Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

What do I need before I can get my permit?

Sign up for a driving education class since you don’t need a permit to complete the 30 hours of classroom instruction. Pick up a copy of the Hawaii Driver’s Manual or download it from the Internet. Most licensing offices charge a small fee for the manual, usually under $5.00. The Hawaii Driver’s Manual is 160 pages and covers the following topics:

• Licensing of drivers
• Vehicle equipment and inspection
• Vehicle registration
• Traffic laws, ordinances, rules and regulations
• Signals, signs and lane markings
• Accident procedures
• No-fault insurance and financial responsibility
• Alcohol and other drugs
• Safe driving techniques
• Trucks, buses and motorcycles
• Pedestrian safety
• Bicycle safety

There are separate manuals for operating motorcycles and commercial vehicles.

Comments