New Driving Laws for California in 2012
Being that it is already July and you've probably been driving around town oblivious to these new laws, now might be the time to study what is new on the road. Most of these were passed by legislature in 2010 or 2011 and enacted January 1st, 2012.
Just like laws instituted previously, these are put in place to increase motorist safety, not to make you feel like your nagging mom is in your back seat.
Here are some of the new laws according to CHP News on December 29th, 2011. These aren't all the laws, but should be applicable to most drivers.
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY LAW
A change to California's Child Passenger Safety Seat law will now require children to ride in either a car seat or booster seat until the age of eight, or until they reach a height of 4 feet 9 inches. This law also requires children who do not meet the age or height requirement to ride in the rear seat of a vehicle unless the vehicle has no back seats, the restraint system cannot be properly installed or the rear seats are already occupied by children under age eight.
CROSSING WHITE LINES
Vehicles will be prohibited from crossing double parallel solid white lines except where permitted.
Drivers are required to stop and submit to a sobriety checkpoint.
Anyone who is convicted of reckless driving under Section 23103.5 of the Vehicle Code can apply for a restricted driver license prior to the completion of their one-year suspension, provided they meet specified conditions, including the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle.
ALAMEDA COUNTY, NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
A segment of Vasco Road between I-580 in Alameda County and Walnut Boulevard in Contra Costa County has been re-designated as a double fine zone until January 1, 2017.
Electric Vehicles (EV) must now be plugged in for refueling when occupying an EVdesignated parking space, otherwise they may be towed. In addition, the law prohibits a person from obstructing, blocking, or otherwise barring access to an EV-designated parking space.
VEHICLE ADVERTISING LAWS
Local governments can now regulate advertising signs on any motor vehicle parked or Left standing upon a public street, except for signs painted directly upon or permanently affixed to the vehicle for permanent decoration, identification, or display that do not extend beyond the overall length, width, or height of the vehicle.
A new law passed in 2010, now instituted authorizes courts to revoke a driver's license for 10 years if a person is convicted of three or more DUIs. Under this law enacted in 2010, a motorist may be allowed to apply for reinstatement of his or her driver's license with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) after five years, if the person installs an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in their vehicles.
It is good to take a look at new laws passed in order to maintain safe driving practices as well as ensure you don't fall victim to a moving violation.