Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

When can I get my driver’s license?

The Iowa Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program has the following requirements for obtaining an intermediate or full driver’s license:

Intermediate License
• You must be at least 16 years old.
• You must have written consent from parent or legal guardian.
• You must have held an instruction permit for a minimum of 12 months.
• You must complete ten hours of supervised driving, with two hours between sunset and sunrise.

Full License
• You must be at least 17 years old.
• You must have written consent from parent or legal guardian.
• You must meet all the Intermediate License conditions.

Drivers under 18 may have additional restrictions or their license may be suspended for a moving violation or being found at fault in an auto accident.

What restrictions if any are there for new drivers?
There are no specific restrictions for newly licensed drivers. However, it is against the law for any driver in Iowa to read, write or send a text message while operating a motor vehicle. The following exceptions apply to reading a text message:

• A member of a public safety agency while performing official duties
• A healthcare professional in an emergency situation
• A person receiving safety-related information (emergency, traffic or weather alert)

All drivers with an instruction permit, minor school license or intermediate license are prohibited from using any type of electronic communication device while driving.

Comments