Florida DMV Practice Tests

Tired of reading the Florida driver’s manual? Preparing for the test doesn’t have to be boring or repetitive. Our Florida teen permit test and the Florida new-to-state driver’s license test, among others, will break the routine of preparation.

Your Florida DMV Practice Tests

We've arranged several FL DMV practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Florida DMV Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Florida drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Florida drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Florida Driver’s License Resources

Whether you’re getting ready to take your learner’s permit written test for the first time, studying to get a motorcycle endorsement so you can ride your new bike, or preparing for your CDL exam to drive a commercial vehicle, we’ve gathered a wealth of resources and knowledge to help you obtain your driving credentials.

All Drivers

If you’re renewing a license that has been expired for longer than a year, or if you’re applying for reinstatement after a suspension, you may have to retake the written exam in order to obtain your license.

Free Practice Tests

Driver's License practice tests
Learner's Permit practice tests
Motorcycle Endorsement practice tests
CDL practice tests
Road Signs and Signals practice tests

Resources for all drivers

Read the official Florida driver’s manual
Check out our frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a driver’s license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Buy a driver’s license renewal test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Read our driving safety articles

Florida DMV quick links for all drivers

Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) home page
Renewal information
Renew online
General license information
FHSMV locations
License fees
Identification requirements (Gather, Go, Get)

New & Teen Drivers

In Florida, you must be at least 15 years of age, provide proof of completion of a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, and pass a Class E knowledge test to apply for a Learner’s License. You must be at least 16 years of age, have held a Learner’s License for 12 months or turn 18 (whichever comes first), have driven at least 50 hours (10 at night) with Learner’s License, and pass a driving skills test to apply for an operator’s license.

Resources for new & teen drivers

Read the official Florida driver’s manual
Take one of our free learner’s permit practice tests
Check out our new & teen driver frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a learner’s permit test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Buy a driver’s license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Check rates or buy car insurance

Florida DMV quick links for new & teen drivers

Driver's License information
Learner's License information
Graduated Driver Licensing information
Knowledge Exam & Driving Test information
Teen driving center (Drive with C.A.R.E.)
Driver License FAQ
Senior Driving information (GrandDriver)

New-to-State Drivers

New Florida residents with a valid out-of-state license may exchange their license for a Florida operator’s license without taking the knowledge exam or driving skills test.

Resources for new-to-state drivers

Read the official Florida driver’s manual
Take one of our free driver’s license practice tests
Check out our new-to-state frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a new-to-state driver’s license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Check rates or buy car insurance

Florida DMV quick links for new-to-state drivers

New resident information

Motorcycles

In Florida, you must be at least 16 years of age, hold a valid Class E operator’s driver license, and complete a Basic RiderCourse (BRC) to apply for a motorcycle endorsement. You must be at least 16 years old, have held a Learner’s License for at least one year (if you are under 18 years of age), pass the Class E operator’s license knowledge test, and complete a BRC to apply for a Motorcycle-Only driver license.

Resources for motorcyclists

Read the official Florida motorcycle manual
Take one of our free motorcycle license practice tests
Check out our motorcycle license frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a motorcycle license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
New-to-state motorcycle insurance

Florida DMV quick links for motorcycles

Motorcycle Endorsement and Motorcycle License information
Florida Rider Training Program (FRTP) information
FRTP Safety Course locations
Motorcycle FAQ

CDL

In Florida, you must be at least 18 years of age, hold an Operators License, and pass a knowledge test to apply for a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP). You must have held a CLP for at least 14 days and pass a road test to apply for a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).

Resources for CDL

Read the official Florida CDL manual
Take one of our free CDL practice tests
Buy a CDL test paid cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Check rates or buy CDL insurance

Florida DMV quick links for CDL

CDL informatoin
CDL county-operated skill test sites
CDL commercial skill test sites
CDL FAQ

Florida DMV Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 12 months. If they're under 18 years of age, they will also need parental consent.

Do I have to Take the written test to Renewing my Drivers License?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license. If your license has been expired for more than 1 year then it is at the examiner's discretion whether or not you will have to retake the written and on-road tests.

If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver's license from another state then you are not required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver's examination. If you are under 18 then you will need a parent or guardian signature on your application for a Florida driver's license.

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you may also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver's license has been expired for over 1 year and you want to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 40 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 30 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 1 day.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Florida DMV Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

The Florida DMV no longer administers a written knowledge test to those seeking to obtain a motorcycle endorsement or motorcycle-only license. Instead, all new motorcyclists in Florida must successfully complete the Basic Rider Course provided by the Florida Rider Training Program.

You must be at least 16 years old and have a valid Florida driver's license before you can take the course to receive a motorcycle endorsement. Alternatively, if you are at least 16 years old and have held a learner's license for 12 months you can apply for a motorcycle-only license. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There is no formally administered written test required in order to receive a motorcycle endorsement on your license. Those who are applying for the motorcycle-only license will take the same 40 question written knowledge test administered for a regular Class E driver's license.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 30 questions correctly in order to pass.

Florida DMV Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

As of 2008, Florida no longer issues motorcycle leaner's permits.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test?

No, you are not required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license. However, the required Basic Rider Course you must take in order to get a motorcycle endorsement or license will involve on-road motorcycle skills training.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

All new motorcyclists in Florida must successfully complete the Basic Rider Course provided by the Florida Rider Training Program before they can have a motorcycle endorsement added to their license or receive a motorcycle-only license.

What is Florida Helmet Law?

Any operator or passenger of a motorcycle who is under 21 is required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle. Additionally, riders who are over 21 must possess an insurance plan that provides at least $10,000 in medical coverage in order to legally ride without a helmet.


Florida Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Boaters in Florida who want to operate a vessel with more than 10 HP are required to have a Boating Safety Education ID Card and must complete a boating education course that is approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) or the equivalent in order to receive one. Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by either Boat-Ed.com or BoaterExam.com

Who has to take the test?

All boaters born after January 1, 1988 who are of legal age must have a Boating Safety Education ID Card in order to operate a boat or other watercraft on Florida waterways. The minimum age to receive the card is 14.

You do not have to take the written test if you meet one of the following requirements:

  • Hold a valid US Coast Guard motorboat operator's license
  • Are operating on a private lake or pond
  • Are accompanied by an adult who has the Boating Safety Education ID Card or is exempt from the education requirements
  • How many questions are on the test?

    The boating safety courses available in Florida are administered by a variety of different companies, many of which offer courses that can be accessed online. Each course has its own version of a written test that you must complete in order to receive a Boating Safety Education ID Card from the FWC. Please contact your chosen testing organization directly for more specific information (for a list of approved courses, visit the FWC website.)

    The online boating safety courses have 60 questions.

    How many questions must you get correct to pass?

    You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly in order to pass the online exams.