Missouri DOR Practice Tests

The best way to prepare for the Missouri driver’s license exam is with practice tests! Our practice tests, such as the Missouri teen permit test and the Missouri new-to-state driver's license test, are what you need to pass the driver’s license exam.

Your Missouri DOR Practice Tests

We've arranged several MO DOR practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Missouri DOR Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Missouri drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Missouri drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Missouri Driver’s License Resources

The Missouri Department of Revenue is a confusing and time-consuming place. You don’t want to spend an hour or two there, only to fail the written exam and not get your Missouri driver’s license. To make sure your time and effort is well spent, our list of resources below are meant to prepare your for the written exam and tell you what you need to know.

Teen Permit Test

A permit isn’t just for teens! It’s for anyone who’s learning to drive for the first time. If this is you, then you need the Missouri permit practice test to help you pass the test. Unless you get a permit first, you won’t be able to get your Missouri driver’s license.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

When renewing your Missouri driver’s license, you only have to take the Missouri driver’s license renewal test if your license has been expired for more than six months. Otherwise, you do not have to take the test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are a new Missouri resident, you do not need to take the Missouri new-to-state driver’s license test if your current license is valid. You also don’t need to take it if it has been expired for fewer than 184 days. Otherwise, you will have to take the written test so use this practice test to prepare.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

Without the Missouri driving manual, it’s unlikely that you’ll get your Missouri driver’s license, at least on the first attempt. Use this handbook to go over everything that could possibly show up on the written exam or the on-road test. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

Missouri is one of the few states to have a separate road sign recognition test only when you renew your Missouri driver’s license. So, use the Missouri road sign practice test to renew or to get you through the written exam and/or the on-road test.

Missouri Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

What to Do When Your Car is Broken Into

3 Car Maintenance Basics You Ought to Know

How a New Driver Can Save Money

Missouri DOR Driving Test Info

Who has to take the written test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 15 years old in order to receive their instruction permit, which they must hold for 184 days before they can take an on-road test to receive an intermediate license. (An intermediate license can be upgraded to a full license once they turn 18 without any additional testing.) If they're under 18 years of age, they will also need parental consent.

Do I have to Take the written test to Renewing my Drivers License?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it has been expired for more than 6 months.

If you're new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver's license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 184 days, then you are not required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver's examination. However, you are required to take a road sign recognition test (usually around 10 questions.)

Who has to take the on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver's license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver's license has been expired for over 6 months and you want to renew it.

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 1 day.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Missouri DOR Motorcycle Permit Test Info

What are the Motorcycle Permit age limits?

You must be at least 15 and 1/2 years old before you can take the test. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 21 questions correctly in order to pass.

Missouri DOR Motorcyle Permit Resctictions

You cannot drive during hours of darkness or carry any passengers. If you are under 16, then you must also stay within 50 miles of your home of residence and cannot ride a motorcycle with an engine displacement of great than 250 cc.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle riding test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

If you are under 16 years of age then you are required to successfully complete a motorcycle rider training course (MRTC) prior to applying for your temporary motorcycle instruction permit. If you are under 18, then you must also comply with the requirements of the general graduated licensing program.

What is Missouri Helmet Law?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.


Missouri Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Boaters in Missouri are required to have a vessel operator certification card and must complete a boating safety class administered by the Missouri State Water Patrol, the US Coast Guard or the US Power Squadron in order to receive one. Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by either Boat-Ed.com or BoatUS.org.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters born after January 1, 1984 who are of legal age must complete a boating safety class in order to operate a boat or other watercraft on Missouri lakes only, unless accompanied by someone who has completed the course or is exempt from the requirement. (Note: the boater certification card is required for lakes only; boaters on rivers, streams and private waterways are exempt from this requirement.) The minimum age for operating a boat or other watercraft is 14.

How many questions are on the test?

Missouri boating safety courses may vary from county to county; you can find a list of all available courses online which you may use to contact the instructor of a course near you for more specific information regarding testing requirements.

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly on the online test in order to pass.