Frequently Asked Questions - Arizona Teen Driver
- What restrictions if any are there for new drivers?
- What is the cost of a driver’s license?
- What driver’s education is required?
- What documents must I fill out at the DMV to get my permit/driver’s license?
- Once I get my permit, what do I need to do before I can drive with my parents?
- What documents do I need to go to the DMV?
- What do I need before I can get my permit?
- What tests must I pass?
- What are the insurance requirements?
- What restrictions come with my driver’s permit?
- When can I get my driver’s license?
- What are the penalties for traffic violations with a Graduated Driver’s License?
- What are the requirements to apply for my driving permit?
Anyone between the ages of 16 and 18 who has a valid Class G Arizona driver’s license must abide by the following restrictions for the first six months. These include:
Passenger Restrictions—You cannot operate a motor vehicle on a public highway with more than one passenger under the age of 18 unless they are one of your siblings or a parent or legal guardian accompanies you at the time.
Hours of Operation—You are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 12:00 and 5:00 am. The following exceptions apply to this rule:
• You are accompanied by an individual who is at least 21 years old and holds a valid license to drive the type or class of motor vehicle being driven.
• You are driving to or from your place of employment.
• You are driving to or from a school-sponsored event.
• You are driving to or from a religious event.
• You are driving due to a family emergency.
The State of Arizona charges the following fees for a driver’s license, which is based upon the person’s age:
• Age 16 to 39—$25.00
• Age 40 to 44—$20.00
• Age 45 to 49—$15.00
• Age 50 and above—$10.00
Once you have obtained your instruction permit, you are eligible to take a professional driver’s education course. These programs will help you to obtain a better understanding about the rules of the road and learn how to operate a motor vehicle safely. You can choose to forego formal training and practice driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. You must complete a minimum of 30 hours and 10 of these must be completed at night
If you are under the age of 18, the application for an instruction permit or driver’s license must be signed by at least one of the following adults:
• One biological parent if they are married to the other biological parent
• Both biological parents if they are not married to one another but have joint custody
• One biological parent if he or she has sole custody
If neither parent is living, the application must be signed by one of the following:
• A legal guardian
• A foster parent
• The minor’s employer
All signatures must be witnessed by either an Arizona MVD agent or a notary public. The applicant must provide legal proof that his or her parents are deceased.
Once you receive your Arizona instruction permit, you can practice driving immediately. A licensed driver who is 21 years must accompany you and sit in the passenger seat next to you at all times.
The Arizona MVD requires you to provide two types of documents and one must contain a photo identification or you can submit three documents with no photo. All documents must be an original or a certified copy. Primary documents include the following:
• Birth certificate issued by a U.S. state or territory
• U.S. certificate of birth abroad
• An instruction permit or driver’s license that was issued in another state
• A United States passport or passport card
• A foreign passport with U.S. Visa or Visa Waiver
• Permanent resident card or resident alien card
• U.S. Certificate of Citizenship
• U.S. Certificate of Naturalization
• United States military card (active duty, reserve or retired) or U.S. military DD-214
• An Arizona identification card
• Tribal Certificate of Indian Blood
• Tribal or Bureau of Indian Affairs Affidavit of Birth
Secondary forms of identification are not required to include date of birth. These include the following:
• A driver’s license, instruction permit or identification card issued by another state or U.S. territory
• U.S. military dependent identification card
• U.S. Armed Forces driver’s license
• U.S. Department of Veteran’s Affairs card
• W-2 form
• Concealed weapons permit
• Professional license
• Social Security card
• School identification with photo
• Employee identification bade with photo
• Bank or credit card
• Marriage certificated issued by another state or U.S. territory
• Certified letter of identification for a ward of the court issued by a court or U.S. government agency
When you apply for your learner’s instruction permit, the State of Arizona requires you to do the following:
• Provide proof of identification
• Provide proof of date of birth
• Pay an application fee of $7.00 for taking the written examination
The application fee of $7.00 allows you three attempts to pass the written examination within a 12-month period.
Anyone who wants to obtain an Arizona instruction permit must be able to do the following:
• Pass a medical examination
• Pass a vision screening examination
• Pass a written test
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) requires all applicants to pass a written test covering the motor vehicle laws, traffic signs and safe driving techniques. You must score at least 80 percent to be eligible for an instruction permit.
The State of Arizona requires all motor vehicles to carry liability insurance in the following amounts:
• $10,000 for property damage
• $15,000 for bodily injury for one person
• $30,000 for bodily injury for two or more people
This includes motorcycles, golf carts and mopeds and every driver must carry proof of insurance at all times. If you fail to maintain proper insurance, the Arizona MVD can suspend your driver’s license or the vehicle’s registration.
Anyone who has a graduated instruction permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver at all times. This person must be at least 21 years or age and occupy the seat beside the teen driver.
People between the ages of 16 and 18 can apply for a graduated driver’s license who meet the following requirements:
• The person has held an Arizona instruction permit for a period of six months or more.
• The instruction permit must be valid at the time.
• The applicant must have successfully completed a driver education program approved by the Arizona MVD or,
• The parent or legal guardian certifies in writing that the teen has completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving, with at least ten hours of nighttime driving.
Anyone who is 18 or older can apply for a Class D operator license.
If you have a graduated driver’s license and are under 18, listed below are the penalties for a traffic violation:
• First Conviction—You must attend traffic survival school.
• Second Conviction—Your driving privileges will be suspended for three months.
• Third Conviction—Your driving penalties will be suspended for six months.
Additional penalties may be imposed for violating the passenger and curfew restrictions.
In the State of Arizona, you must meet the following requirements to obtain a graduated instruction permit or motorcycle instruction permit:
• You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old.
• You must be accompanied by a person who is at least 21 years old, and has a Class A, B, C or D Arizona driver’s license.
All instruction permits are valid for a period of 12 months and may be renewed for an additional year. You will not be required to take the written test again if you renew the permit before it expires.
Motorcycle Permit Holders—Anyone who is issued a motorcycle permit is prohibited from operating the motorcycle on any Arizona interstate, freeway or highway under the following circumstances:
• Between the hours of sunset and sunrise
• Anytime there is not enough light to clearly see people or vehicles at a distance of 500 feet
Motorcycle instruction permits are only valid for a period of seven months. However, permits can be renewed one time only within a 24-month period.
Commercial Permit Holders—You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a commercial instruction permit. All commercial permits are valid for a period of six months from the date issued.