Kentucky KYTC Practice Tests

Learning all those rules in the Kentucky driver’s manual isn't easy. However, we do have practice tests that make the learning easier, and better. Our tests include the Kentucky permit practice test and the Kentucky driver’s license renewal test.

Your Kentucky KYTC Practice Tests

We've arranged several KY KYTC practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Kentucky KYTC Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Kentucky drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Kentucky drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Kentucky Driver’s License Resources

Whether you’re getting ready to take your learner’s permit written test for the first time, studying to get a motorcycle endorsement so you can ride your new bike, or preparing for your CDL exam to drive a commercial vehicle, we’ve gathered a wealth of resources and knowledge to help you obtain your driving credentials.

All Drivers

If you’re renewing a license that has been expired for longer than a year, or if you’re applying for reinstatement after a suspension, you may have to retake the written exam in order to obtain your license.

Free Practice Tests

Driver's License practice tests
Learner's Permit practice tests
Motorcycle Endorsement practice tests
CDL practice tests
Road Signs and Signals practice tests

Resources for all drivers

Read the official Kentucky driver’s manual
Check out our frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a driver’s license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Buy a driver’s license renewal test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Read our driving safety articles

Kentucky KYTC quick links for all drivers

Kentucky KYTC home page
Kentucky Driver Licensing home page
Renewal information
KYTC office locations
Identification requirements

New & Teen Drivers

In Kentucky, you must be at least 16 years of age and pass a written test to apply for a driving permit. You must have held a driving permit for at least 180 days, have completed 60 hours of practice driving (10 hours at night), and pass a road test to apply for an Intermediate License. You must have completed the driver education course requirement and be at least 18 years of age and have held a driving permit or Intermediate License for at least 180 days OR, if you are under 18 years of age, have held an Intermediate License for at least 180 days, to apply for a Full Unrestricted License. If you are 21 years of age or older, you must have held a permit for at least 30 days before you may take the road test to apply for a license.

Resources for new & teen drivers

Read the official Kentucky driver’s manual
Take one of our free learner’s permit practice tests
Check out our new & teen driver frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a learner’s permit test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Buy a driver’s license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Check rates or buy car insurance

Kentucky KYTC quick links for new & teen drivers

How to obtain a license
Permit information
Graduated license program information
Driver education training information
Online graduated licensing course
No Pass/No Drive law information

New-to-State Drivers

New Kentucky residents with a valid out-of-state driver license must exchange it for a Kentucky Driver’s License within 30 days of moving to Kentucky. If your out-of-state license is expired, you will be required to take a written test, and if it has been expired for more than one year, you will be required to provide a current driving record or clearance record from the state you are transferring from.

Resources for new-to-state drivers

Read the official Kentucky driver’s manual
Take one of our free driver’s license practice tests
Check out our new-to-state frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a new-to-state driver’s license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Check rates or buy car insurance

Kentucky KYTC quick links for new-to-state drivers

Out-of-state transfer information

Motorcycles

In Kentucky, you must have a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle permit to legally ride a motorcycle. You must be at least 18 years old OR have a valid driver’s license to apply for a motorcycle permit. If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must assume responsibility and sign the application for a license. You must hold the permit for at least 30 days and either pass a Kentucky Motorcycle Safety Education course administered by the Transportation Cabinet and Eastern Kentucky University’s Traffic Safety Institute OR pass a skills test to apply for a motorcycle endorsement or license.

Resources for motorcyclists

Read the official Kentucky motorcycle manual
Take one of our free motorcycle license practice tests
Check out our motorcycle license frequently asked questions (FAQ)
Buy a motorcycle license test cheat sheet: basic or advanced
New-to-state motorcycle insurance

Kentucky KYTC quick links for motorcycles

Motorcycle permit & license information
Kentucky Motorcycle Program safety information

CDL

In Kentucky, you must be at least 18 years of age, pass a knowledge test and obtain a Commercial Learner’s Permit, hold a CLP for 14 days, and pass a CDL skills test to apply for a Commercial Driver License. If you are under 18 years of age, you may only drive within the state.

Resources for CDL

Read the official Kentucky CDL manual
Take one of our free CDL practice tests
Buy a CDL test paid cheat sheet: basic or advanced
Check rates or buy CDL insurance

Kentucky KYTC quick links for CDL

CDL information

Kentucky KYTC Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old. If they're under 18 years of age, they will also need parental consent, proof of successful completion of driver's education, and to present a School Compliance Verification from their school district.

Do I have to Take the written test to Renewing my Drivers License?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it has been expired for more than 1 year.

If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver's license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 1 year, then you are not required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver's examination.

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass one or both tests if your driver's license has expired and you want to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 30 general questions and 10 road sign questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 24 of the general questions and 8 of the road sign questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 1day.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Kentucky KYTC Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

You must hold a valid Kentucky driver's license or be at least 18 years old before you can take the test. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent. Additionally, all persons must hold a motorcycle permit for at least 30 days before applying for a motorcycle license or endorsement.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

Kentucky KYTC Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

You cannot carry any passengers and must wear a protective helmet at all times while operating a motorcycle.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license. If you complete a motorcycle safety education course administered by the Kentucky Motorcycle Program you may be able to waive the on-road test.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

No.

What is Kentucky Helmet Law?

Any operator or passenger of a motorcycle who is under 21 and has held a motorcycle license for less than 1 year is required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle.


Kentucky Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Boaters of a certain age in Kentucky are required to have a Safe Boating Certification and must complete a boating safety course approved by the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources (DFWR) in order to receive one. Currently Kentucky recommends an online safety course such as the one found on Boat-Ed.com on their official DFWR website.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters between the ages of 12 and 17 must have a Safe Boating Certification in order to operate a boat or other watercraft on Kentucky waterways, unless they are accompanied by a person who is certified or over the age of 18. The minimum age to receive the card is 12.

How many questions are on the test?

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) on the online test correctly in order to pass.