Washington DOL Practice Tests

Tired of the Washington driver’s manual? Preparing for the test does not have to be so repetitive. Our Washington road signs practice test and the Washington driver's license renewal test, among others, add something different to such preparation.

Your Washington DOL Practice Tests

We've arranged several WA DOL practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Washington DOL Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Washington drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Washington drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Washington Driver's License Resources

Washington, just like every other state, its own tests and rules when it comes to getting the Washington driver’s license. To help you pass those tests and to learn the rules, we’ve compiled a list of resources that are all about getting the Washington driver’s license.

Teen Permit Test

The Washington permit practice test is the best way to prepare for getting your permit, and then you license, no matter how old you are. Teens are typically the ones who take this test, even though it is meant of anyone who has never had a driver's license before.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

You do not have to take the Washington driver’s license renewal test if your license is valid when you renew it. If your Washington driver's license has already expired, then this practice test will help you get your license again as you will have to take the test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are new to the Washington, then you need only need to take a written exam if your other license is expired. If you have a valid license from another state, then you do not need to take the Washington new to state driver’s license test.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

The Washington driving handbook is the one tool you can’t go without. It has everything you need to know to pass the test and to get your Washington driver’s license. Click the link to download the latest version.

Road Signs Practice Test

Even though some states may have a separate road signs test, every state will ask at least one question about them. Make sure you don’t get these questions wrong by taking the Washington road signs practice test.

Washington Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

DUI Fines & Punishments

Driver’s Ed or No Driver’s Ed?

Safe Driving Tips for Driving Test – Unfamiliar Traffic Situations

Washington DOL Driving Test Info

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

The first time you fail, you can retake the test after 4 hours. If you fail again, you must wait 1 day before you can retake it.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Who has to take the written test? Teens of what ages?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens under the age of 18 can take the written test if they have held an instruction permit for at least 4 months; 15 year olds can also take the test if they are within 60 days of their 16th birthday.

Are you required to take the written test when renewing, and if so every time you renew or just sometimes? What are the conditions if just sometimes?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license.

If you’re new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you have a valid driver’s license from another state you are not required to take the written test in order to get a Washington driver’s license. If you have an expired license from another state, then you are required to take the written test.

Who has to take the behind the wheel / on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to reapply and re-pass both tests if you hold a driver’s license that has expired.

Washington DOL Motorcycle Permit Test Info

How old must you be to take the written test?

You must be at least 16 years old in order to take the written motorcycle knowledge test. Once you pass the written test you will be issued a motorcycle instruction permit. However, if you complete and pass an approved rider course at a motorcycle training school then you can waive both the written and driving tests when applying for a motorcycle endorsement on your license.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

What are the permit restrictions for motorcycles?

You cannot carry passengers or ride during hours of darkness.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle driving test?

If you take the written knowledge test and obtain your motorcycle instruction permit, you are required to take the on-road driving test in order to receive a motorcycle endorsement on your license. If you complete an approved rider course then both the written and driving tests can be waived.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

You must be at least 16 years of age, hold a valid driver’s license and receive parental consent in order to obtain a motorcycle instruction permit. Additionally, teens under the age of 18 are required to complete and pass an approved rider course at a motorcycle training school before they can receive a motorcycle endorsement, and must also have parental consent when applying.

What is the helmet law is this state?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.

Washington Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Is there such a test in the state?

Yes; boaters of a certain age in Washington are required to have a Boater Education Card and must complete a NASBLA approved boating education course. Boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by sites such as Boat-Ed.com or BoatUS.org.

Who has to take the test?

All boaters must complete a certified boating safety course in order to operate a motorized boat with more than 15 HP or personal watercraft on Washington waterways.

How many questions are on the test?

Washington boating safety courses are administered by a variety of different organizations and testing requirements may vary for each one. You can find a list of all approved safety courses on the Boat Washington website organized by county, which you may use to contact the instructor of a course near you for more specific information regarding testing requirements.

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly on the online test in order to pass.