Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Nebraska Permit Practice Tests

Rated best Nebraska Permit Practice Test by thousands of Nebraska teens. Try this FREE DMV Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your NE Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Nebraska DMV Drivers handbook can be found below....
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Nebraska DMV Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the Nebraska DMV Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE Permit...
Take our FREE NE Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Get the NE Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter
Are you prepared for your DMV Permit Test? Take our FREE NE Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DMV Permit Test? Our NE Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your Nebraska Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your Nebraska Driver's License
  • Preparing For Your NE Permit Test
  • Taking Your NE Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your NE Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your NE Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed The NE Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your NE Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To NE Or Just Visiting
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your Nebraska Driver's License
When am I eligible to apply for my NE Learner's Permit?
In NE, the minimum age requirement is 14 years old if you are applying for a school's learner's permit (LPE). Nebraska uses a Graduated Licensing System. To see what type of permit you can apply for, you should contact your local DMV office for more information.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my NE Learner's Permit?
When you apply for your NE Learner's Permit, you will need to bring proof of your identity, your Social Security Number and two documents that prove your residency in Nebraska. You can find a list of acceptable documents by visiting this website: http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/pdf/verificationdocs.pdf
Where should I go to apply for my NE license?
You are able to apply at any local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations by visiting this website: http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/map.html
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my NE Permit Test if I am under 18?
A licensed driver who is 21 years old or older should bring you to your NE Permit Test.
Can I contact my NE DMV office?
Absolutely. You can visit your local DMV office by calling (402-471-3861) or visiting the NE DMV website (http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/).
Do I need to my eyes checked before I can obtain a NE Driver's license?
Yes. You do have to complete a vision test in order to get your NE license.
Where do I take my NE Driver's License photo?
You must take your NE Driver's license photo at the County Treasurer's Office. When you take your photo, you should make sure that you wear what you would wear normally. It's extremely important that your face is clearly shown and recognizable. Look straight at the camera and do not smile, as a resting face is easier to identify.
Preparing For Your NE Permit Test
What should I use to study for my NE Permit Test?
The best way to study for the NE Permit Test is to read the entire Nebraska Driver's Manual. Additionally, you can find quiz questions on our website [link] that can act as a supplement to the NE Driver's Manual.
Where can I find a copy of the NE Driver's Manual?
You can find a copy of the NE Driver's Manual by visiting the NE DMV website (http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/pdf/engdrivermanual.pdf) and downloading a copy.
Are there any chapters of the NE Driver's Manual that I can skip?
To have the best chance of passing your NE Permit Test, you should read the entire Manual. The Permit Test will test your knowledge of traffic safety laws, pavement markings speed limits, defensive driving, traffic signs, alcohol and drug laws and many more topics that are covered in the NE Driver's Manual.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the NE Permit Test to pass?
The NE Permit Test consists of 25 multiple questions. You will need to answer 20 of those 25 questions correctly in order to pass.
Where can I go to take my NE Permit Test?
You will need to take your NE Permit Test at a local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/map.html.
Is there anything I should do the night before my NE Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying, the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website [link]. Get a good night's rest as well.
What should I do when I am ready to take my NE Permit Test?
Once you have studied thoroughly for your NE Permit Test, you should gather the necessary documents and visit your local DMV office to take your exam.
Taking Your NE Permit Test
At what age am I eligible to take the NE Permit Test?
In NE, the minimum age requirement is 14 years old if you are applying for a school's learner's permit (LPE). Nebraska uses a Graduated Licensing System. To see what type of permit you can apply for, you should contact your local DMV office for more information.
What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my NE Permit Test?
On the day of your NE Permit Test, you will need to bring proof of your identity, your Social Security Number and two documents that prove your residency in Nebraska. You can find a list of acceptable documents by visiting this website: http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/pdf/verificationdocs.pdf
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my NE Permit Test?
A licensed driver who is 21 years old or older should bring you to your NE Permit Test.
What do I need to know to pass my NE Permit Test?
To have the best chance of passing your NE Permit Test, you should read the entire Manual. The Permit Test will test your knowledge of traffic safety laws, pavement markings speed limits, defensive driving, traffic signs, alcohol and drug laws and many more topics that are covered in the NE Driver's Manual.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the NE Permit Test to pass?
The NE Permit Test consists of 25 multiple questions. You will need to answer 20 of those 25 questions correctly in order to pass.
Is the NE Permit Test open book?
No. You are not allowed to use your NE Driver's Manual or any other study material while you take your NE Permit Test.
Do I have to take a drug test to be able to take my NE Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take or pass a drug test to be able to apply or receive an NE Driver's License.
What happens if I fail my NE Permit Test?
There are a few reasons, test takers fail their NE Permit Test. A test taker who fails may not have studied thoroughly. Or he or she may have been nervous, anxious and/or distracted on the day of the test. If you fail your NE Permit Test, you will not receive your NE Learner's Permit, and you will need to retake the exam. You are able to do so after one day has passed, however, do not rush retaking the exam. Take your time. Read the entire NE Driver's Manual again and answer test questions on our website [link] so that the next time you take the NE Permit Test you have the best chance of passing.
What happens after I pass my NE Permit Test?
If you pass your NE Permit Test, you will receive your NE Learner's Permit. In most instances, applicants will need to maintain their Learner's Permit for 6 months before they can take their NE Driving Exam. During this time, you should complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training or attend and complete a driver safety course.
Preparing For Your NE Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
How should I practice driving for my NE Driving Exam?
You should practice and develop a number of safe driving skills. You should feel comfortable accelerating smoothly and gradually, passing through intersections safely, changing lanes effectively, coming to a complete stop at stop signs and traffic signals, sharing the road with other drives, maintaining the speed limit, staying in the correct lane, parking and backing up safely and more. Remember during your exam, your primary responsibility is to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to drive safely and effectively.
Where can I practice driving for my NE Driving Exam?
Anywhere in Nebraska as long the road or street is public and as you are accompanied by a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older, whenever you are behind the wheel. You should begin practicing in familiar areas then progress to different areas that will test your driving knowledge and your adaptability to different driving situations.
Do I need to learn how to parallel park for my NE Driving Exam?
No. You will not need to learn how to parallel park for your NE Driving Exam, but you should consider developing the skills because it is a useful skill.
Where do I take my NE Driving Exam?
You will take your exam at your local DMV office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/examining/map.html
What should I expect on my NE Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your NE Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road.
Is there anything I should do the night before my NE Driving Exam?
The night before your NE Driving Exam, you should practice driving with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. You should make sure you get a good night's rest as well.
Do I need to supply my own car for my NE Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply a vehicle for your NE Driving Exam that is in good working condition. The vehicle should be properly registered and insured.
Taking Your NE Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
Does anyone need to accompany me to my NE Driving Exam?
A licensed driver who is 21 years old or older should accompany you.
Are there any tips that I should follow to help me pass my NE Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your NE Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road.
Are there any common mistakes that I should avoid making?
You should avoid driving dangerously, driving too quickly, hitting other objects, forgetting to signal and rolling stops. Always maintain good posture and signal well in advance.
Am I allowed to wear my contacts or glasses?
If you wear contacts or glasses regularly to be able to see clearly, you should absolutely wear your corrective lenses during your exam.
Who is allowed to be in the car with me during my NE Driving Exam?
During your NE Driving Exam, the only other person allowed in the vehicle, besides yourself, is your examiner.
What happens if I fail my NE Driving Exam?
If you fail the NE Driving Exam, you will not receive your NE Driver's License. You will be able to retake the exam. Your examiner will give you an Examiner Refusal Certificate, which will indicate when you will be able to take the NE Driving Exam again. You should not rush retaking it after you have failed. You should pay attention to what your examiner indicates as your weaknesses, and you should work upon improving your driving skills thoroughly before you take the NE Driving Exam again. If you fail the NE Driving Exam, a third time you will need to provide proof that you have completed a Driver Training Course or maintain a LPD for 90 days, at minimum.
After You Have Passed The NE Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my NE Driving Exam?
After you pass your NE Driving Exam, you will receive an Issuance Certificate, which you will need to take to a County Treasurer within 90 days. At that office, you will pay the NE Driver's License fee. You will then receive your license in the mail within twenty days approximately.
Do I need to get car insurance?
Yes. You must carry liability insurance able to cover at least $20,000 for each person of the other vehicle, $40,000 for death or injuries of two or more people and $25,000 property damage.
What documents do I need to apply for NE car insurance?
The documents that you will need vary depending on the insurance company to which you apply. Generally, insurance companies want you to submit proof of your identity, your driving record and information about the vehicle you would like to insure.
How much does NE car insurance cost?
The price varies depending on your age, your driving history, your car class and other factors.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers in NE?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident so insurance companies often charge more to cover this potentially risk.
Renewing Your NE Driver's License
How do I renew my NE Driver's license once it has expired?
You can renew your license online (http://www.clickdmv.ne.gov/), by mail or in person. You will receive a renewal notice 90 days before your license expires and you should try to renew your license within that ninety day period. Bring proof of your identity, proof of your address and an Operator's License-ID data form.
Do I have to complete another vision test before I can renew my NE Driver's License?
No. You will not need to complete another vision test.
What If You're Moving To NE Or Just Visiting
Do I have to pass the NE road test when I move to NE from another state?
If your license is still valid, you do not have to take the NE Driving Exam. You will need to replace your out-of-state license with a NE License within thirty days of your move.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in NE?
Yes. Nebraska recognizes valid out-of-state Learner's Permits.
How long can I drive in NE with my out-of-state license?
As long as you do not become a NE resident, you are allowed to drive with a valid out-of-state license for as long as you like.
Am I allowed to drive in Nebraska with my out-of-country license?
You will be able to drive in Nebraska for a maximum of thirty days with an out-of-country license after which you will need to apply for a NE License. Contact your local DMV office for more information about this process and what you will need to do specifically.Question Category