The Maine BMV requires anyone under the age of 18 to complete an approved driver’s education course before applying for a learner’s permit. The course should include the following:
• 30 hours of classroom instruction
• 10 hours of driving instruction
The course will teach you how to operate a motor vehicle safely, the importance of understanding the rules of the road and state traffic laws.
What tests must I pass?
The Maine BMV requires teen drivers to pass the following tests:
Written Knowledge Test
• The written knowledge test consists of multiple-choice questions covering traffic signs and safe driving techniques. You must correctly answer 21 out of 25 questions correctly to pass the test.
Vision Screening Exam
• You must be able to pass the vision screening exam with a visual acuity of 20/40 or better in the best eye, with our without using corrective lenses and a binocular visual field of 150 or better.