Motorcycle written practice test
- Pass rate:80 %
- Attempts allowed:Unlimited
- Backwards navigation:
The Ohio BMV motorcycle test is administered by the state for those who wish to obtain a temporary learner's permit. It is important to understand some basic factors about the test to be prepared for it. A good place to start is to get a copy of the Motorcycle Operator Manual. Another helpful publication is the Digest of Ohio Motor Laws. There are printed copies as well as copies which can be downloaded online for free.
It is important to study the information about motorcycles and motorcycle tests and grasped it well. The next step is going over to a driver's license exam station and registering for the written exam. One also has to take a vision test. There are no charges for both exams and it is not necessary to make an appointment to take them. Identification will be required so that your name and age can be verified. A Social Security number will also be required.
The Ohio BMV motorcycle test can be taken by those who are at least 15 and a half years old. Those who are under 18 have to have consent from their parents to take the test.
There are 25 questions on the test. At least 20 of them must be answered correctly for one to have passed the test. It is recommended by the Ohio state highway patrol that both beginner and experienced riders take the time to take the Ohio BMV motorcycle test to be sure they know how to ride safely.
Passing the Ohio BMV motorcycle test earns one a temporary motorcycle learner's permit. One must have this permit to be able to take the motorcycle safety course or the on-the-road riding test. Passing the on-the-road skill test is a condition for getting the a motorcycle license. However, one doesn't have to take the road test if they have taken the Motorcycle Ohio Basic Rider Course.
Those who pass should visit the office of a deputy registrar's office with the same documents that were used to register for the exam. The temporary permit will be issued here. A payment of $22 is required for this. Riders who are less than 18 years old have to take this course in order to get a motorcycle endorsement. A parent, legal guardian or other adult with legal custody has to be present for at the deputy registrar's for the permit to be awarded.
The permit is valid for one year and it is given with restrictions, such as wearing a helmet.
Riders who are under 18 years old or whose license is for novices must wear a protective helmet when riding. The helmet must satisfy the safety standards stipulated by the state. Passengers who are riding on a motorcycle being ridden by a novice driver must also wear a helmet.