Oregon DMV Practice Tests

To pass the written exam, one needs to take practice. Take practice tests like the Oregon permit practice test and the Oregon driver's license renewal test here. We also have other test that will help you in getting your Oregon driver's license.

Your Oregon DMV Practice Tests

We've arranged several OR DMV practice tests for your convenience. Please pick the one below that fits your needs the best.

Your Oregon DMV Handbooks

Before you take a practice test make sure you've reviewed the Oregon drivers handbook. You will be tested on this content! Find them online below:

+ Frequently Asked Questions

We've gathered a list of frequently ask questions by Oregon drivers. Please click to expand.
Click here to ask your driving related question.

Ask a driving related question on AnswersforDrivers.com.

Oregon Driver's License Resources

It doesn’t matter what state you live in, as getting your driver’s license takes some preparation and studying. The Oregon driver’s license is no different, so we have a list of resources to help Oregon residents get their license and learn what they need to know to pass the requisite tests.

Teen Permit Test

The Oregon permit practice test is for anyone who’s never held a license before. It’s not just for teenagers. Getting the instructional permit is the first step toward getting a Oregon driver’s license if you’re learning to drive for the first time.

Renewing Driver’s License Test

If your Oregon driver’s license has been expired for more than a year, then you will have to take the Oregon driver’s license renewal test. In fact, you'll have to apply for a whole new license. Therefore, it's best to renew it before the one yeart mark so you don't have to take the test.

New to State Driver’s License Test

If you are new to the state of Oregon, but hold a valid driver’s license from another state, then you aren’t required to take the Oregon new-to-state driver’s license test. However, if it’s been expired for more than a year, you do have to take this test.

State Driving Manual / Handbook

If you could only use one resource to help you get your Oregon driver’s license, it’s the Oregon driving manual. This handbook covers everything that could possibly end up on the test while being a trusted, accurate source. Click the link to download the latest version of the handbook.

Road Signs Practice Test

You need to know your road signs to get your Oregon driver’s license, and at least one road sign question will be on the written exam. To study your road signs, take the Oregon road signs practice test.

Oregon Driver’s License Blog Posts

We also have our daily driver blog that publishes posts about preparing for the test, safe driving, and current driving laws. Below are a few links we recommend reading so that you are not only prepared to take the driver’s license test, but also prepared to drive with your license in the state:

What to Do When Your Car is Broken Into

3 Car Maintenance Basics You Ought to Know

How a New Driver Can Save Money

Oregon DMV Driving Test Info

How many questions are on the written test?

There are 35 questions on the test.

How many questions must you get right?

You must answer at least 28 questions correctly in order to pass.

If you fail when can you retake the test?

You can retake the test again after 1 day if you have failed the test less than three times. On your fourth and any subsequent failures, there is a mandatory waiting period of 28 days before you can retake the test.

How many times can you retake the test?

There is no limit on the number of times you can retake the written test.

Who has to take the written test? Teens of what ages?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass the written test. Teens can take the test if they are at least 16 years old and have held a driving permit for at least 6 months. If they’re under 18 years of age, they will also need parental consent.

Are you required to take the written test when renewing, and if so every time you renew or just sometimes? What are the conditions if just sometimes?

You do not have to retake the written test when you renew your license unless it is expired. However, if the licensed has been expired for over 1 year then you will not be allowed to renew it, and must instead apply for a new driver’s license.

If you’re new to state are you required to take the written test?

If you hold a valid driver’s license from another state, or a license that has not been expired for more than 1 year, then you are not required to take either part (written or on-road) of the driver’s examination.

Who has to take the behind the wheel / on-road driving test?

Anyone who is getting their driver’s license for the first time must pass both the written and driving tests. Additionally, you will also be required to re-pass both tests if your driver’s license has been expired for over 1 year and you want to obtain a new one.

Oregon DMV Motorcycle Permit Test Info

How old must you be to take the written test?

You must be at least 16 years old and either have or qualify for an Oregon driver’s license before you can take the test. If you are under 18 years of age you must also have parental consent.

How many questions are on the test?

There are 25 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 20 questions correctly in order to pass.

What are the permit restrictions for motorcycles?

You cannot drive on highways, drive during hours of darkness, or carry any passengers.

Do you need to take an on-road motorcycle driving test?

Yes, you are required to pass a practical on-road motorcycle skill test in order to get your motorcycle license. If you complete a “Team Oregon” Intermediate Rider Training (IRT) course then you may waive the on-road test only; if you complete a “Team Oregon” Basic Rider Training (BRT) course then you may waive both the written and on-road tests.

Are there any other state specific age requirements or restrictions for motorcycles?

Currently, all drivers under the age of 41 are required to complete a motorcycle rider education course in order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their license. However, the minimum age for exemption from this law will be increased each year until 2015, when all riders will be required to complete a motorcycle rider course.

What is the helmet law is this state?

All operators and passengers of a motorcycle are required to wear a protective helmet meeting state-approved safety standards at all times while operating or riding on the motorcycle, regardless of their age.

Oregon Watercraft Written Safety Test Info

Is there such a test in the state?

Yes; boaters of a certain age in Oregon are required to have a boater education card and must complete a NASBLA approved boating education course. Boaters also have the option of taking an online safety course offered by sites such as Boat-Ed.com or BoatUS.org.

Who has to take the test?

As of 2001, all boaters must complete a certified boating safety course in order to operate motorized boat or personal watercraft on Oregon waterways.

How many questions are on the test?

Oregon boating safety courses are administered by a variety of different organizations including Oregon State Marine Board, the US Coast Guard Auxiliary and the US Power Squadron, and testing requirements may vary for each one. You can find a list of all approved safety courses on the Boat Oregon website organized by county, which you may use to contact the instructor of a course near you for more specific information regarding testing requirements.

The online safety courses generally have 60 questions on the test.

How many must you get correct to pass?

You must answer at least 70% (42 questions) correctly on the online test in order to pass.