Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

North Carolina Permit Practice Tests

Rated best North Carolina Permit Practice Test by thousands of North Carolina teens. Try this FREE DMV Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your NC Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 North Carolina DMV Drivers handbook can be found below. This is...
An up-to-date version of the 2014 North Carolina DMV Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the North Carolina DMV Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE...
Take our FREE NC Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter
Are you prepared for your DMV Permit Test? Take our FREE NC Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DMV Permit Test? Our NC Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your North Carolina Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE...
Get the NC Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your NC License
  • Preparing For Your NC Permit Test
  • Taking Your NC Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your NC Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your NC Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed Your NC Driving Exam
  • Renewing Your NC Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To North Carolina (Or Just Visiting)
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your NC License
At what age can I apply for my driver's license in North Carolina?
In NC, you have to be at least 15 years old in order to get a learner's permit.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my NC license?
When you apply for your NC license, you will need to bring two proofs of your identity, proof of your Social Security Number and proof of your residency in NC. If you are under 18 you must also provide a Driving Eligibility Certificate or High School Diploma and a Driver's Education Certificate.
Where can I apply for my driver's license in NC?
You can apply for your NC driver's license at your local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations by visiting this website:http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/contact.
Is there any way I can contact my local DMV office?
Yes. You can contact the DMV by calling the call center (919) 715-7000. Visit this website for more information: http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/contact/.
Do I need to bring anyone with me when I go to take my NC permit test?
If are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your permit test.
Do I need to complete a physical before I can apply for my NC driver's license?
No. You don't have to complete a physical.
Do I need to get my eyes checked before I obtain a NC Driver's license?
Yes. You must pass a vision test before you are able to receive your driver's license.
Is there a particular place where I must have my picture taken?
You will have your driver's license photo taken at the DMV office where you apply.
Preparing For Your NC Permit Test
How should I study for my NC Permit Test?
Reading the NC Driver's Manual gives you the best chance of passing successfully the NC Permit Test.
Are there any chapters of the NC Driver's manual that I can skip?
We wouldn't advise it. Reading completely the manual gives you the best chance of passing your NC Permit Test on the first try.
Where can I find a copy of the NC Driver's manual?
You may find a copy of the NC Driver's Manual at your local DMV office. Additionally, you can find a copy online by visiting this website: http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/driver/license/first/#graduated.
Do I have to complete a Driver's Education course?
Yes. You have to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction. There are many options available to you in North Carolina as local companies and public high schools offer Driver's Education courses. You should research to find the best fit for you.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the NC Permit Test?
You must answer 20 out of the 25 questions correctly.
Is there anything I should do the night before my NC Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying, the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website.
Do a lot of people fail the NC Permit Test on their first time?
The state of North Carolina doesn't provide exact statistics. You should make sure that you study thoroughly to give yourself the best opportunity to pass your NC Permit Test.
What should I do when I am ready to take my NC Permit Test?
Once you're ready to take your NC Permit Test, you should go to your DMV office and bring with you two proofs of your identity, proof of your Social Security Number, proof your residency in NC and a $15 Permit Test fee. If you are under 18, you should also bring your Driver's Eligibility Certificate or high school diploma and a Driver's Education Certificate.
Taking Your NC Permit Test
Do I need to schedule an appointment to take my NC Permit Test?
No. You don't need an appointment. Visit your local NC DMV office for more information.
When I am eligible to apply for my NC Permit Test?
In NC, you have to be at least 15 years old in order to get a learner's permit, and you must have completed your Driver's Education course.
What documents do I need to take with me when I take my NC Permit Test?
On the day of your NC Permit test, you will need to bring with you two proofs of your identity, proof of your Social Security Number and proof of your residency in NC. If you are under 18 you must also provide Driving Eligibility Certificate or High School Diploma and a Driver's Education Certificate instead.
How much does a NC Permit Test cost?
A NC Permit cost $15.00.
Do I need to bring anyone with me when I go to take my NC permit test?
If are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your permit test.
How many questions are on the NC Permit Test?
There are 25 questions on the NC Permit Test.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the NC Permit Test?
You must answer 20 out of the 25 questions correctly.
What are common mistakes that applicants make on the NC Permit Test?
The biggest and most important mistake to avoid is not studying. Reading the entire manual and studying thoroughly gives you the best chance of passing your NC Permit Test.
What kind of questions should I expect on the NC Permit Test?
The NC Permit Test will test your knowledge of NC road rules and traffic signs.
Is the NC Permit Test an open book exam?
No. You are not allowed to use your NC Driver's Manual or any other study materials during your NC Permit Test.
Do I need to get a drug test before I am eligible to take my NC Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take a drug test.
What happens if I fail my NC Permit Test?
If you fail your NC Permit Test, you won't receive your permit, and you will have to retake your test.
When am I able to retake my NC Permit Test?
You may retake your NC Permit Test as early as the next business day.
What happens when I pass my NC Permit Test?
Once you have passed your NC Permit Test, you will pay your $15 fee and receive your NC Permit. You must wait at least a year before you can schedule your NC Driving Exam. If you are under 17, during this time, you must also complete 60 hours of behind the wheel training.
Preparing For Your NC Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
How should I practice for my NC Driving Exam?
You should practice regularly and consistently. You should always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years or older when you are driving. You should begin practicing and driving on streets that aren't busy and then slowly progress to driving on busier streets, where you will develop skills that help you drive safely alongside other vehicles.
Where should I practice driving in NC?
You can practice driving anywhere in NC as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older.
When I go to take my NC Driving Exam what do I need to bring with me?
You should make sure a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older accompanies you, and you should bring your NC Learner's Permit and proof of your car insurance with you. If you are under 18 you should provide documentation that demonstrates the 60 hours of behind the wheel training you have completed.
What should I expect for my NC Driving Exam?
For your NC Driving Exam, you should demonstrate to the examiner that you know how to drive safely and efficiently. You should feel comfortable, for example, passing through intersections, coming to a complete stop at stop signs and traffic signals, backing up safely and making three-point turns successfully.
What should I do the night before my NC Driving Exam?
Try to relax. Don't try to learn a number of new techniques. If you have practiced thoroughly and consistently over the past year, you should do fine.
Do NC DMV offices allow walk-ins for the NC Driving Exam?
Most DMVs accept walk-ins. There are also DMV offices that allow you to schedule your Driving Exam. You should do whatever option feels most comfortable to you. You can visit this website to find out more information about whether you should schedule your DMV exam and how you would go about doing so if applicable: http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/contact/.
Where can I go to take my NC Driving Exam?
You can take your NC Driving Exam at your local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations by visiting this website: http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/contact/.
Do I have to supply my own vehicle for the NC Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply your own vehicle. This vehicle should be registered, insured and in good working condition.
Taking Your NC Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
If I am under 18 does anyone need to accompany me to my NC Driving Exam?
Your parent or legal guardian should accompany you.
Are there any tips I should follow to give me the best chance of passing my NC Driving Exam?
On your NC Driving Exam, remember you want to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to drive safely and efficiently. Remember to always check your mirrors, keep both hands on your steering wheel and maintain proper posture.
What are common mistakes drivers make on the NC Driving Exam that I should avoid?
You should avoid any maneuvers that are dangerous or reckless. You should avoid changing lanes unnecessarily, taking your hands off the wheel, performing rolling stops and other bad driving habits that can endanger yourself, your examiner and the general public.
Do I have to know how to parallel park for my NC Driving Exam?
While knowing how to parallel park is a useful driving skill, the NC Driving Exam does not typically require you to parallel park. Being asked to parallel park is a rare, but still possible, occurrence. To be the most prepared, you should know how to parallel park before your NC Driving Exam.
Am I allowed to wear contacts or glasses during my NC Driving Exam?
Yes. If you needed to wear corrective lenses during your vision exam, you should absolutely wear them during your road test.
Who will be in the car with me during my NC Driving Exam?
Only you and your instructor will be allowed in the vehicle during your NC Driving Exam.
What happens if I fail my NC Driving Exam?
If you fail, you will not receive your license. You will be able to retake your NC Driving Exam after a 5 day waiting period. However, you shouldn't rush retaking your exam. You should pay attention to what your examiner indicates as your weaknesses and work upon improving your driving skills.
After You Have Passed Your NC Driving Exam
What happens after I pass my NC Driving Exam?
Once you have passed your NC Driving Exam, you will be issued a temporary license until your license arrives in the mail.
If I am under 18, will there be any limitations on my Driver's License?
Yes. There will be. If you are under 18, you will only be able to drive without adult supervision between 5 AM and 9 PM.
Do I have to get car insurance in NC?
Yes. In North Carolina, you must carry a minimum insurance coverage of $30,000 per person for bodily injury and $60,000 for all persons injured in an accident. You can find more information about NC car insurance by visiting this website: http://www.ncdoi.com/Consumer/.
What documents do I need to supply when applying for car insurance?
This depends on the car insurance company to which you apply. Generally, you will need to provide basic information about your car and yourself, providing proof of your ownership and your identity.
What is the average cost of car insurance in NC?
The average cost of car insurance in North Carolina is $1,204 a year approximately. However, the answer to this question varies depending on your age, gender, your driving record and your location.
Why is car expensive so expensive for teen drivers?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident, insurance companies often charge more to cover them.
Renewing Your NC Driver's License
How do I renew my NC Driver's license?
You may renew your NC Driver's License in person at your local DMV office. You should bring your expired license (or proof of your identity) and a $4 renewal fee. At the office you will need to retake the vision and road sign test in order to renew your license.
Do I have to retake the vision test when I renew my license?
Yes. You must pass an eye exam in order to renew your NC license.
What If You're Moving To North Carolina (Or Just Visiting)
Do I have to pass the NC road test when I move to NC from another state?
When you move to NC from another state, you are allowed to use your out-of-state license for 60 days. Eventually, before or after this 60 day period expires, you will need to pass a vision test and a NC written road sign test to be able to receive a NC license.
In NC is my out-of-state Learner's Permit valid?
If you become a NC resident, you will be able to replace your out-of-state permit with a NC Permit. If you are under 18, you will still need to take a NC Driver's Education course.
Am I allowed to drive in North Carolina with my out-of-state license?
If you do not plan to become a NC resident, you are allowed to drive in North Carolina with an out-of-state license for as long as you like. If you are planning to become a NC resident, you are only allowed to drive with your out-of-state license for, at maximum, 60 days.
Am I legally permitted to drive in NC with my out-of-country license?
You may use your out-of-country license for up to one year. After that year, you will need to apply for a NC Driver's License, following the necessary steps. You can find more information about this by visiting the official North Carolina DMV office: http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/.Question Category