Skip to main content
Hero background

Louisiana Permit Practice Test 5

Your Permit Test is coming up, and we're here to help you pass! Study by taking our QUICK and FREE LA Permit Practice Test. Just answer 25 multiple choice questions, and receive detailed answers directly from the manual.
Questions number
Mistakes Allowed
Passing Score

Louisiana Teen Permit Practice Test Description

Obtaining your Louisiana driving permit requires successfully completing several tests. Increase your odds of getting your permit on your first try by taking a LA permit practice test.

How Our LA Permit Practice Test Puts You in the Driver's Seat

In order to get your Louisiana driving permit and hit the road, you must pass a vision test, be at least 15 years old, and participate in an approved driver's education course that has at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of practical driving instruction. You will also have to complete the OMV permit test, a written knowledge test that assesses your understanding of safe driving practices, driving rules and regulations, and road signs and signals.

With the proper preparation, passing the OMV permit test is not hard. First, read through the Louisiana OMV Driver's Handbook. Then, try your hand at a LA permit practice test. It is a fantastic way to test yourself, allowing you to see clearly what you know and to identify any gaps in your understanding. Improve your skills and gain confidence by repeating the test as often as you like. Learning this information thoroughly will allow you to pass your permit test and aid you in driving safely for a lifetime.

Our practice test is set up to resemble the actual permit test, so as you grow comfortable with your grasp of the material, you will also be gaining familiarity with the test format. When you do go to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles to sit for the permit test, knowing what to expect helps cut down on the potential for silly, nervous mistakes and improves your odds of getting your permit on your first try. The actual test is comprised of 40 multiple-choice questions. To attain a passing score of 80 percent, you will need to answer 32 of these correctly.

Once you have earned your Louisiana teen permit, you will be able to put the information you learned to good use. You will be legally allowed to drive on the state's roads as long as you are accompanied by a licensed adult who is at least 21 or a sibling who is at least 18 years old. After you have held your Louisiana driving permit for 180 days and passed your 16th birthday, you can pursue your intermediate license.


A class "E" license may operate:
  • A farm vehicle.
  • A limousine.
  • A commercial vehicle.
  • None of the answers listed.
A diamond shaped warning sign indicates the warning is:
  • No passing.
  • School.
  • Guide.
  • Regulatory.
  • Hazard ahead.
A flashing yellow traffic light means:
  • Stop, wait for 5 seconds, then proceed.
  • Slow down, stop if necessary, then proceed.
  • Proceed at normal speed if no cars are around.
  • Stop, wait until it stops flashing, then proceed.
According to Louisiana law, when must you not use your high beam lights?
  • On a highway.
  • When following a vehicle within 200 feet
  • When a vehicle is approaching within 500 feet
  • When following a vehicle within 200 feet, or when a vehicle is approaching within 500 feet
  • It is never illegal to use your high beams.
For how long is a class E license issued?
  • 2 years.
  • 4 years.
  • 4 years for those under 70, 2 years for those over 70.
  • 6 years.
  • 6 years for those under 70, 2 years for those under 70.