Nevada DMV Practice Tests

Tired of reading the Nevada driver’s manual? Preparing for the exam doesn't have to be boring. Our Nevada teen permit test and the Nevada new-to-state driver’s license test, among others, change the routine of getting your Nevada driver's license.

Your Nevada DMV Practice Tests

We've arranged several NV DMV practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Nevada DMV Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Nevada drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Nevada drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Nevada Driver's License Resources

Getting an Nevada driver’s license isn’t easy, and one of the toughest parts of the process is the written exam. What do you need to know for the test? Do you even have to take a test? Those questions, and more, are answered in our list of resources. Use these resources to prepare for the written exam and to get your Nevada driver’s license as soon as possible.

Teen Permit Test

Although teens are typically the ones getting their permit, the Nevada permit practice test is really for anyone who’s learning to drive for the first time. Most people fail the permit test on their first attempt, so taking this practice test is a great resource for passing on the first try.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

You only have to take the Nevada driver’s license renewal test if your license has been expired for more than 30 days. If you are renewing it before it expires, or before the 30-day mark, then you don’t have to take the test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

Those new to the state of Nevada only have to take the Nevada new-to-state driver’s license test if you don’t have a current license or your old state license has been expired for more than 30 days. If your old state license is valid, then you only have to take the test if you are under 21 and can't provide your out-of-state license, for whaever reason.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

Without the Nevada driving manual, there’s little chance that you’ll be able to get your Nevada driver’s license. The handbook includes everything that could possibly show up on the test, and is one of the few trusted sources to have information about driving laws and regulations. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

Road signs comprise a significant portion of the written exam, so our Nevada road signs practice test is a great resource for getting these questions correct. Road signs are also an important part of the on-road exam, so there are plenty of consequences for not knowing them.

Nevada Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

17 Tips and Tricks for Driving in Severe Weather

Why Highway Driving Practice is Important

Is Your Vehicle Ready for the DMV Road Test?

Nevada DMV Driving Test Info

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 50 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 40 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again in 1 day.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Who has to take the written test? Teens of what ages?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old and have completed a state-approved driver’s education course. If they’re under 18 years of age, they will also need parental consent.

Are you required to take the written test when renewing, and if so every time you renew or just sometimes? What are the conditions if just sometimes?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it has been expired for more than             30 days.

If you’re new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver’s license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 30 days, then you are not required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver’s examination. However, if you are under 21 and cannot provide your out-of-state license then you are required to take the written test.

Who has to take the behind the wheel / on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver’s license has been expired for over 1 year and you want to renew it.

Nevada DMV Motorcycle Permit Test Info

How old must you be to take the written test?

You must be at least 16 years old, though all riders under18 years of age must be in compliance with all of the state’s other teen driving laws and must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

What are the permit restrictions for motorcycles?

You cannot drive on highways, drive during hours of darkness, or carry any passengers. Additionally, you must be directly supervised at all times by a licensed motorcyclist over who is at least 21 years of age, has held a motorcycle license for at least 1 year, and is also riding a motorcycle.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle driving test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

Both the written and on-road tests can be waived by anyone who completes a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) certified motorcycle training course.

What is the helmet law is this state?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.

Nevada Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Is there such a test in the state?

Yes; boaters in Nevada are required to have a vessel operator certification card and must complete a boating safety class approved by the Nevada Department of Wildlife (NDOW). Additionally, boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by either Boat-Ed.com or BoatUS.org.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters born after January 1, 1983 who are of legal age must complete a certified boating safety course in order to operate a motorboat with more than 15 HP on Nevada waterways.

How many questions are on the test?

Nevada boating safety courses are administered by a variety of different organizations, and testing requirements may vary for each one. You can find a list of all approved safety courses on the NDOW website, which you may use to contact the instructor of a course near you for more specific information regarding testing requirements.

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly on the online test in order to pass.