Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Colorado Permit Practice Tests

Rated best Colorado Permit Practice Test by thousands of Colorado teens. Try this FREE DMV Permit Practice Test now, containing 25 questions, & learn how to PASS your CO Practice Test today!
  • Practice Tests:
  • Handbooks & Manuals:
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Colorado DMV Drivers handbook can be found below....
An up-to-date version of the 2014 Colorado DMV Motorcycle Riders Handbook can be...
Pass the Colorado DMV Permit Test on your very first try! Take our FREE Permit...
Take our FREE CO Permit Practice Test today! We offer unique, hand-written...
Find the Lowest Car Insurance Rates by Zip Code:
view counter
Are you prepared for your DMV Permit Test? Take our FREE CO Permit Practice...
Want to know what questions will be on the DMV Permit Test? Our CO Permit...
Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking...
Practice your Colorado Road Signs and Traffic Signals with this FREE practice...
Get the CO Teen Permit CHEAT SHEET TODAY!
Everything you need to know, on one easy to use cheat sheet.
view counter

Teen Drivers:

Tips for Passing your Road Test the First Time.
Taking your on-road DMV driving test can be a stressful affair. Even if you comfort yourself with the thought that, if...
Freeway in Portland, OR
1. Pay Careful Attention to the Speed Limit Ever drive down the highway, only to see a vehicle that is moving at a...
Online DMV Test Prep
Everyone dreams of getting their drivers license at some point in their life. It has a number of uses besides simply...
For many teenagers, Drivers Education is the gateway to getting a drivers permit. It also allows them to...
Pass your DMV Test with out fear.
According to a study done by an insurance company in 2010, it was estimated that 1 in 5 drivers currently on the road...
As your son or daughter nears his monumental sixteenth birthday he has visions of freedom and a set of wheels. You'...

Teen Laws:

Teen Texting and Driving
Getting a license is a milestone every teenager anticipates, but new drivers face more dangers than ever before. With...
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that first license may seem like an overwhelming process. You are required to take driver's education courses study DMV practice tests	 and spend hours behind the wheel learning to drive. Recent legislation across the country has made the process of getting a license more challenging for teen drivers in order to prepare teens to drive safely.
Getting your first driver's license is a major milestone and one of the first steps towards adulthood. Getting that...
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago	 but seat belts weren't routinely installed in vehicles until the 1970s. Most seat belt laws around the country did not get introduced until the 1980s or 1990s	 and there are still millions of teenagers every day who choose to get into a vehicle without buckling up. Read on to discover why it's important for you to wear a seat belt every time you drive.
The first safety restraints were designed more than 200 years ago but seat belts weren't routinely installed in...

Tips for Parents:

Have teens pay for their insurance
As a parent of a teenager who is learning to drive or already has their license, you have a lot to think about....
Obey laws to set a good driving example for your teen
To a teenager, getting a driver's license is a monumental achievement. Although you as a parent want your teen to be as...
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as you love your child	 you also can't help worrying about what might happen when your teenager hits the open road. While you'll typically take the time to show your teen the basics of driving	 work with your younger driver on different types of roads and ensure that your teenager reads all the testing materials carefully	 you also want to take the time to sit down and discuss the po
The moment that your teen driver receives his or learner's permit is a moment that you won't soon forget. As much as...
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver&#39
If your teen is about to start driving what should you know as a parent about graduated driver's licenses? It is...
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract is a great way to open up a conversation while laying out a firm set of driving rules. Here is a sample contract from the California DMV. There are many more contracts available online or you can even create your own custom contract. You can refer to the DMV practice test for your state for even more ideas to include in your contract. While your family may have its own special r
Communicating with your teen is one of the best ways to help them become a safe driver. A parent-teen driving contract...
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you may be understandably nervous. After all you care greatly about your child's safety and worry about him or her being behind the wheel. Still it is a teen's rite of passage to obtain a driver's license which means all you can do is prepare him or her to be as safe as possible on the road.
If you are the parent or guardian of a teen who will soon be testing to receive his or her driver's license then you...
Frequently Asked Questions
  • Applying For Your Colorado License
  • Preparing For Your CO Permit Test
  • Taking Your CO Permit Test
  • Preparing For Your CO Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Taking Your CO Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • After You Have Passed The CO Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
  • Renewing Your CO Driver's License
  • What If You're Moving To CO Or Just Visiting
Save Money on Car Insurance Now!
Have a Driving Related Question?
Applying For Your Colorado License
At what age am I eligible to apply for my CO license?
In CO, the minimum age requirement to begin the licensing process is 15 years old. If you plan to apply at this age, you will need to be enrolled in a state-approved driver's education program and have an Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Course.
What documents do I need to take with me when I apply for my CO license?
When you apply for your CO Driver's License, you need to submit documents that prove your identity and your residency in the state of Colorado. If you are under 18, you will need to provide an affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. Additionally, if you are between 15 and 16 years old, you will need to bring an Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Course and a 4-hour driver awareness program.
Where should I go to apply for my CO license?
You are able to apply at any local Motor Vehicle office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1217585327248
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my CO Permit Test if I am under 18?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your OR Permit Test as they will need to sign an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. In some instances, the Colorado Motor Vehicle office may make an exemption for you. You should contact your local Motor Vehicle office to see if there are other options available to you.
Do I need to my eyes checked before I can obtain a CO Driver's license?
Yes. You do have to complete a vision test in order to get your CO license.
Where do I take my CO Driver's License photo?
You must take your CO Driver's license photo at the Motor Vehicle office when you go in to take your exam. When you take your photo, you should make sure that you wear what you would wear normally. It's extremely important that your face is clearly shown and recognizable. Look straight at the camera and do not smile, as a resting face is easier to identify.
Preparing For Your CO Permit Test
What should I use to study for my CO Permit Test?
The best way to study for the CO Permit Test is to read the entire Colorado Driver's Manual. Additionally, you can find quiz questions on our website that can act as a supplement to the CO Driver's Manual.
Do I have to enroll into a Driver's Ed. Class if I am under 18?
If you are under 16, you will need to be enrolled in a state approved driver's education course. If you are older than 16, you may be able to forego the driver's education course if you complete a certain number of hours of supervised driving. You should contact your local Motor Vehicle office to see what options are available to you.
Where can I find a copy of the CO Driver's Manual?
You can find a copy of the CO Driver's Manual by visiting your local Motor Vehicle office or by visiting this website and downloading a PDF version: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=Revenue-MV%2FR...
Are there any chapters of the CO Driver's Manual that I can skip?
To have the best chance of passing your CO Permit Test, you should read the entire Manual. The Permit Test will test your knowledge of traffic safety laws, right-of-way laws, traffic signs, aggressive driving behavior, entering the expressway and many more topics that are covered in the CO Driver's Manual.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the CO Permit Test to pass?
You will need to answer 80% of the questions correctly in order to pass.
How many questions are on the CO Permit Test typically?
The CO Permit Test consists of 25 multiple choice questions.
Where can I go to take my CO Permit Test?
You will need to take your CO Permit Test at a local Motor Vehicle office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1217585327248
Is there anything I should do the night before my CO Permit Test?
Don't cram the night before your exam. Instead, you should review the notes and information you have already studied. If you've done a thorough job studying, the night before should be a quiet review session. It's also a good idea to take a few practice questions on our website. Get a good night's rest as well.
How much is the CO Permit Test cost?
A CO Permit is $14.
What should I do when I am ready to take my CO Permit Test?
Once you have studied thoroughly for your CO Permit Test, you should gather the necessary documents and visit your local Motor Vehicle office to take your exam.
Taking Your CO Permit Test
At what age am I eligible to take the CO Permit Test?
In CO, the minimum age requirement to begin the licensing process is 15 years old. If you plan to apply at this age, you will need to be enrolled in a state-approved driver's education program and have an Affidavit of Completion of a Driver Education Course.
What documents do I need to bring with me when I take my CO Permit Test?
When you apply for your CO, you need to submit documents that prove your identity and your residency in the state of Colorado.
Who do I need to bring with me when I go to take my CO Permit Test?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian should accompany you to your OR Permit Test as they will need to sign an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. In some instances, the Colorado Motor Vehicle office may make an exemption for you. You should contact your local Motor Vehicle office to see if there are other options available to you.
What do I need to know to pass my CO Permit Test?
To give yourself the best chance of passing your CO Permit Test you should study all chapters and sections of the CO Driver's Manual. The exam will test your knowledge of speed limits, alcohol and drug laws, right-of way laws, pavement markings, aggressive driving behavior, entering and exiting the expressway and many more basic rules of the road.
How many questions are on the CO Permit Test typically?
The CO Permit Test consists of 25 multiple choice questions.
How many questions do I have to answer correctly on the CO Permit Test to pass?
You will need to answer 80% of the questions correctly in order to pass.
Is the CO Permit Test open book?
No. You are not allowed to use your CO Driver's Manual or any other study materials while you take your CO Permit Test.
Do I have to take a drug test to be able to take my CO Permit Test?
No. You do not have to take or pass a drug test to be able to apply or receive an CO Driver's License.
What happens if I fail my CO Permit Test?
There are a few reasons, test takers fail their CO Permit Test. A test taker who fails may not have studied thoroughly. Or he or she may have been nervous, anxious and/or distracted on the day of the test. If you fail your CO Permit Test, you will not receive your CO Learner's Permit, and you will need to retake the exam. You are able to do so as early as the next business day, but do not rush retaking the exam. Take your time before you retake. Read the entire CO Driver's Manual again and answer test questions on our website so that the next time you take the exam you have the best chance of passing the CO Permit Test.
What happens after I pass my CO Permit Test?
If you pass your CO Permit Test, you will receive your CO Learner's Permit. If you are 16 or younger, you will only be able to drive with the person who signed your Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. If you are older than 16, you can drive with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older.
Preparing For Your CO Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
How should I practice driving for my CO Driving Exam?
You should practice and develop a number of safe driving skills. You should feel comfortable accelerating smoothly and gradually, passing through intersections safely, changing lanes effectively, coming to a complete stop at stop signs and traffic signals, parking and parallel parking, maintaining the speed limit, staying in the correct lane and more. Remember during your exam, your primary responsibility is to demonstrate to your examiner that you know how to drive safely and effectively.
Where can I practice driving for my CO Driving Exam?
Anywhere in Colorado as long as you are accompanied by either the person who signed your Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (if you are under 16) or a licensed driver, who is 21 years old or older if you are over 16. You should begin practicing in familiar areas then progress to different areas that will test your driving knowledge and your adaptability to different driving situations.
Do I need to learn how to parallel park for my CO Driving Exam?
No. You will not be asked to parallel park on your CO Driving Exam, but you should consider learning how to parallel park because it is a useful driving skill.
How can I schedule my CO Road Test?
You can schedule your CO Driving Exam by visiting or contacting your local Motor Vehicle office. Most locations require you schedule your CO Driving Exam by appointment. You can find a list of available locations by visiting this website: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&cid=1217585327978&pagename=R...
Where do I take my CO Driving Exam?
You are able to take your CO Driving Exam at any CO Motor Vehicle office. You can find a list of available locations near you by visiting this website: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&cid=1217585327978&pagename=R...
What should I expect on my CO Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your CO Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road. Your examiner will test you on your ability to assess and interpret traffic, your ability to adapt and respond to that traffic situation and how attentive you are.
Is there anything I should do the night before my CO Driving Exam?
The night before your CO Driving Exam, you should practice driving with a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. You should make sure you get a good night's rest.
What's the cost of a CO Driver's License cost?
A CO Driver's License cost $21.
Do I need to supply my own car for my CO Driving Exam?
Yes. You must supply a vehicle for your CO Driving Exam that is in good working condition. The vehicle should be properly registered and insured.
Taking Your CO Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
Does anyone need to accompany me to my CO Driving Exam?
If you needed to have your parent or legal guardian sign an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship, the person who signed this affidavit should accompany you.
Are there any tips that I should follow to help me pass my CO Driving Exam?
Your examiner wants to see that you are capable of driving safely and effectively. During your CO Driving Exam, you want to make sure that you are not driving too quickly or too slowly; you want to accelerate smoothly and gradually. Obey all stop signs and traffic signals, do not tailgate other vehicles and stay in the correct lane. You should also know what various street signs and traffic signals indicate to drivers on the road.
Are there any common mistakes that I should avoid making?
You should avoid driving dangerously, driving too quickly, hitting other objects, forgetting to signal, rolling stops and parking incorrectly. Always maintain good posture and signal well in advance.
Am I allowed to wear my contacts or glasses?
If you wear contacts or glasses regularly to be able to see clearly, you should absolutely wear your corrective lenses during your exam.
Who is allowed to be in the car with me during my CO Driving Exam?
Only you and your examiner are allowed in the car during your CO Driving Exam.
What's the cost of a CO Driver's License cost?
A CO Driver's License cost $21.
What happens if I fail my CO Driving Exam?
If you fail the CO Driving Exam, you will not receive your CO Driver's License. You will be able to retake the test as early as the next business day if there is an available slot. But do not rush retaking your exam. You should pay attention to what your examiner indicates as your weaknesses and you should work upon improving those skills before you retake your CO Driving Exam.
After You Have Passed The CO Driving Exam (Or Road Test)
What happens after I pass my CO Driving Exam?
After you pass your CO Driving Exam, you will receive a temporary paper license that will be valid for thirty days.
If I am under 18 will there be any limitations on my license?
Yes. If you are under 18, during the initial six months after you have received your license, you will not be allowed to drive with passengers who are younger than 21. During the first year after you receive your license, you will not be allowed to drive between the hours of 12 AM and 5 AM.
Do I need to get car insurance?
Yes. You must carry car liability and no-fault insurance. The minimum coverage requirements are $25,000 per injured person, $50,000 per accident and $15,000 for property damage.
What documents do I need to apply for CO car insurance?
The documents that you will need vary depending on the insurance company to which you apply. Generally, insurance companies want you to submit proof of your identity, your driving record and information about the vehicle you would like to insure.
How much does CO car insurance cost?
The price varies depending on your age, your driving history, your car class and other factors.
Why is car insurance more expensive for new drivers in CO?
New drivers and inexperienced drivers (especially teens) have a higher risk of being in an accident, insurance companies often charge more to cover them.
Renewing Your CO Driver's License
What do I need to do in order to renew my CO License?
You can renew your CO Driver's License in person, by mail and online. You will need to present your previous license, demonstrate proof of your residence, pass an eye exam, pay the renewal fee, get fingerprinted and photographed.
Do I have to complete another vision test before I can renew my CO Driver's License?
Yes. You will have to complete another vision test when you renew your CO License.
What If You're Moving To CO Or Just Visiting
Do I have to pass the CO road test when I move to CO from another state?
If your license is still valid, you do not have to take the CO Driving Exam. You will have to exchange your out-of-state license with a CO Driver's License.
Is my out-of-state learner's permit valid in CO?
Yes. Colorado recognizes valid out-of-state Learner's Permits.
How long can I drive in CO with my out-of-state license?
As long as you do not become a CO resident, you are allowed to drive with a valid out-of-state license for as long as you like.Question Category