New Jersey MVC Practice Tests

Are you ready for your New Jersey driver’s license? No? You’ll need practice tests like the New Jersey teen permit test and the New Jersey driver’s license renewal test. These tests prepare you for the exam that is administered by the New Jersey MVC.

Your New Jersey MVC Practice Tests

We've arranged several NJ MVC practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your New Jersey MVC Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the New Jersey drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by New Jersey drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

New Jersey Driver's License Resources

Getting your New Jersey driver’s license can be confusing, as each state has its own rules and procedures. To help you get everything right and to get your license on the first time you take the test, we have a list of New Jersey driver’s license resources that you ought to consider. These resources help you prepare for the test and tell you what you need to know.

Teen Permit Test

The New Jersey permit practice test is for who has never had a valid license before, not just teenagers. It’s an important step to getting the New Jersey driver’s license because, most of the time, you do need to get the permit first.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

When renewing your New Jersey driver’s license, you only have to take the New Jersey driver’s license renewal test if your license has expired. Otherwise, you don’t need to take the test to get a new New Jersey driver's license.

New to State Driver’s License Test

New New Jersey resident only have to take the the New Jersey new-to-state driver’s license test if their old license has expired. Otherwise, they don't have to take the test. However, new residents are required to get an New Jersey driver’s license within 60 days of establishing residency.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

If you want to know what you need to bring to the Motor Vehicle Commission on the day of testing or if you would have any restrictions with your New Jersey driver’s license, then you would need to read the New Jersey driving manual. This handbook covers all that, as well as current driving laws in the state. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

To get your New Jersey driver’s license, you will have to answer a few questions about road signs. Make sure to prepare for these questions by taking the New Jersey road signs practice test. Some practice tests may not have road sign questions, so it’s important to do something to ensure you know what these signs mean.

New Jersey Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

10 Tips for Your Behind-the-Wheel DMV Driving Test

Is Your Vehicle Ready for the DMV Road Test?

Are You Ready to Go to the DMV and Take the Written Driving Test?

New Jersey MVC Motorcycle Permit Test Info

How old must you be to take the written test?

You must be at least 17 years old and meet the state’s requirements for the graduated licensing system (if you do not already have a valid driver’s license) before you are eligible to receive a motorcycle license. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

What are the permit restrictions for motorcycles?

You cannot drive on highways, drive during hours of darkness, or carry any passengers.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle driving test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license. The on-road test can be waived by anyone who completes the Motorcycle Safety Education Program.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

Any motorcycle rider under the age of 21 is required to display a Graduated Driver License (GDL) decal on the top left corner of their motorcycle’s license plate.

What is the helmet law is this state?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.

New Jersey Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Is there such a test in the state?

Yes; boaters in New Jersey are required to have a boat safety certificate and must complete a boating safety class approved by the New Jersey Marine Services Bureau. Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by either Boat-Ed.com or BoatUS.org.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters who are 13 years old and older must complete a certified boating safety course in order to operate a motorboat or personal watercraft on New Jersey waterways.

How many questions are on the test?

New Jersey boating safety courses are administered by a variety of different organizations, and testing requirements may vary for each one. You can find information on how to locate an approved safety course on the State Police website, which you may then use to contact the instructor of a course near you for more specific information regarding testing requirements.

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly on the online test in order to pass.