Montana MVD Practice Tests

Practice makes perfect! You don’t need a perfect score on your Montana driver's license test, but practice tests will ensure that you pass right away. Tests like the Montana practice permit test and the Montana road signs test ensure perfection!

Your Montana MVD Practice Tests

We've arranged several MT MVD practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Montana MVD Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Montana drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Montana drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on

Montana Driver’s License Resources

There’s a lot you need to know, and you need to prepare for, when getting your Montana driver’s license. One of the most important aspects of this process is passing the written test, which can differ depending on what part of the process you’re on. To help, we have a list of resources to help you get your Montana driver’s license and to prepare for the right test.

Teen Permit Test

If you are learning to drive for the first time, then the Montana permit practice test is for you. You need this test, as well as the road signs test, in order to pass the permit test and to get one step closer to the Montana driver’s license.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

When renewing your Montana driver’s license, you only have to take your Montana driver’s license renewal test if your license has been expired for at least three months. Otherwise, you don’t have to take this test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are new to the state of Montana, you may only have to take the Montana new-to-state driver’s license test if your old license has been expired for at least one year. It will be up to the discretion of the examiner, so it's best to prepare with this test even if your current license is still valid.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

There’s no way you are going to get your Montana driver’s license without reading the Georgia driving manual first. The handbook has everything you need to know about Montana driving laws and has everything that’s going to be on the test. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

Road signs may be easy, but in MOntana, you only have three attempts to pass the written exam in a 12 month period To make sure that you pass withing three attempts the Georgia road signs practice test is a must-have resource. You don't want to waste an attempt because you missed a road sign question.

Montana Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

What to Do When Your Car is Broken Into

3 Car Maintenance Basics You Ought to Know

How a New Driver Can Save Money

Montana MVD Driving Test Info

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 33 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 27 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 1 day.

How many times can you retake the test?

You are allowed 3 attempts to pass the written test within a 12 month period. If you fail the test 3 times or do not pass it within the 12 month period, then you must submit a new application for your license and pay any required fees again.

Who has to take the written test? Teens of what ages?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months. If they’re under 18 years of age, they must follow the graduated licensing program and will also need parental consent.

Are you required to take the written test when renewing, and if so every time you renew or just sometimes? What are the conditions if just sometimes?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it has been expired for more than 3 months.

If you’re new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver’s license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 1 year, then you may be required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver’s examination, however these tests may be waived at the discretion of the examiner who is issuing you a Montana license.

Who has to take the behind the wheel / on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver’s license has expired and you want to renew it.

Montana MVD Motorcycle Permit Test Info

How old must you be to take the written test?

You must be at least 15 years old and have proof of successful completion of a state-approved driver’s education course, or be at least 16 years old if you do not. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

What are the permit restrictions for motorcycles?

You must be directly supervised by a licensed motorcyclist at all times while riding.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle driving test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?


What is the helmet law is this state?

Any operator or passenger of a motorcycle who is under 18 is required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle.

Montana Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Is there such a test in the state?

Yes; boaters in Montana are required to have a Montana Motorboat Operator’s Certificate and must complete a boating safety class approved by the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks. Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course such as those offered by or

Who has to take the test?

All boaters who are 13 or 14 years of age and want to operate a motorized boat or personal watercraft unsupervised on Montana waterways. The State of Montana will honor a certificate of completion issued by another state’s NASBLA-approved boating safety course.

How many questions are on the test?

Montana boating safety courses may vary from county to county; you can find a list of all available courses online, including those offered by the US Coast Guard Auxiliary, which you may use to contact the instructor of a course near you for more specific information regarding testing requirements.

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly on the online test in order to pass.