Driving Skills Road Test
• You will be judged on the use of proper driving techniques. The examiner will be grading you on some of the following:

1. Driving posture
2. Proper use of lanes
3. Left and right turns
4. Starting and stopping
5. Parking on hills and between cars
6. Observance of traffic signs and signals
7. Backing up
8. U-turn
9. Steering coordination
10. Attention at intersections

You can take the driving skills road test with the Driver License Division or through a Certified Commercial School Third-Party Tester.

The Utah Department of Safety recommends that teen drivers and their parents have a written contract that covering the following:

1. Limits on driving at night
2. Restrictions of driving with teen passengers
3. Safe driving habits
4. Driving within the speed limit
5. Use of safety belts
6. Driving alcohol and drug free
7. Penalties for violating the contract

Parents should promise to teach the teen with patience and serve as a role model by practicing safe driving habits.

When applying for an instruction permit or driver’s license, you will need to do the following:

• Fill out an application for a Learner Permit or Application for Utah Driver License.
• You must submit a Certificate of Completion from an approved driver’s education course if you have never been licensed to drive.
• You must submit proof of identity, legal presence, Utah residency and Social Security number.

If you are applying for a Driver Privilege Card, you must submit the documents as outlined above.