Maine BMV Practice Tests

Study the Maine driver's handbook to learn the rules, but take practice tests to pass the written exam. Practice tests like the Maine new-to-state driver's license test and the Maine teen permit practice test really show you what you've learned.

Your Maine BMV Practice Tests

We've arranged several ME BMV practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Maine BMV Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Maine drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Maine drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Maine Driver’s License Resources

It doesn’t matter what state you live in, as getting your driver’s license takes some preparation and studying. The Maine driver’s license is no different, so we have a list of resources to help Maine residents get their license and learn what they need to know to pass the requisite tests.

Teen Permit Test

The Maine permit practice test is for anyone who’s never held a license before. It’s not just for teenagers. Getting the instructional permit is the first step toward getting a Maine driver’s license if you’re learning to drive for the first time.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

If your Maine driver’s license has been expired for more than a year, then you will have to take the Maine driver’s license renewal test. Otherwise, you do not have to take the test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are new to the state of Maine, but hold a valid driver’s license from another state, then you aren’t required to take the Maine new-to-state driver’s license test. However, if it’s been expired for more than a year, you do have to take this test.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

If you could only use one resource to help you get your Maine driver’s license, it’s the Maine driving manual. This handbook covers everything that could possibly end up on the test while being a trusted, accurate source. Click the link to download the latest version of the handbook.

Road Signs Practice Test

You need to know your road signs to get your Maine driver’s license, and at least one road sign question will be on the written exam. To study your road signs, take the Maine road signs practice test.

Maine Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

What to Do When Your Car is Broken Into

3 Car Maintenance Basics You Ought to Know

How a New Driver Can Save Money

Maine BMV Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years. If they're under 18 years of age, they will also need to provide proof of successful completion of old an approved driver's education course and have written parental consent.

Do I have to Take the written test to Renewing my Drivers License?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it has been expired for more than 1 year.

If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver's license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 1 year, then you are not generally required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver's examination.

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver's license has expired and you want to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 21 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 1 day.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Maine BMV Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

You must be at least 16 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months before you can take the test. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

Maine BMV Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

You cannot drive during hours of darkness or carry any passengers.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license; however, the on-road test can be waived if you take and pass the nationally standardized 15 hour Motorcycle Rider Course: Riding and Street Skills.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

If you are apply for a motorcycle license and are less than 18 years of age then you are required to present proof of successful completion of driver's education, and everyone who is applying (regardless of age) is required to successfully complete the 8 hour Maine Motorcycle Safety Education Course.

What is Maine Helmet Law?

Any operator or passenger of a motorcycle who falls into the following categories is required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle:

  • Is less than 18 years of age
  • Has a motorcycle permit
  • Has had a motorcycle license or endorsement for less than 1 year
  • Is a passenger on a motorcycle operated by a person who is required to wear a helemt

  • Maine Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

    Currently, the State of Maine does not require its citizens to obtain a license to operate boats or other watercraft.