Things Teen Drivers Need To Consider When Moving Out Of State
Teenagers naturally have a lot on their mind. They need to stay on top of their schoolwork, find time to work and maintain a social life. With a driver's license, it is much easier for a teenager to get where they need to be on time. If your life gets more complicated with a move to another state, what is important to know about driving laws in your new home?
Learn the State Laws for Drivers Under the Age of 18
Different states have different laws regarding when teenagers can drive and whether they can have passengers in the car. Therefore, it is a good idea to make sure you are familiar with state laws regarding drivers under the age of 18. If you are a minor who has earned full driving privileges in your former home state, those privileges may not transfer to your new state.
You May Face Extra Requirements to Get Your License in a New State
Some states only require you to be 16 years of age and have your learner's permit before applying for a license. Other states impose additional qualifications prior to getting a license. For example, the state of New York requires that you have at least 30 hours of supervised driving before you apply at the DMV. In North Carolina, you must have a provisional license before you can apply for a full license if you are under the age of 18.
Learn Where You Can Go for Help Getting Your License
Getting your license may require passing a written test as well as passing a road test. The good news is that you can take a free DMV practice test beforehand to make sure you're prepared to take the real test. As a teenager you may have a lot on your plate, but you still have a responsibility to understand the laws regarding teenage drivers in your new state. Make sure to go online or to the DMV to brush up on the new laws that you will have to abide by on the road.